Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
My Year with Eleanor
My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir | Noelle Hancock
21 posts | 15 read | 32 to read
I honestly loved this book. Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilariouswe readers are lucky to be along for the ride. Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia In the tradition of My Year of Living Biblically and Eat Pray Love comes My Year with Eleanor, Noelle Hancocks hilarious tale of her decision to heed the advice of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the year before her 30th birthday. Fans of Sloane Crosley and Chelsea Handler will absolutely adore Hancocks charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant and inspiring personal growth.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
LauraH
Pickpick

Mid-way through it, but very much enjoying this read. Eleanor Roosevelt, being fearful of everything...oh yeah!

Kaylamburson Love Eleanor! Welcome to Litsy!!!! 6mo
2 likes1 comment
review
Arielfry21
Pickpick

😍

blurb
Jess7
post image

“In the tradition of #MyYearofLivingBiblically and #EatPrayLove comes #MyYearwithEleanor, the hilarious tale of Hancock‘s decision to heed the advice of First Lady #EleanorRoosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the yr before her 30th bday.. [Readers will] adore her charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant & inspiring personal growth.” #TBR #KindleDeal $1.99 #ReadingResolutions #Adventure

Trashcanman Thank you 2y
tracey38 Sounds really interesting! 2y
britt_brooke This sounds good. I like immersion-type books. I loved The Year of Living Biblically (and all of AJ Jacobs‘s books), so this sounds up my alley. 2y
130 likes4 stack adds3 comments
review
GlassAsDiamonds
post image
Pickpick

Hmmm. Somewhere between Pick and So-so. A better book on conquering fear than Sir Ranulph‘s and I will probably buy a hard copy but the author often annoyed or infuriated me. Still, the Eleanor Roosevelt quotes and insights are brilliant and she does have some really practical insights for facing our fears. An easy, light read regardless of the subject matter and a pleasant memoir. 😊 (off to buy books on or by Eleanor now!!!) 😊

Insightsintobooks I've been looking at this book, since its on sale and still can't decide. Thanks for the review. 2y
GlassAsDiamonds @Insightsintobooks I admit that I bought it because it was on sale but I do recommend it. 😊 Not a heavy read and it ends, as it must for the memoir of a 30yo, abruptly but yeah; recommended, especially if you‘re on a “reading about fear” kick as I have been. 😊 2y
Jess7 @britt_brooke have you read this? It‘s a kindle Deal today and it looks good 2y
See All 6 Comments
britt_brooke @Jess7 No, but I may grab it. You‘re an enabler! 😆 2y
GlassAsDiamonds @britt_brooke @Jess7 😊😊😊😊 Grab it. Totally worth it (but I while I‘d grumble about paying the full $7.99- for the ebook, I will probably buy a hard copy). 2y
25 likes6 comments
quote
GlassAsDiamonds
post image

Oh COME ON - at age 29, the Yale educated author had to google what *continent* Kilimanjaro was on. 🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️ So far, Eleanor Roosevelt is fascinating and this author is filing me with dread for humanity (okay, that could be a small exaggeration but not by much).

CarolynM Otherwise intelligent people's lack of general knowledge never ceases to amaze me. 2y
28 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
GlassAsDiamonds
post image

1). Instagram during last year‘s panic (& I like Litsy so much more!!! 😂😂😂)
2). I haven‘t but this year, I might. Can‘t really bring myself to love Goodreads though...
3). Litsy: yes, kill me. My TBR has run rampant and may never be domesticated again. Every other social media: Sort of insofar as I know now what‘s coming out more reliably than I did.
4). The captioned. Not bad so far but a little whingey.

laurenbescoby Same here for number 1! I now don't have insta, much prefer Litsy 😄 2y
GlassAsDiamonds @miralunasbooknook it‘s so much nicer here isn‘t it??? 😊😊😊 (and I‘m lost at the number of “Bookstagrammers” who don‘t actually read the books. Surely that makes them book targeted photographers?) 2y
laurenbescoby @GlassAsDiamonds exactly! I saw so many ''Isn't this book gorgeous?? I haven't read it yet but...' captions. I wanted to talk about the stories, not just the covers. Litsy is perfect! 😊 2y
GlassAsDiamonds @miralunasbooknook I know!!! All those books, judged by their covers...🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️ 2y
Chellebearss I don‘t really love good reads either, although I‘ve started tracking there. I do love Library Thing though and have tracked and socialized there since 2011 2y
25 likes5 comments
review
sb3626
post image
Pickpick

If you can‘t tell by my recent books I am really into memoirs currently. This is a great one about the author, Noelle Hancock who loses her job due to the recession and at the age of 29 she becomes inspired by Eleanor Roosevelt and ends up completing a fear every day for a year. Throughout this you see her grow and become an amazing individual. She has truly inspired me to do something different and face some of my fears!

DebinHawaii This was a fun one! 👍😀 2y
Suet624 I keep buying copies of this book to hand out like candy to friends. I will forever love this book. So good. 2y
6 likes2 comments
quote
Sarahj87
post image

This sounds like me 😬

review
thehumbledbee
post image
Pickpick

I found Noelle Hancock's adventures and words inspiring. It left me wondering when was the last time did I face a fear or fulfill a dream by pushing myself outside my comfort zone. I have never heard Noelle speak but this book made it seem like I was listening to the stories of an old friend.

MrBook Nice pic! Welcome to @Litsy ! We hope you enjoy your stay with us 😊👍🏻. We're the most positive, tight-knit, passionate bibliophile community you'll meet. Careful: this'll take over your life. 😂👏🏻🙌🏻 2y
thehumbledbee @MrBook thank you! Cant wait to grow and meet more bookish people! 2y
MrBook 🙌🏻 2y
DebinHawaii I really enjoyed this book too! Welcome to Litsy!! 🎉📚👍😀Hope you are enjoying here! 2y
4 likes4 comments
review
Eridau
post image
Pickpick

I finished this one while pedaling 6 miles on the bike at the gym tonight. It was fitting since I was reading about the authors trek up Mt. Kilimanjaro. This was a great memoir. It was inspiring and entertaining and made me want to undertake a challenge to push myself out of my comfort zone. I'll need some time to reflect on what that might be though. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Suet624 Isn't it great? I love her persistence and her humor. And Eleanor of course. 3y
Eridau @Suet624 so good! Thanks again for sending it. I really loved it. 3y
25 likes1 stack add2 comments
quote
Eridau
post image

blurb
Eridau
post image

I rarely have trouble sleeping, thank goodness, but when I do, it is really brutal. Last night I found myself wide awake at 1:30 in the morning, so I got up to read on the couch. How funny to find that the next chapter that I started reading was about the main character's insomnia and addiction to sleeping pills. Not a funny topic , but quite the coincidence. Luckily, my hot chamomile tea and 30 minutes of reading got me back to sleep.

Suet624 I hope you find some sleepy comfort tonight. Do you know about golden milk? Turmeric and coconut milk. Knocks me right out. 3y
Eridau @Suet624 Thank you. I hope so too. I'll have to get some coconut milk. I have turmeric, it's one of my favorite spices but no coconut milk. Sounds yummy. 3y
Suet624 Just google the recipe. I make a paste ahead of time and then put some in a cup of coconut milk an hour or so before bed. 3y
23 likes3 comments
quote
Eridau
post image

This book speaks to me.

Suet624 That quote stayed with me too. So good. 3y
Eridau @Suet624 and so true! 3y
20 likes2 comments
quote
Eridau
post image

mcipher Good advice!! 3y
27 likes1 comment
blurb
Eridau
post image

Starting this one tonight. Will most likely be my last read of March. I was in the mood for a memoir, especially one inspired by one of my favorite women in history. Thanks @Suet624 for including this one in my #cupidgoespostal package. 💗

Suet624 Oooh, I hope you like it. 3y
20 likes1 comment
blurb
Eridau
post image

@Suet624 is so amazing! Lots of lovely Vermont made goodies, heart shaped notepads, and valentine buttons! A wonderfully heartfelt handwritten card (adding that beautiful locale to my must see list) and the books! I love that you picked two of your favorites to send. Confession: Eleanor Roosevelt is one of my idols and I've been wanting to read Louise Erdrich for ever but I didn't know where to start. Thank you so much, Sue! Happy 💗Day!

Eridau @BookishMarginalia I loved this exchange. Thanks so much again for organizing it. 3y
Soubhiville What a beautiful bookmark! 3y
Suet624 I'm so happy that you like everything. It was fun shopping for you and I always love sharing maple sugar candy and chocolates 😁 I think you'll love the Eleanor book. Best wishes to you. 3y
See All 6 Comments
LeahBergen That bookmark is lovely! 3y
Suet624 @Soubhiville the bookmark is made of 🍁 maple. 😁 @LeahBergen (edited) 3y
Eridau @LeahBergen and @Soubhiville It is so lovely and unique! 3y
27 likes6 comments
review
KerriArista
post image
Pickpick

Sometimes it's hard letting go of a book you loved reading... This was funny, though-provoking and inspiring.

blurb
KerriArista
post image

Loving the quotes by Eleanor at the beginning of each chapter.... This book is teaching me a bit about her, and I'm realizing I want to learn more!

review
Suet624
Pickpick

I have purchased numerous copies of this book to give to friends. Funny, educational, warm. A woman challenging herself every single day to do something that scares her. I love this book.

3 likes3 stack adds
blurb
KerriArista
post image

Bathtub reading- so delightful. Really liking this memoir about a girl who decides to do something that scares her each day- taken from a quote by Eleanor R. It's something I feel like I need to do.

review
DebinHawaii
post image
Pickpick

#Day28 #AugustPhotoChallenge #feelgoodbook After seeing the Eleanor Roosevelt quote "Do one thing every day that scares you," recently unemployed blogger Hancock does just that, completing both big & small acts she found scary during her 'year of fear.' Funny stories interwoven w/ Eleanor Roosevelt info & quotes, this is a feel good book-especially when enjoyed w/ a cup of real hot chocolate using my molinillo (frother), a gift from a good friend.

DebinHawaii Full review and Eleanor's Scrambled Eggs recipe on my blog post: http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com/2011/08/book-tour-stops-here-my-life-with.htm... 3y
Blaire @DebinHawaii this sounds right up my alley. 3y
LeahBergen Added. And such an appealing pic! 👍🏼 3y
Laalaleighh Love. Eleanor Roosevelt. Stacking 📚 3y
DebinHawaii @Blaire @Laalaleighh If you love Eleanor Roosevelt I'm sure you'll like it. 👍 @LeahBergen Thank you! ❤️ 3y
68 likes12 stack adds5 comments