Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Comfort Me With Apples
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
A terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is perfect. Their home together in Arcadia Gardens is perfect. Everything is perfect. It's just that he's away so much. So often. He works so hard. She misses him. And he misses her. He says he does, so it must be true. He is the perfect husband and everything is perfect. But sometimes Sophia wonders about things. Strange things. Dark things. The look on her husband's face when he comes back from a long business trip. The questions he will not answer. The locked basement she is never allowed to enter. And whenever she asks the neighbors, they can't quite meet her gaze.... But everything is perfect. Isn't it? At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
AvidReader25
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

In the vein of Stepford Wives or The Handmaid‘s Tale, this perfect society begins to crack as Sophia discovers small things about her structured neighborhood that don‘t add up. This is a short, quick read with a twist that I won‘t reveal. There‘s a great sense of tension though it‘s over descriptive for my taste. Not horror at all, but a twisty little story that‘s incredibly clever the more I think about it.

26 likes2 stack adds
blurb
SassyPants617
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image

This caught my eye at the library this morning, and I knew I had to read it. 🤓

review
dylanisreading
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

Not at all scary or satisfying but intriguing nonetheless. A thought-provoking, feminist retelling with lush prose and a fairytale aesthetic.

The audiobook narrator is top-notch.

My fifth and final read for #summerween (read a short nonfiction about haunted places in the US yesterday).

59 likes1 stack add
review
Zoes_Human
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

That was disturbing and beautiful and delightful and I said “what the fuck“ all the way through to the end. I devoured it in one sitting, and it was everything I want from a story.

review
GondorGirl
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

Well, this is a thing that I read. And I'm not really sure how to feel about it, except that I'm going to be thinking about it for a very long time. There is a lot packed into 98 pages.

It was beautifully written.
And viscerally unsettling.
And really kind of horrible.

You should read it.

review
she.hearts.horror
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

My body created a new scream for this.

review
swynn
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

(2021)

Well dang Cat Valente can I have my gut back now please?

ChaoticMissAdventures This one keeps cropping up around me, must get to it! 6mo
swynn @ChaoticMissAdventures The peer pressure is right on this one. Hope you like it as well as I did 6mo
34 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
KathyWheeler
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

This was a weird little book with influences from the Bible, Greek myth, the Stepford Wives, and fairy tales. I thought it was interesting, but it seems people either love it or hate it. It‘s best if you go into this knowing as little about the story as possible. I‘m giving it a pick but it‘s a creepy story, just like the cover is creepy. #audiowalk

bnp I haven't heard of this one, though I've heard of Valente. On a side note, I read a book by the same title by Ruth Reichel a few years ago. 7mo
KathyWheeler @bnp Yeah — I saw that book when I added this one to Goodreads. I‘ve never read anything by Ruth Reichel. This book is very short — 2 hours on audio. 7mo
24 likes2 comments
review
Lindy
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

An outstanding novella, which gets creepier and creepier as you go along, drawing on well-known mythology that I won‘t reveal, because recognizing the source material is part of the reading pleasure. Valente is a consummate storyteller and performs her own audiobook with panache.

KathyWheeler This is such a creepy cover. 8mo
Lindy @KathyWheeler It‘s a good match for the unsettling content. 8mo
KathyWheeler @Lindy I‘ve never been able to decide if I want to read this or not. 8mo
See All 7 Comments
Lindy @KathyWheeler If you are in the mood for a retelling with a touch of horror, I say go for it. I liked it very much. 8mo
KathyWheeler @Lindy my library had the audio so I went for it. 😊 8mo
Lindy @KathyWheeler Be sure to let me know what you think 😊 8mo
KathyWheeler @Lindy I will. 😊 8mo
39 likes3 stack adds7 comments
quote
Lindy
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image

The sound of it is a knife, if a knife could kiss, and the kiss could turn the colour of mourning.

quote
Lindy
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image

Should you wish to personalize your dwelling, the following paint colours are acceptable: Virgin White, Eggshell, Purity, First Snow, Antique Porcelain, Morning Star, Fresh Cream, Mother‘s Milk, and Innocence.

26 likes1 stack add
review
Nessavamusic
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

This is a strange, creepy little novella thriller. I went in knowing nothing, the book comparisons in the description are wildly inaccurate. If you are looking for a unique quick read, check it out. Great on audiobook! 4⭐️
#PopSugar - book I knew nothing about
#bookspinbingo - square

myellenbee Sounds too scary for me😱 8mo
Nessavamusic @myellenbee it‘s definitely creepy 8mo
49 likes2 comments
review
AmandaBlaze
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

I'm between Pick and So-So with this one. I chose Pick because it was well written. It's a modern retelling of the Garden of Eden story. It's a quick read as it's around 100 pages long.

review
allureofbeauty
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Mehso-so

Did the audio of this since it was only just over 2 hours today while I was driving and doing errands.
Idk what I was expecting from this book but this wasn‘t it. I think it‘s one I‘ll have to sit with for awhile.

#comfortmewithapples #novella #catherynnemvalente

tracey38 Interesting cover though! 9mo
allureofbeauty @tracey38 yea it has a good cover for sure. 9mo
15 likes2 comments
review
DoonTheGoon
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

Finished this quick read last night - perhaps not the best choice for bedtime reading! ? Surreal, bizarre, and at times downright nightmarish... a new take on an old story that will leave you reeling. Definitely not for everyone!!! Fans of the movie "Mother!" will likely enjoy this one.

16 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Cathythoughts
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image

My #WeeklyForecast is slim as I know I‘ve a very busy week..
Finish Simon ( loving it )
Finish IAm I Am I Am for Friday night Bookclub
… And start tagged book.

Happy Reading week to you all ❤️
Hi Cindy 👋

Cinfhen Hi, Cathy!!!! Lovely photo 😍I always enjoy seeing what you‘re reading 📖 10mo
Cathythoughts @Cinfhen Thanks Cindy , I just ordered that Gucci book too … might be a good holliday read 😁 10mo
Cinfhen I hope you like it 😘 10mo
See All 6 Comments
LeahBergen Happy reading this week! 😘 10mo
BiblioLitten This book is on my TBR! Recently added too😊 10mo
Cathythoughts @BiblioLitten It sounds good 🤞🏻🤞🏻😁 (edited) 10mo
53 likes6 comments
review
FelinesAndFelonies
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Mehso-so

Meh. It's hard to review this book without giving everything away. This short novella is well-written but it's been done before. I was really looking forward to this one but it didn't live up to my expectations. Just meh. 🤷🏻‍♀️

review
BekaReid
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

This novella has so much in a slim volume. A bit of fairytale meets mystery meets horror/thriller. However you want to class it, Cat Valente's writing is superb and this is some speculative fiction at its best! Definitely recommend.

12 likes1 stack add
blurb
BekaReid
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image

It's here! Cannot wait to dive in!

review
Well-ReadNeck
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

A deliciously warped little novel. It was a bit slow to start, but we‘ll worth the kick ass ending. #ARC #audiobook #NetGalley

61 likes2 stack adds
review
ErraticElle
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

I LOVED this book. Dark, intriguing, & wonderful. It was short & not-so-sweet and left me wanting so much more. The premise is fantastic & readers should go in knowing as little as possible. The narrative is creative, interesting & plain entertaining. There is a lot packed into this little novella and I can't say much about it without giving the whole thing away. This was just brilliant and I loved it. I can't gush enough.

8 likes1 stack add
review
KimM
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

Wow! This is one of those “what did I just read?“ books. The storyline cannot be explained without giving something away. So if you like a bit of a mind game, I highly recommend this one.

Audiobook courtesy of #NetGalley and #Tor. Physical book courtesy of #GoodreadsGiveaways. #Comfortmewithapples

review
TorieStorieS
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

Ever since first reading IN THE NIGHT GARDEN, I‘ve been a huge fan of Valente‘s writing! I‘m always excited to see what new direction she will take with her lyrical and poetic prose! This latest novella is entrancing from the start with the extensive rules about Sophia‘s neighborhood- with a fairytale like feel that also incorporates mythology. Well-performed and offers lots to discuss! It‘s quick but powerful!

50 likes1 stack add
review
abookishbutterfly
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

If you want a book that goes in a direction you‘ll never see coming, this is the one! If you need a little literary weirdness in your life, pick this up! If you‘re looking for a quick read, get yourself a copy of this novella! You might hate it. It‘s possible you might even find it offensive. But I‘ll tell you one thing: You are never going to forget this book!

My full review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4067430435

57 likes1 stack add
review
akaGingerK
Comfort Me With Apples | Catherynne M. Valente
post image
Pickpick

The ominous excerpts from the beyond-restrictive Arcadia Gardens Homeowners Association continuously ramp up the tension in this quick read about Sophia, her husband, and her nearly perfect house. #ARC

9 likes1 stack add