Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Cathedral
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
6 posts | 1 read | 1 reading | 6 to read
A sweeping story about obsession, mysticism, art, and earthly desire. At the centre of this story, is the Cathedral. Its design and construction in the 12th and 13th centuries in the fictional town of Hagenburg unites a vast array of unforgettable characters whose fortunes are inseparable from the shifting political factions and economic interests vying for supremacy. From the bishop to his treasurer to local merchants and lowly stonecutters, everyone, even the towns Jewish denizens, is implicated and affected by the slow rise of Hagenburgs Cathedral, which in no way enforces morality or charity. Around this narrative core, Ben Hopkins has constructed his own monumental edifice, a choral novel that is rich with the vicissitudes of mercantilism, politics, religion, and human enterprise. Ambitious, immersive, a remarkable feat of imagination, Cathedral deftly combines historical fiction, the literary novel of ideas, and a tale of adventure and intrigue. Fans of authors like Umberto Eco, Elif Shafak, Hilary Mantel, Ken Follett and Jose Saramago will delight at the atmosphere, the beautiful prose, and the vivid characters of Ben Hopkinss Cathedral.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Lynnsoprano
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image

I have been reading but not posting this week, as we relax on our beach vacation. We‘ve been spending mornings on the beach, walking, swimming, and collecting plenty of shells. Afternoons have mostly been lazing around in the condo, reading and enjoying the view. We hit the jackpot: we‘re right next to a nature preserve. I don‘t want to leave!

AllDebooks Beautiful photo, sounds amazing x 7d
55 likes1 comment
blurb
Lynnsoprano
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image

Hubby and I stopped at B&N to get books for our vacation next week, since I wanted a physical book for our beach vacation. The tagged book is mine, the other is hubby‘s, although I really want to read it, too.

Mitch Great choice! Happy holidays! 2w
48 likes2 stack adds2 comments
quote
Purpleness
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image

quote
Purpleness
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image

SamAnne 😂😂 3w
37 likes1 stack add1 comment
quote
Purpleness
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image

#firstlinefridays It‘s a story he likes to tell, how he first came to Hagenburg, how he bought his freedom, how he started as a stonecutter‘s apprentice, working at the Cathedral.

review
Twocougs
Cathedral | Ben Hopkins
post image
Pickpick

Interesting Middle Ages story oh Hagenburg and it‘s cathedral. Intrigue not that unlike modern times. Dragged a little overall a great read.