Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Smash-Up
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
5 posts | 4 read | 12 to read
A family is upended when their small-town life becomes the latest battlefield in the culture wars in this of-the-moment novel for readers of Meg Wolitzer and Fleishman Is in Trouble Life for Ethan and Zo used to be simple. Ethan co-founded a lucrative media start-up, and Zo was well on her way to becoming a successful filmmaker. Then they moved to a rural community for a little more tranquility--or so they thought. When newfound political activism transforms Zo into a barely recognizable ball of outrage and #MeToo allegations rock his old firm, Ethan finds himself a misfit in his own life. Enter a houseguest who is young, fun, and not at all concerned with the real world, and Ethan is abruptly forced to question everything: his past, his future, his marriage, and what he values most. Ambitious, startling, witty, and wise, Ali Benjamin's debut novel offers the shock of recognition as it deftly tackles some of the biggest issues of our time. Taking inspiration from a classic Edith Wharton tale about a small-town love triangle, The Smash-Up is a wholly contemporary exploration of how the things we fail to see can fracture a life, a family, a community, and a nation.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Megabooks
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this Ethan Fromme retelling last year, but I couldn‘t remember much. Once again I loved it, and Macleod Andrews‘ narration is fantastic!

Ethan‘s wife Zoe‘s women‘s group has been all about the protesting since Trump was elected. As the Kavanaugh hearings approach, she‘s even more upset. Meanwhile Ethan‘s former business partner is about to have Me Too accusations from several celebs. Ethan doesn‘t know how to navigate this new world.

Megabooks Thinking of using this for #AboutWitches because Zoe‘s protest group that is at the center of this novel is call All Them Witches! 😂😂 #pop22 @Cinfhen @BarbaraBB @KarenUK @Kalalalatja @4thhouseontheleft @RaeLovesToRead @Laughterhp @Cortg @jenniferw88 @squirrelbrain 1w
Cinfhen Hahaha 🤣 well played 1w
Megabooks @Cinfhen right?? I had to have some fun! 😆 1w
See All 8 Comments
BarbaraBB I am in need of a book for that prompt and I had this one stacked already…. (thanks to you probably). I might try getting a copy! 1w
Megabooks @BarbaraBB ah yeah! You might enjoy. Probably more than a traditional book about witches. 😉😀 1w
BarbaraBB Absolutely! 1w
squirrelbrain At least you won‘t have to read a book about ‘actual‘ witches! 🤣 1w
Megabooks @squirrelbrain 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻😆 1w
90 likes2 stack adds8 comments
review
Hooked_on_books
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
post image
Pickpick

The Smash-Up is a great cultural critique of the realities of life during the Trump era, focusing down on society‘s impact on the marriage of a nice, clueless white man and his politically engaged and enraged white wife. I had some hesitation in starting this one, as I am more than happy to have 45 in my rear view, but I‘m glad I gave it a try. It‘s a terrific exploration of these characters‘ truths. Thanks for the rec, Meg!

Megabooks Awesome!! I‘m glad you enjoyed it. I still find myself mulling it over. I really enjoyed the way the author brought the strains of the story together. 1y
Hooked_on_books @Megabooks Yeah, she did a bang-up job! There‘s so much going on here but it feels just right in complexity and scale. Really well done. 1y
38 likes2 comments
review
Megabooks
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
post image
Pickpick

This Gen X retelling of Ethan Fromme is a smash-up in good way.

Set the week of the Kavanaugh hearings, Zo is involved with a group of women protestors in a sleepy Mass. town. Husband Ethan is pulled between her activism and a claims of sexual harassment against an old business partner. He also tries to understand their neuroatypical daughter and the young woman they‘ve taken in who works on the shady side of the gig economy. ⬇️ 4.5⭐️ #audiobook

Megabooks ⬆️ I struggled to write this review because I can‘t do justice to how good this book is in a small space. I think the book hits a lot of great points about Gen X in a world that is more about millennials. I haven‘t read Fromme in years, but it is definitely a great modern Whartonesque book. 1y
Hooked_on_books It does sometimes feel like we‘re the forgotten generation. 1y
BarbaraBB The clash between X and Y, bring it on 😉🤍 1y
See All 7 Comments
Megabooks @Hooked_on_books definitely true! 1y
Megabooks @BarbaraBB so clever!! ❤️😃😘 1y
Cinfhen I‘ll need to get to this one! I know the all star cast must have been an amazing listening experience 1y
Megabooks @Cinfhen the majority of it was Macleod and Rebecca. Macleod definitely showed his range with a completely different voice than the Tarkington. Dion and the other woman had smaller roles. It was still excellent!! 1y
80 likes3 stack adds7 comments
review
BeckyLeJ
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
post image
Pickpick

Set in 2018, this adult debut from Ali Benjamin is a character driven story about a family affected by the turmoil happening in the world around them. As things come to a head politically and socially, it becomes unclear whether their family can weather it all.

The Smash Up is a smart and entertaining book that will resonate with so many readers! It‘s not my usual kind of read, but I thought it was utterly fantastic!

review
Well-ReadNeck
The Smash-Up | Ali Benjamin
post image
Pickpick

A #metoo story told from the point of view of a man who must decide whether to support women who are being mistreated, attempt to say neutral as bad things happen around him, or be complicit in the abuse of women. A modern retelling of Ethan Frome that takes on current issues in contemporary America. #ARC #Netgalley

Suet624 I wasn‘t expecting the Ethan Frome connection in your review! 1y
72 likes3 stack adds1 comment