Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Good Eggs
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
16 posts | 15 read | 23 to read
A joyous, exuberantly fun-filled novel of second chances. An absolute delight from start to finish! Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author Bracing, hilarious, warm, this novel is as wayward and mad as the human heart. Judy Blundell, New York Times bestselling author A hilarious and heartfelt debut novel following three generations of a boisterous Irish family whose simmering tensions boil over when an American home aide enters the picture, becoming the calamitous force that will either undo or remake this familyperfect for fans of Whered You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over. When Kevin Gogartys irrepressible eighty-three-year-old mother, Millie, is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter, Aideen, whose troubles escalate when she befriends the campus rebel at her new boarding school. Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, Millies upbeat American home aide, who appears at first to be their saving graceuntil she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet. With charm, humor, and pathos to spare, Good Eggs is a delightful study in self-determination; the notion that its never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Soubhiville
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

I just loved Millie! I think the thing that caused me to stack this in my TBR was the line in the blurb about 83 year old Millie caught shoplifting again.

I also felt for Aideen, misunderstood teenager.

Overall this was a really fun read, great for summer. I didn‘t find it quite as light as expected, mostly because of Millie‘s son Kevin‘s activities, but still enjoyable. Part family drama part mystery.

Thanks @AmyG for the birthday book! 💕

AmyG I am so happy you enjoyed it! 3mo
Hooked_on_books Sounds like a fun one! 3mo
Megabooks Great review of a great book! 👍🏻👍🏻 3mo
Maria514626 “Caught shoplifting again” got my attention, too. 😄 Thanks for the recommendation! 3mo
71 likes4 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Soubhiville
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image

@AmyG thank you for these thoughtful birthday gifts my friend! It‘s perfect timing with Good Eggs, as I was just about to listen to it on audio from the library, but now I‘ll start it in print instead 😁. Great diverse selection! I love Elizabeth Strout, and the cover of Oh, William and Beautiful Ones are gorgeous. I‘ve not read Crouch yet but heard this is quite a ride. I look forward to all of them. Thanks for making my bday even more special ❤️

AmyG You are so welcome, my friend. Have a great day. And I figured The Beautiful Ones for Nov AuthorAMonth! 4mo
Soubhiville Yes definitely @AmyG it‘s perfect! 4mo
RaeLovesToRead Recursion is amazing!! 4mo
BethM Happy birthday! So cool! Recursion is awesome. 4mo
Megabooks I just read Oh William and Good Eggs and they‘re both excellent! What a fantastic gift! Happy birthday! 4mo
53 likes5 comments
review
Megabooks
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

This is a perfect fun summer book. Millie and her shenanigans will have you laughing!

Millie is a feisty Irish grandmother whose son thinks she needs more help, so he hires an American woman under the table, but is she above board? Meanwhile his unemployment is making him feel worthless, so he starts a flirtation with a younger woman in his daughter Aideen‘s school office. Aideen just doesn‘t fit in compared to her beautiful twin. Cue antics!

Crazeedi Sounds like a good one! 4mo
Megabooks @Crazeedi it was!! 4mo
Cinfhen Sounds fun!! 4mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen it was a great palate cleanser! 4mo
93 likes4 stack adds4 comments
review
Sharabies
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

I‘m a sucker for crazy, quirky grannies, so Millie quickly stole my heart! I enjoyed the story the whole way through and found myself laughing out loud multiple times.

blurb
Macnjen
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image

I really enjoyed this story of an 83 year old woman and her family. It's witty, well written and a quick read. My only complaint is that it ended in a way that seems like it was a rush to the finish. I'm not a big fan of wrapping it all up in a bow, and this didn't do that but it felt like all of a sudden things fell into place (somewhat). Overall, I'd recommend it.

quote
suvata
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image

review
suvata
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

I laughed all the way through Rebecca Hardiman‘s debut novel about a completely dysfunctional, yet lovable, Irish family. Millie is 80-something and (maybe) mentally slipping a bit. Aideen is her 16-year-old granddaughter, full of angst and trouble. Kevin, father of Aideen and son of Millie, is going through his own midlife crisis. If you‘re a Hibernophile like me, loved A Man Called Ove, or can relate to The Golden Girls, this is your book.

CBee Sounds like my cup of tea, stacked!! 2y
suvata @CBee it was a welcome break from some serious stuff I‘ve been reading. 2y
CBee @suvata I understand that, for sure! 2y
54 likes7 stack adds3 comments
review
VanessaCW
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
Pickpick

An entertaining and humorous with some wonderful well drawn characters. The whole dysfunctional family are ‘good eggs‘ as suggested by the title. It‘s very much a romp, a farce even. It had me laughing out loud at times, although I did think it got a little far fetched towards the end. A fun, lighthearted and enjoyable debut. A great pick me up in these uncertain times. 4⭐️. #Pigeonhole

blurb
VanessaCW
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
blurb
nitalibrarian
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image

Here's what I'm adding to the library's collection this week.📚😍

review
Lizzie69
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
Pickpick

The Gogarty family are pretty chaotic well, I guess a lot of people pe would say dysfunctional.
Mother Grace is having to work harder than ever to support the family as her husband Kevin is out of work.
Kevin is trying to parent their younger kids but the twins Nuala and Aideen are constantly at war so Aideen is shipped off to boarding school where Kevin is considering an affair with the school secretary, Rose.
Plus Gran Gogarty is a petty thief!

review
LittlebearReads
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

This was a really great, quick and hilarious (in that slightly dark, European way) read! There are just so many good moments in this quirky, ultimately heartwarming tale of the Gogarty clan, that I couldn‘t help but laugh several times.

review
Lauren.Archer
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Mehso-so
Bakingbookworm I‘m feeling similarly and only on page 80. 1y
51 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
CogsOfEncouragement
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

A heartfelt, life is messy, family story. We would all be better to each other to imagine our parent‘s as well as our kid‘s point of view consistently. Imperfect yet lovable characters I was rooting for. I was given an ARC via NetGalley for my honest review. 4/5⭐️ #netgalley

review
GerardtheBookworm
Good Eggs: A Novel | Rebecca Hardiman
post image
Pickpick

A charming family comedy that is both endearing and funny. The Gogartys of Ireland struggle to find themselves as they deal with absentee parents, hormonal teenagers, infidelity, and shoplifting grandmothers. A family wronged leads to a wild adventure that bears similarities to Where Did Go Bernadette and A Man Called Ove.