Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
I'll Be the One
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
24 posts | 27 read | 18 to read
The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity--perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn't dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn't call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she's about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her. She'll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she'll do it better than anyone else. When Skye nails her audition, she's immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn't count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho. But Skye has her sights on becoming the world's first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition--without losing herself.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Pigpen_Reads
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

@alexus_sb Thank you so much for this bonus birthday gift in my #SliceOfSummer box. I cannot tell you how much I fangirled over the Twilight stickers!!! This extra book love definitely put a huge smile on my face 😁

@Catsandbooks

alexus_sb Yay! As a fellow Twilight fan, I had to include the stickers. It wouldn‘t be a birthday without them haha. Happy birthday! 🎁🎂🎊🎉🎈 2mo
Pigpen_Reads @alexus_sb Thank you so much! It made me super happy! 😁🥰 2mo
Catsandbooks Love twilight and love this!! ❤️ 2mo
9 likes3 comments
review
Nalbuque
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

On the younger side of YA, but super cute and pretty poignant on some themes. I love me a reality show book, so this was a 🤘🏽🤘🏽🤘🏽

review
Kenyazero
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

I don't always love fluffy romances, but I adored this book. the author really does a great job of setting the stage for Sky, and crafting loveable characters. The romance plotline can reduce my enjoyment of a story, but it didn't in this case. I absolutely loved this feel-good story from start to finish. #LGBTQ #KPop #FatMc

14 likes1 stack add
blurb
Kenyazero
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

It's Thursday in #NovelNovember, which means it's time for another update!

🟩Finish Sorcery of Thorns📖 79%
🟩Start a graphic novel💥
✅Finish Ace of Spades 🎧
✅Start a new audiobook🎧(I'll Be the One)
🟩Catch up on 5 reviews 📝 4/5

Bonus:
🟩Start The Girl from the Sea 💥
🟩Start The Sprite and the Gardener💥
🟩Read 3 Nat Geo articles 📄
🟩Reach 50% in Cinderella is Dead 📖 (35%)
✅start Wicked Things issue 2
✅Finish I'll be the One

Andrew65 Doing well 👏👏👏 9mo
14 likes1 comment
review
dylanisreading
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

This was a delightful read. My favorite aspect about it was the MC Skye. She‘s ambitious and knows her worth, even when people around her come at her with their fatphobia. The casual bisexuality of both Skye and her love interest elevated this even higher for me. The Kpop singing and dancing (and mentions of Kpop songs and groups) were a lovely bonus.

Definitely recommend.

67 likes3 stack adds
review
OriginalCyn620
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

Skye, a teen plus-size singer/dancer, enters a K-Pop competition not only because it‘s her dream, but to prove to her fat-shaming mother (who‘s just horrible!) and the music industry itself that you can chase your dreams no matter your size. On her journey through the competition, she makes new friends and even finds love. The book is delightful and Skye is a great MC!

#bookspin #bookspinbingo
#pop21 - a book that discusses body positivity

TheAromaofBooks Great progress!! 1y
36 likes1 comment
review
Emily92Bibliophile
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

I‘m very new to the K-Pop world, but I loved every bit of this. Lee did an amazing job creating a cast of characters that echo and support Skye in her body positivity and facing the fat-shamers and bullying. It resolutely pulses with the endurance of kindness (to yourself and others ) and loving yourself just the way you are. This is definitely a book I will be recommending to my students !

blurb
Mem_ugh
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

I‘ve been wanting to read this one for some time, I just hadn‘t gotten around to it. No time like the present 😁

review
CaitlinSiem
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Mehso-so

I‘m bummed that I can‘t give this one top marks. I went into it expecting to love it.

There were parts I did really enjoy. I loved Skye as the MC. I loved her confidence and willingness to fight against the world because she believed in herself (although it was a little exhausting that so much of the book centered around her size).

The writing was really stiff though. It felt like the author was trying to dumb down the book for teens.

review
sarahs.thoughts.on.books
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

This is the body positivity book that One To Watch is not. Skye is not letting her weight/body shape prevent her from trying out for a K-Pop competition. During her journey she makes new friends.

blurb
Melismatic
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Passed the halfway mark - this is reading a little too much like a fan fiction to me so it‘s taking me out of it but yes 💪🏻 for body positivity and yes 💪🏻 for bisexual visibility but overall it‘s a bit of a meh for this Kpop fan 🤷🏻‍♀️

review
silentrequiem
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

This was super adorable. A fantastic book about K-pop, friends, body positivity, and living your best life. I want a sequel!

I know next to nothing about K-pop but still loved it!

blurb
mdemanatee
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Sunday reading being temporarily interrupted by nap but loving this so far.

blurb
TaraTLK
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Dead from the cuteness. Korean American girl enters an American KPop competition and finds friends, a crush, and faces off with some fatphobia. I confess, I'm sure this is even better if you know more about Kpop than I do, but I found it delightful.

review
Nitpickyabouttrains
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

A Korean teen who doesn‘t look like everyone else enters a k pop competition to prove to herself and her mother that she is enough the way she is. Along the way she finds a boy and makes some friends.

21 likes1 stack add
review
SassenachTheBookWizard
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

3.5/5 I enjoyed this a lot more than I was expecting to (not a contemporary person) but as a fan of k-pop who is plus-sized...was curious. Now the dialogue from a lot of the characters is very stiff and much of it feels like fan fiction plot-wise, I think the message was still really important. I am lucky enough to not be on the receiving end of abuse from my parents about my size but I know so many are.
Rep: bisexual, lesbian, f/f romance

blurb
rachelsbrittain
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Okay, Pride Month is technically over but not to late to share some of the many beautiful LGBTQ books I read this month! 15 out of 24 total books-- not too shabby!

blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

I'm hoping plus size meets k-pop is good!

Cosmos_Moon Looks cute ☺️ 2y
fanbookart Please let us know! I'm curious about this book! :) Happy reading! 2y
60 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
rachelsbrittain
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image
Pickpick

A joy of a book about a k-pop competition, a fat singer / dancer determined to prove she can make it without changing her looks, and two adorable bi babes who fall in love--despite being competition. I don't think I could've loved this book more if I tried. Seriously. All the stars.

Only note of warning is for a lot of fat shaming (though Skye is all body positivity) which could be triggering for some.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

43 likes2 stack adds
blurb
rachelsbrittain
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Totally loving this book (though major tw for body / fat shaming for anyone who might find that triggering-- definitely having a bit of trouble with it myself)

blurb
rachelsbrittain
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

Hammock time with a fun new read about a K-pop competition

43 likes1 stack add
blurb
KimmyM
I'll Be the One | Lyla Lee
post image

I'm soooo excited to read this! I was very happy to snag this from Edelweiss. It's one of my most anticipated reads! #ya