Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Age of Witches
The Age of Witches: A Novel | Louisa Morgan
15 posts | 17 read | 28 to read
From the author of A Secret History of Witches comes a magical new tale of family, ambition, and love set in Gilded Age New York and London -- perfect for fans of Practical Magic, The Witches of New York, and A Discovery of Witches. Harriet Bishop, descended from a long line of witches, uses magic to help women in need -- not only ordinary women, but also those with powers of their own. But what will she do when it's her own family posing the threat? Frances Allington, Harriet's cousin, has used her wiles and witchcraft to claw her way out of poverty and into a spectacular marriage with one of New York's wealthiest new tycoons. Now, she is scheming to make a glorious aristocratic match for her headstrong and reluctant step-daughter, Annis--by any means necessary. Together, Harriet and Annis must find a way to resist Frances' dark agenda, lest she -- and the dashing young lord she suspects she could come to love -- lose their freedom, and possibly their lives. Previous books by Louisa Morgan: A Secret History of WitchesThe Witch's Kind
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Annie1215
post image
Pickpick

Finished my #bookspin book!

I enjoyed this one and will be checking out the series. I‘d say this would be good for anyone who was a fan of the Practical Magic prequels

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! 7mo
sprainedbrain Sounds interesting! 7mo
60 likes2 comments
quote
Annie1215
post image

Getting in to my #bookspin book this month and had to share this quote that rings so true

blurb
Beachgirl
post image

I‘m really enjoying this novel by Louisa Morgan,The Age of Witches here at the beach… kissing the end of summer good bye … #summerreads #beachreads #witchbooks

review
WriterAtHeart
post image
Pickpick

I thoroughly enjoyed "The Age of Witches". I thought the author had a strong storyline and did a great job handling all the details of each story.

35 likes1 stack add
review
BookBosomed1
post image
Mehso-so

📚: This is a book about the self-determination that lives within women and the powers, albeit sometimes hidden, that bind them together. 😊: I liked the feminist overtones, discussions of herbalism, & it‘s Gilded Age setting. 😑: I didn‘t like that the writing drags at the end & reliance on some tiresome fairytale tropes. 📣: I recommend this book for fans of Alice Hoffman (the ✍️ is not as good), stories about witches, & tales of strong women.

blurb
BookBosomed1
post image

It‘s a great evening for some tea and a book. ❤️

quote
derr.liz
post image

"She was a witch, and she thought the word was a marvelous one, with connotations of knowledge and power and independence."

#hallowreads #spooktober

6 likes1 stack add
blurb
SW-T
post image

Orbit has a giveaway going on Instagram of the above witch-themed book bundle. Good luck!

https://www.instagram.com/p/CGpgMIygwBm/

daisyheadmaesie Sad it‘s US only! 2y
35 likes1 comment
review
Booknerd2
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely loved it!!!
💜💜💜

40 likes1 stack add
review
KristiAhlers
post image
Pickpick

This was the first time I‘ve read this author and I shall be on the lookout for her back list. Set during the Gilded Age this is a story of family, power, and witchcraft. A great fictional escape.

HOTPock3tt What do you think?! 😃 @sprainedbrain this sounds amazing. #Stacked 1y
KristiAhlers @HOTPock3tt I think y‘all would both enjoying this one. 1y
Chrissyreadit @HOTPock3tt I‘m looking up this book and saw this comment- it‘s on sale so I‘m grabbing it. 9mo
37 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
Maude
post image
Pickpick

Happy Pub. Day 🤗

I enjoyed the family rivalry, with the 2 lines of magic. The writing was really well done, the characters were interesting and the story was paced nicely. Thanks to Netgalley for ARC.

BethM This sounds interesting! 2y
56 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
TorieStorieS
post image
Pickpick

Probably between a pick and so-so for me, but I did generally like it, so I‘m rounding up! This historical fantasy novel involves the descendants of one witch as their magical differences come to a head over the treatment of Annis. Told in multiple perspectives, there are no real surprises or twists, but it‘s a pleasant read and an entertaining escape. Thanks, #NetGalley!

review
Bookalong
post image
Pickpick

4/5🌟A generational tale filled with magic!
What a beautifully crafted story this is! Morgan expertly balances world building with character development. The female characters were strong and interesting. I dont usually enjoy a lot of romance but there was just enough here without being too much for me. This is out April 7th and it was the perfect read to get me out of our current reality. #bookreview #bookstagram #magicalreads

19 likes2 stack adds
review
rrkreads
post image
Mehso-so

Read my review of a brand new paranormal fantasy novel The Age of Witches by Louisa Morgan due this April.
A story of witches and their conflicting wills and intentions. How far will they go to win and how much are they willing to lose?

https://rrkreads.com/the-age-of-witches-book-review/

#bookreview #bookishview #freebiegrade #4starreads #paranormalfantasy #louisamorgan #redhook

review
vlwelser
post image
Pickpick

I thought this was great. It's fun. It's a historical novel with witches. How do you beat that?

#ARC #netgalley

BookishMe Potent brew! 2y
36 likes1 stack add1 comment