Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
This Time Will Be Different
This Time Will Be Different | Misa Sugiura
6 posts | 7 read | 13 to read
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history. The author of the Asian Pacific American Award-winning Its Not Like Its a Secret is back with another smartly drawn coming-of-age novel that weaves riveting family drama, surprising humor, and delightful romance into a story that will draw you in from the very first page. Katsuyamas never quitbut seventeen-year-old CJ doesnt even know where to start. Shes never lived up to her moms type A ambition, and shes perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their familys flower shop. She doesnt buy into Hannahs romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings, but when it comes to arranging the perfect bouquet, CJ discovers a knack she never knew she had. A skill she might even be proud of. Then her mom decides to sell the shopto the family who swindled CJs grandparents when thousands of Japanese Americans were sent to internment camps during WWII. Soon a rift threatens to splinter CJs family, friends, and their entire Northern California community; and for the first time, CJ has found something she wants to fight for.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
quote
LauraWeasley
post image

"Look at these wildflowers. [...] They're not fancy, they're not prizewinning orchids or roses. But they don't care. They're just wildflowers, doing their thing, and they're beautiful. Be like them, sweet pea. Just be you and be happy." ?

I really enjoyed this! The story incorporates so many important topics, like racism or abortion, and it does so in a very organic, authentic (and in the case of the Japanese internment camps, educational) way.

review
alysonwrites
post image
Pickpick

CJ‘s family motto is Katsuyamas Never Quit. It‘s a lot to live up to when her mom is a high-achieving career climber and the only thing CJ feels she‘s good at is working at her aunt‘s flower shop. But CJ is about to bloom with her own brand of moxie. This book packs a lot of tough issues—racism, teen pregnancy, LGBTQ equality, and the dark legacy of the WWII Japanese-American concentration camps—while also being boldly optimistic and funny. 🖤

alysonwrites P.S. This was my POC fiction pick for July‘s #LitsyATXReadersSociety. 🦇📚 (edited) 4mo
6 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
essayareayaitch
This post contains spoilers
show me
Pickpick

This book has restored my love for YA. CJ feels like she's a disappointment to her mom. She's low achieving because she hasn't found her passion. I'm trying to save her family's florist shop, she discovers something about the person her school is named after, and she starts a group to try to change the name. *There is a teen pregnancy and abortion scene (non-graphic)*

blurb
BookishMarginalia
post image

I love the discount but how I hate those freaking #Target stickers! They‘re impossible to peel off cleanly. And seriously, couldn‘t they at least stick them somewhere less intrusive?!?

Skyrimir I have a book with a target “sticker” that is literally printed on the cover. The worst for sure! 5mo
Hestapleton I‘ve heard hair dryers are pretty good at getting them off! 5mo
Factaddict73 I have used mayonnaise... just a teeny bit, used carefully and left a while. It works in from the edges, so I had to be patient, which is not one of my attributes. Now that I think about it, WD-40 might work, or GooGone. You‘d have to be patient, and of course, the old,”Try in a hidden area first to make sure there are no problems,” applies....I used a Q-tip to apply it when it worked, and played it out over a weekend. 5mo
bookishbitch I use goo gone. It works well and has a citrus scent. 5mo
UwannaPublishme Those cover stickers make me crazy too! Mr. Clean Magic Eraser is my go-to. 5mo
108 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
GondorGirl
post image

That's a dedication that packs a real punch.

BookishMarginalia Indeed. 5mo
48 likes1 comment