Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Fans of the Impossible Life
Fans of the Impossible Life | Kate Scelsa
18 posts | 35 read | 41 to read
A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who cant get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when shes with Sebby.Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis whos been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, its as if hes been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.Sebby, Miras gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Miras world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who dont understand their quest to live for the impossible.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
guidosophia
Mehso-so

jeremy and sebby are kinda ripoffs of patrick and charlie from perks of being a wallflower in my opinion. mainly just a weird book that leaves you wondering “who speaks or acts like this? also is it ok to write sex scenes about minors??” read if you‘re going through your seventh grade quirky phase but any older and you probably won‘t like it

blurb
Canndor
post image

My first blurb!

I always call YA lit my guilty pleasure, but honestly I don't feel very guilty about it. ?

This book had all of my favorite things about YA lit. Namely, addressing the subjects often ignored in "adult lit": depression, suicidal thoughts, the struggles of being lbgt, codependent relationships...
Overall I loved this book, but I did not care for the reader perspective changes between characters. Not a deal breaker, but not for me.

Addison_Reads Great review. You'll find that many of us here enjoy YA and certainly do not feel guilty about it at all. 4y
Erofan Welcome to Litsy! 😃📚💕 4y
Canndor @Erofan thanks! Really enjoying it so far. 4y
See All 7 Comments
Reggie I think YA can is underrated. I‘ve read some great thought provoking YA. Nice blurb!! 4y
Chelleo I love YA! Welcome to Litsy! Hope these #Litsytips by @RaimeyGallant http://bit.ly/litsytips and #LitsyHowTo videos: goo.gl/UrCpoU are helpful. Follow @LitsyHappenings to find out about various challenges, buddy reads, meet-ups and swaps taking place.
4y
RaimeyGallant Welcome! 4y
rather_be_reading welcome to litsy 📚☕📚 4y
10 likes1 stack add7 comments
review
introvertedbooks
post image
Pickpick

This book is Chewy approved! A great story about growing up, figuring yourself out and just how important friendship is. I really enjoyed this one. I really loved that Sebby and Jeremy were gay but that wasnt the focus of the story. It just seemed normal. If you've slept on this one, pick it up it really is great! #sleeperreads

blurb
introvertedbooks
post image

A story about 3 teens, one struggling with depression, one a closeted gay guy and one who has something mysterious in his past. This is a story about how complicated love and friendships can change your life. I am loving it so far, especially because it is set in New Jersey!

blurb
lilylexicon
post image

Day 1: My #tbr for June! I usually get my books from the library, but these are some that I have right now and I want to read. This is also my first time participating in a monthly challenge, so wish me luck! This challenge is by @bookisglee so check them out! #juneinbooks18
#junetbr #booksinjune #summereads #polaroid #aesthetic #summerreads

blurb
Purrfectpages
post image

Couldn‘t find a more perfect quote if I tried! #quotsy #quotsymay18 #impossible

TheFunkyBookworm I know! I can‘t think about it too much because sometimes it stresses me out 😂 5y
BookNerd9906 Yaaasssss! 5y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Me too and it causes anxiety sometimes!!!! 🤦🏼‍♀️ 5y
See All 7 Comments
erzascarletbookgasm Yup! 😁 5y
EmG Me too - am moving and my book stash is overwhelming - not from a book owning family & know I'll be judged by sheer volume 5y
TK-421 So true! 5y
65 likes7 comments
review
Bibliogeekery
post image
Pickpick

This was a highly readable YA book about love and friendship and surviving difficult times through mutual support. I find some YA too saccharin for my taste but this one hit the right notes for me. #queerbooks #queergoespostal

63 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Bibliogeekery
post image

Next up! My second last book for #qgp1 #queergoespostal

69 likes4 stack adds
review
mskbp
post image
Pickpick

I listened to Fans of the Impossible Life and really enjoyed it. Three people voiced the three narrators, and it made for a really good telling of this story! Anyone who had trouble finding their place while navigating the social complexities of high school will be able to relate this book.

quote
Yellowpigeon
post image

I loved this book. Any author who names a pet " Dolly Parton the cat " to distinguish her from the singer gets all the praise from me.

review
Redjewel_7734
post image
Pickpick

This is such a great read. It deals with some heavy issues-depression, anxiety, self-harm, homophobia, getting lost in the system- but it doesn't read heavy or slog along at all. Even way past my teenage years, I found the characters relatable & easy to empathize & connect with. As the three main characters come together, fall apart, & try to put the pieces back together again we get a glimpse of the impossible life they dream of together.

LiteraryinLawrence Thanks for the great review! This has been on my TBR for a while, but I had kind of forgotten about it. 6y
Bibliogeekery Can't wait to read this! #queerbooks 6y
Redjewel_7734 @LiteraryinLititz @Bibliogeekery It is so good!!! I can't wait to hear what you think of it 😊 6y
minkyb Well said! 6y
84 likes3 stack adds5 comments
blurb
Redjewel_7734
post image

Just finished this book & am having all the feelings right now. I'm broken, but in the way I love to be broken by an amazing story.

monkeygirlsmama I haven't read this book, but I love this blurb. ❤️❤️ 6y
Redjewel_7734 @monkeygirlsmama 💜It is soo good, you should read it. 6y
monkeygirlsmama Stacked! 😁 6y
83 likes2 stack adds4 comments
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

A gorgeous, sad book so achingly real about friendships and love and everything in between and overlapping. I've never read a YA book that reminded me so powerfully of being a teenager myself. Kate Scelsa remembers.The audiobook was beautifully done, with different narrators for Mira, Sebby, and Jeremy. Lots of queer characters and lots to say about mental illness and the foster care system. I loved it and it made me cry. #QueerBooks #Audiobooks

TrishB Great review 😀 will be having a look at that book! 6y
19 likes4 stack adds2 comments
blurb
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

I don't remember the last time I read a YA novel that reminded me so evocatively and profoundly of being a teenager myself. This book is just so stunning, and heartbreaking, and real. #QueerBooks

15 likes1 stack add
blurb
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

This is totally adorable so far and I love it. And the audiobook readers are great. #QueerBooks

Megabooks It is so good! 6y
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Ebooksandcooks I love it more and more as I get further in! 6y
14 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
eek337
Pickpick

If no other reason, read this to see the masterful way the author used all points of view for narration - first, second, and third person. Loved the story. Wasn't completely sold on the ending, but the story was great.

2 likes1 stack add
quote
HiddenGemBooks
post image

Against all odds. May people look at us and wonder how such jewels can sparkle in the sad desert of the world. May we live the impossible life.