Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#QueerBooks
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

I wrote a full review of this book on Autostraddle: https://www.autostraddle.com/the-call-is-coming-from-inside-the-house-essay-coll....

A truly incredible essay collection, effortlessly weaving together personal narrative and (pop) cultural criticism. Themes include: motherhood, queerness, pregnancy, true crime, horror movies, bisexuality / labels, patriarchy and men's violence. For fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Melissa Febos.

29 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

Apparently there is no age group Nina LaCour can't write for? This transitional chapter book for ages 7-10 was very cute and charming, with a realistic feisty little 9-year-old protagonist named Ella. Ella is the self-imposed expert on the apartment house in San Francisco (and its inhabitants) where she lives with her two moms. Lovely depiction of community and queer parents! Sweet illustrations as well. #QueerBooks

blurb
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
Lavender House | Lev AC Rosen
post image

I made this quiz for Autostraddle dot com! Take it if you want a queer mystery recommendation. If you do, let me know which book you got. I've read most of the options and they are all great! #QueerBooks #Mystery

https://www.autostraddle.com/quiz-which-queer-mystery-novel-should-you-read/

Jari-chan I got Dirt Creek. Sounds interesting. 1mo
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Jari-chan that one is great! Very real atmosphere of a scorching desert small town in Australia! 1mo
See All 11 Comments
PuddleJumper I got The Mimicking of Known Successes which I've never heard of but I'm now going to Google 1mo
bunny Not me getting a book that‘s been sitting unread on my shelf for…just SO long. Guess it‘s a sign I should finally read it! Great quiz, thanks for sharing. 1mo
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @PuddleJumper that one is very fun, an easy read but so interesting! 1mo
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Ruthiella that's one I want to read myself! 1mo
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @bunny glad you liked it! I loved Lavender House, hope you do too! 1mo
Kitta I‘m adding it to my tbr! It sounds so good 1mo
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian @Kitta I loved it, hope you do too! 1mo
22 likes11 comments
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
Pardalita | Joana Estrela
post image
Pickpick

This is a beautiful, subtle story of queer teenage love set in small town Portugal, told alternately in graphic novel and prose poem format. The art is gorgeous, dynamic, and expressive. The words are poetic yet simple, and authentic in a way that brought me right back to being 16 and having a crush.I loved this! Definitely read this if you're a fan of Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki's graphic novels.

31 likes1 comment
quote
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
Pardalita | Joana Estrela
post image

"Pardalita, I tried to sit as far away from you as possible. But since we were in a circle, the farthest away meant facing you directly. Not the best plan."

"How far can you be from someone without them noticing you don't want any distance at all?"

Ah, the idiosyncrasies of a queer teenage crush

#QueerBooks

33 likes1 stack add
blurb
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
She Who Became the Sun | Shelley Parker-Chan
post image

This feels mostly like historical fiction so far, with just a note of the speculative (the main character can see ghosts), so I'm not having any trouble at all figuring out the world reading the audiobook. Phew! I am finding the story quite propulsive and I'm interested to see how Zhu develops as a self-interested survivor kind of character. I'm also wondering how living as a boy might affect her gender... #Fantasy #QueerBooks

review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
Firebugs | Nino Bulling
post image
Pickpick

A great slice-of-life #GraphicNovel about a 30-year-old queer person from Berlin moving verrrrry sloooowly through gender feels and navigating a longterm relationship. There's no judgement on anything or anyone -- the tone is very much "this is what's happening, isn't it interesting" with no hints of morality. The art is bold black and white with pops of red. The spreads of queer dance parties are especially cool! #QueerBooks

27 likes1 stack add
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

Just delightful! Tween detective Drew has another mystery to solve, this time a thief with an unusual M.O. Why is the thief stealing one item from kids' lockers but leaving other valuable items behind? One of the victims is her friend's new girlfriend and Drew gets to know her BFF Alex, a future investigative journalist and true crime nerd like Drew. What is that funny feeling Drew gets in her tummy when Alex is around? I love these kids so much!

26 likes1 comment
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

My second time reading this masterpiece. Stunning art and story. This is one of the best books I've ever read. As Alison Bechdel says: "A baroque mystery whose plot pulls you forward as insistently as the images demand you linger." Presented as the graphic diary of 10-year-old Karen Reyes, growing up poor in 60s Chicago, as she investigates her upstairs' neighbour's possible murder, connected to her youth in Nazi Germany. Vol 2 is out in May!!

snapsnarlgrowl I‘m so excited we‘re finally getting volume 2! 2mo
39 likes4 stack adds3 comments
quote
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

"Girls need plenty of healthy opportunities to scream together in fun so that when we need to scream in outrage or fear, our voices are prepared."

This essay collection about horror, motherhood, and queerness is soo good! #QueerBooks

34 likes2 stack adds