Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
War Girls
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
7 posts | 1 read | 19 to read
Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky. In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there. Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
IvoryLunatic
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

Finally got some washi tape & stickers to send out some #litsylove. I‘m sorry to everyone who hasn‘t heard back yet from me. It‘s been very busy and I haven‘t had the chance to buy these until now. Hopefully I still have the envelopes I‘ve been moving around with me for years from house to house. / So far I‘m really enjoying the tagged book. The writing is simple but effective & the story is moving along well. The futuristic tech is interesting.

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks No worries!!! ❤️❤️ 3d
38 likes1 comment
blurb
IvoryLunatic
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

I forgot my kindle at work so I gotta take some actual books with me today. No lie, I got slight anxiety about not having my kindle with me. Things have gotten missing at work before. I‘m really excited about reading the tagged book. It sounds awesome. #bookishfirst

34 likes3 stack adds
blurb
IvoryLunatic
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

My first ever BookishFirst win. I‘m very excited about this one because I loved the first look of it.

blurb
LibrarianRyan
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

I love this cover. Normally you get a tough girl on a cover that is face first and all attitude. But I love the tilted/turned body with the look of the mechanical arm. It gives just a bit of venerability. It makes me think of Katness Everdeen. Hopefully this book is as good as that series.

October 15 , 2019

#CoverLove
#YAedition

42 likes4 stack adds
blurb
SW-T
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

Another one for the TBR list! Looks good 😊

IvoryLunatic Yes! I read the first chapter and it sounds so good! 4w
19 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
ness
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

Look at all these great-looking books with Black girls on the cover! #ALAAC19

Tamra Must check out Dragon Thief! 3mo
17 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Violetsunrise84
War Girls | Tochi Onyebuchi
post image

The cover is even more beautiful in person. #bea #bookexpo #tochionyebuchi #bea19 #bookexpo19 #bookexpo