Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Sol Majestic
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
5 posts | 3 read | 6 to read
The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place "A feast of a book. Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents' ambition to advise the celestial elite. Everything changes when Kenna wins a free dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy's most renown restaurant, giving him access to the cosmos's one-percent. His dream is jeopardized, however, when he learns his highly-publicized "free meal" risks putting The Sol Majestic into financial ruin. Kenna and a motley gang of newfound friends including a teleporting celebrity chef, a trust-fund adrenaline junkie, an inept apprentice, and a brilliant mistress of disguise must concoct an extravagant scheme to save everything they cherish. In doing so, Kenna may sacrifice his ideals or learn even greater lessons about wisdom, friendship, and love. Utterly charming and out of this world, The Sol Majestic is will satisfy the appetites of sci-fi aficionados and newcomers alike.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
NotCool
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

I had problems with this book. It felt like it was aimed at educated kids who couldn‘t get white collar jobs and were hesitant to perform other types of labor, like cooking. The ending redeemed it. But it‘s a tricky game, balancing drudge work, poverty, slavery, Art, aesthetics, and classism.

7 likes1 stack add
blurb
Lizpixie
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

#BookMail Pt9 This book was a spur of the moment purchase, but with a description of “a cross between The Chefs Kitchen & The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe directed by Baz Luhrman” how could I pass it up? Destitute teenager Kenna wins a dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy‘s best restaurant. But her favourite place is facing bankruptcy unless she can pull off a scheme to get investment from some intergalactic billionaires.👽🍱💰

36 likes1 stack add
quote
B.Reader
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

So many great observations in this book. Guess that‘s one of the reasons I‘m savoring it like a delicious meal. #foodie #foodbook

blurb
Shadowfat
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

A new book can't cure the pain we feel or cure the incurable, but it does have a pretty cover and it temporarily made me feel better. I hope it's good.

review
j9brown
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

Hmm. This is tough to rate because it's so odd. It gets a Pick for originality, that's for sure. At first I thought the style was really dorky but then all of a sudden I got swept away by the story. Some parts dragged a bit but I had a fun time overall.

Won from a #goodreadsgiveaway hence the weird cover

31 likes1 stack add