Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Sol Majestic
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
12 posts | 10 read | 11 to read
The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place "A feast of a book. Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents' ambition to advise the celestial elite. Everything changes when Kenna wins a free dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy's most renown restaurant, giving him access to the cosmos's one-percent. His dream is jeopardized, however, when he learns his highly-publicized "free meal" risks putting The Sol Majestic into financial ruin. Kenna and a motley gang of newfound friends including a teleporting celebrity chef, a trust-fund adrenaline junkie, an inept apprentice, and a brilliant mistress of disguise must concoct an extravagant scheme to save everything they cherish. In doing so, Kenna may sacrifice his ideals or learn even greater lessons about wisdom, friendship, and love. Utterly charming and out of this world, The Sol Majestic is will satisfy the appetites of sci-fi aficionados and newcomers alike.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
Christyco125
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Mehso-so

Not as space opera-y as I was expecting from the cover. A nice foodie hope-filled novel.

#Booked2022 - A HOPE PUNK NOVEL

review
Laughterhp
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

This was a low pick. I was a bit confused on some things through this whole book. I picked this up for a hope punk novel for #booked2022

Kenna is super poor and starving. He stumbles upon an advertisement to eat at a super exclusive restaurant. He‘s never tasted good that wasn‘t processed. He finds a whole world where he finally fits in. His journey is very long but also only the course of a month.

Cinfhen Sounds interesting 🤨 #HopePunk was definitely the hardest prompt!!!! 2mo
BarbaraTheBibliophage I still haven't read my #HopePunk choice but it's Octavia Butler so I'm definitely looking forward to it. Good for you for the stretch with this one! 2mo
47 likes2 comments
review
ozma.of.oz
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

Kenna is trying to discover his own Inevitable Philosophy when he wins a free dinner at the best restaurant in the galaxy. To save the Sol Majestic from approaching financial ruin, he discovers more about himself than he thought possible.

The middle 1/3 was muddled & slow. A bit plotholey.

But I love finding works that have the reverence for food that I do. Characters were quirky. Food was exquisite. And the resolution was a surprise! 🌕🌕🌕🌕🌑

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! Great review!! 2y
57 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
rachelsbrittain
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

A quirky, inventive sci-fi novel about a dying religion, a starving boy, & the best restaurant in the galaxy. The middle dragged in places (though maybe blame that on the fact that I listened to the first 3rd in audio & read the rest), but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Never seen a book so focused on the future of food & it was wonderfully & fascinatingly done--with time freezing cloches, alien yeast, & antigravity appetizers.

4 stars / ⭐⭐⭐⭐

39 likes4 stack adds
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

1. Gideon the Ninth, The Sol Majestic, and Dead Astronauts

2. Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

3. The Deep by Rivers Solomon

#weekendreads

review
kgriffith
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Mehso-so

I found myself sort of, puzzledly delighted by this book‘s quirkiness at the outset? but after sitting in that weird spot for several hours, it slid off the rails and I couldn‘t be sure what to think anymore. I didn‘t bail, and I didn‘t wish I had read the physical book for no other reason than that I wanted to throw it against a wall, but I definitely do not know exactly what I just finished.

blurb
kgriffith
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

Starting this one on my commute to campus thanks to a review of interstellar restaurants in the Tor newsletter 🤓

review
NotCool
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

I had problems with this book. It felt like it was aimed at educated kids who couldn‘t get white collar jobs and were hesitant to perform other types of labor, like cooking. The ending redeemed it. But it‘s a tricky game, balancing drudge work, poverty, slavery, Art, aesthetics, and classism.

8 likes1 stack add
blurb
Lizpixie
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

#BookMail Pt9 This book was a spur of the moment purchase, but with a description of “a cross between The Chefs Kitchen & The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe directed by Baz Luhrman” how could I pass it up? Destitute teenager Kenna wins a dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy‘s best restaurant. But her favourite place is facing bankruptcy unless she can pull off a scheme to get investment from some intergalactic billionaires.👽🍱💰

quote
B.Reader
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

So many great observations in this book. Guess that‘s one of the reasons I‘m savoring it like a delicious meal. #foodie #foodbook

blurb
Shadowfat
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image

A new book can't cure the pain we feel or cure the incurable, but it does have a pretty cover and it temporarily made me feel better. I hope it's good.

review
j9brown
The Sol Majestic: A novel | Ferrett Steinmetz
post image
Pickpick

Hmm. This is tough to rate because it's so odd. It gets a Pick for originality, that's for sure. At first I thought the style was really dorky but then all of a sudden I got swept away by the story. Some parts dragged a bit but I had a fun time overall.

Won from a #goodreadsgiveaway hence the weird cover

31 likes1 stack add