Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Small Backs of Children
Small Backs of Children | Lidia Yuknavitch
National BestsellerA masterful literary talent explores the treacherous, often violent borders between war and sex, love and art.With the flash of a camera, one girl s life is shattered, and a host of others altered forever. . .In a war-torn village in Eastern Europe, an American photographer captures a heart-stopping image: a young girl flying toward the lens, fleeing a fiery explosion that has engulfed her home and family. The image wins acclaim and prizes, becoming an icon for millions and a subject of obsession for one writer, the photographer s best friend, who has suffered a devastating tragedy of her own.As the writer plunges into a suicidal depression, her filmmaker husband enlists several friends, including a fearless bisexual poet and an ingenuous performance artist, to save her by rescuing the unknown girl and bringing her to the United States. And yet, as their plot unfolds, everything we know about the story comes into question: What does the writer really want? Who is controlling the action? And what will happen when these two worlds east and west, real and virtual collide?A fierce, provocative, and deeply affecting novel of both ideas and action that blends the tight construction of Julian Barnes s The Sense of an Ending with the emotional power of Anthony Marra s A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Lidia Yuknavitch s The Small Backs of Children is a major step forward from one of our most avidly watched writers."
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
collegecatlady
post image
Pickpick

A brutal and raw novel that isn‘t for everyone. However, if you can handle it, pick it up.

96 likes4 stack adds
review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image
Pickpick

A beautiful, brutal book about love, (kinky) sex, grief, war, violence, and art. I love Yuknavitch's writing, such raw use of language rooted in women's bodies. Above all the novel concludes that making art is the only refuge we have in the face of the world's atrocities, whether that means large scale military occupation or individual sexual assault. This is a fierce, difficult, but rewarding book. For fans of Kathy Acker and Jeanette Winterson.

40 likes1 stack add1 comment
quote
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
post image

"Who are we in moments of crisis or despair? Do we become deeper, truer selves, or lift up and away from a self, untethered from regular meanings like moths suddenly drawn to heat or light?"

review
Caksf
post image
Pickpick

This book took me by surprise. I was not expecting an intense, violent gut wrenching story about the intersections of art and war, violence and sex. It was a bit too violent for me in spots, but I understand why it was part of the narrative. If you like intense writing that can charge you up with depression and anger? 5/5 @24in48 I‘m abandoning my tbr stack and diving into something lighthearted and fun #24in48 I need a sea change after this one!

blurb
Caksf
post image

After a day that did not roll out as I had planned, all it took was a great book to put me back on track. This one was a last minute grab off the tbr shelf- wow! .. way better than I was expecting. I‘ve got 70 pages left but have decided to get some sleep @24in48 I‘ll be back at my #24in48 challenge in the morning!

blurb
Maddymayi13
post image

One of the most wrenching books I've read this year. Lidia Yuknavitch is a new favorite.

blurb
AlwaysBeReading
Small Backs of Children | Lidia Yuknavitch
post image

10 likes2 stack adds
review
theshrinkette
post image
Pickpick

The story is pretty painfully graphic and not for the faint of heart, but her writing is GORGEOUS.

RanaElizabeth I keep meaning to read this. Her memoir is amazing. Hard but stunning language. 2y
theshrinkette @RanaElizabeth I believe it, I really want to read that book. 2y
29 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
theshrinkette
post image
HeatherBookNerd Love that cover 2y
43 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
prowlix
post image

I loved this book when I read it last year! I flew through it in mostly one sitting which is really unusual for me. Passing on the love for anyone else interested #blameLitsy #kindledeals

TW: violence and rape

review
malloryomeara
Small Backs of Children | Lidia Yuknavitch
post image
Pickpick

Yuknavitch will destroy you. Her writing punches through my chest like falling through ice. I adored her memoir, The Chronology of Water, and her fiction is just as incredible.

14 likes3 stack adds
blurb
chlobee
post image

Being a nonviolent person, I didn't so much #threwitacrosstheroom as I did #setasideinextremedisgust (sry abt grammar). I absolutely loved her memoir - every single woman/person needs to read it. This book, however, was a catastrophe. Historical and geographical inaccuracies abound (my pet peeves), tryhard artists, so much senseless graphic sex, a RIDICULOUS plot, all for the sake of Art. It was horrible and definitely not for me.
#photoadaynov16

review
SoniaC
post image
Pickpick

This is such a well written book. Every piece of it feels intentional. The characters are flawed and compelling. The sad story unfolds with raw power. The hurt and pain that gets laid out on these pages is overwhelming but I couldn't stop reading. This is a book be experienced.

49 likes7 stack adds
blurb
SoniaC
post image

Just a few pages in but already getting caught up in this one. Enjoying it with a lively eggplant sandwich.

RanaElizabeth Her memoir is great too, hard but gorgeous. 3y
SoniaC @RanaElizabeth oh that looks good! 3y
mauveandrosysky I want that sandwich! 😋 3y
SoniaC @mauveandrosysky 😂 it's so good! 3y
mhillis Adding to tbr! 3y
53 likes3 stack adds5 comments
blurb
SoniaC
post image

The long awaited journey with this book begins. Hope it's as good as I think.

blurb
prowlix
post image

#CouldntPutItDown - I read this all in one day and it completely took me off guard. The characters are not named but just The Writer, The Girl, The Photographer, etc. The Writer is mourning the loss of a child and connects with a picture a of child fleeing an explosion in a war torn country. Her obsession to save that one child becomes consuming. It is heartbreaking, but the beautiful language makes it compelling. TW: violence, rape

RealLifeReading I've not read this one but really liked 3y
prowlix @RealLifeReading I will have to look into that. Thanks! 3y
36 likes2 comments
blurb
SoniaC
post image

Feeling overly tired and stressed this week so I created a three day weekend for myself 💗 after a visit to my happy place Books Inc I've settled down with some chai tea and a cookie 📚🍵🍪 this is living

ramyasbookshelf Both books are in my TBR pile! Can't wait to hear your thoughts! Enjoy your 3 day weekend. 3y
BookishFeminist ❤️ sorry you had a crappy week, but I hope you enjoy your 3-day weekend. It looks like it's off to a great start! 3y
SoniaC @ramyasbookshelf oh same here. Can't wait to see what you think as well. They look really good. 3y
See All 7 Comments
jpmcwisemorgan I enjoyed Mr. Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore. 3y
SoniaC @BookishFeminist Thanks! It sure has started off right. In a few in taking a long walk to the water. Beautiful day and I'm going to fully enjoy it. 3y
SoniaC @jpmcwisemorgan oh that's good to know. I've had my eye on it for awhile. 3y
LeahBergen Nice!! 3y
38 likes7 comments
blurb
BethFishReads
post image

Now out in paperback -- photography, violence, war, sex. Reviewers note that it's a deeply emotional and rough novel that you'll not soon forget.

prowlix This book! I read it all in one sitting which is pretty rare for me. Its pretty brutal but so good 3y
BethFishReads @prowlix I haven't read it yet! 3y
49 likes12 stack adds2 comments
review
Twocougs
post image
Pickpick

Lidia Yuknavit's writing is raw, emotional, very dark, and utterly beautiful though in this novel. Not a story if looking for a light, relaxing read. I'm going to be thinking about this for days. On to a lighter read, the Runaway Wife. #24in48

60 likes6 stack adds
blurb
Twocougs
post image

Taking a much needed break and went to get the mail. My quarterly box came😀 and I think it's time to snack on one of my special treat macaroons (best ones in Seattle) I picked earlier today as I listened to an audiobook. Hope #24in48 is going well for everyone!

Reviewsbylola Omg I would eat that entire box in a matter of minutes. 4y
Twocougs @Reviewsbylola they utterly amazing. Wish I could share with you😊 4y
Sarahr875 Have you read Still Alice yet? It's pretty great 4y
See All 7 Comments
Twocougs @Sarahr875 I haven't read it yet, to be honest I haven't been brave enough but will step now. 4y
Sarahr875 It is heartbreaking but so worth the read! 4y
MrBook WOOHOO! Nice cache! 4y
read.run.travel @Twocougs Still Alice is amazing and heartbreaking but so worth it!! 3y
68 likes7 comments
blurb
Twocougs
post image

Took myself out to lunch as I read. #24in48. The beginning of this novel is very heart wrenching and sad. I'm 9 hours in- finished one book, listened to an audiobook for awhile and Small Backs

58 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Twocougs

Took myself out to lunch as I read. #24in48. The beginning of this novel is very heart wrenching and sad.

blurb
Twocougs

Took myself out to lunch as I read. #24in48. The beginning of this novel is very heart wrenching and sad.

blurb
BooksForEmpathy
post image

After listening to a riveting interview with the author on Lit Up, I picked up these two Lidia Yuknavitch books. I am so blown away by the way she speaks about love & death & grief (so viscerally) & writing & art & identity & if we really are the roles that we fill or if we are more. Reading now!

Onceuponatime The Chronology of Water is great...very emotional and moving. I didn't get into Small Backs as much, though I generally enjoy her work. 4y
ramyasbookshelf I found the lit up podcast after seeing this and just got these books and one more too.. Thanks for the reco. 4y
prowlix I read Small Backs all in one sitting and I'm usually a slow reader. I couldn't stop reading 4y
32 likes11 stack adds3 comments
blurb
KarmaCath
post image

Just picked up this book from the Calgary Public Library ... first time reading Ms Yuknavitch ... rain this weekend means time to read .... #lidiayuknavitch

blurb
BookQueen
post image

An achingly beautiful book

blurb
Judine

Warning: this book will never leave your head.

review
tkmadden
post image
Pickpick

moving, innovative, break-heart good.

12 likes13 stack adds