Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Pemberley Shades
Pemberley Shades: Pride and Prejudice continues | Dorothea A Bonavia-Hunt
4 posts | 2 read | 28 to read
Originally published in 1949, the unusual plot takes the Darcys into the realm of the Gothic-perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley. Mr. Darcy must appoint a new rector at Pemberley, which affords the author the opportunity to introduce a host of new characters to mingle with the beloved and familiar ones of Jane Austen. A delightfully witty plot, full of surprises: "Who could have foretold that Dr. Robinson, who had done nothing of note in all his lifetime should, by the common and natural act of dying, set in motion a train of events so strange, so startling, so far removed from probability as to emulate the riotous fancies of a disordered mind?" "The kind of story Jane Austen would have delighted to tell." -J. Donald Adams What readers are saying: "Really a great book and captures Austen's characters quite well. I was excessively diverted." "A very original plot." "A wonderful addition to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice sequels!"
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
saresmoore
Pemberley Shades | D. A. Bonavia-Hunt
post image

I was craving a comforting read this evening after a particularly harrowing chapter of #Genji and this lovely gem is really hitting the spot. Thank you for recommending this, Leah!

LeahBergen And thanks to @rubyslippersreads for “making” me buy it. 😆 12mo
rubyslippersreads @saresmoore @LeahBergen So glad you both love it. 12mo
95 likes4 stack adds2 comments
blurb
LeahBergen
post image

“Are the shades of Pemberley to be thus polluted?” (Lady Catherine de Bourgh)

Today‘s book mail (and let‘s call it a vintage (book) Valentine to myself 😉).

#VintageValentine
#HeartsAndHardcovers
#BlameItOnRubyslippersreads

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Love it!!! 📚❤️ 2y
rubyslippersreads You got the twin to mine! 😊 2y
See All 16 Comments
LeahBergen @rubyslippersreads I had to. You ruined me for anything else. 😆 2y
saresmoore Well, shoot. I obviously need this! 2y
wordslinger42 Going to have to buy this very soon! I love the cover 💜 2y
DebinHawaii Very cool! 📚💜 2y
batsy 😍 I've already stacked it... I'm sure it was #blameitonrubyslippersreads 2y
LeahBergen @saresmoore You must hunt down this 1949 edition. It‘s wonderful. 😍 2y
LeahBergen @wordslinger42 It looks so good. 👍🏻 2y
LeahBergen @batsy Oh, probably. She‘s horrible that way. @rubyslippersreads 2y
ladyonequestion I love Jane Austen spin offs ♥️ 2y
LeahBergen @ladyonequestion I think this is going to be a good one. 👍🏻 2y
100 likes5 stack adds16 comments
blurb
rubyslippersreads
post image

My favorite #PnP sequel. #estates #150PnPCoverParty

CrowCAH “Are they thus to be polluted?” Lol Great choice for today‘s prompt! 2y
batsy So pretty! 2y
eastbaykate What a pretty photo! 2y
See All 7 Comments
Austen_Nerd A beautiful photo 2y
LeahBergen I have had this one stacked since you first brought it to my attention. Gorgeous! 💕💕 2y
LeahBergen You‘re in big trouble. I just ordered this for myself. 🤣😂🤣 2y
rubyslippersreads @LeahBergen The Super Bowl of book buying! 😂 2y
94 likes9 stack adds7 comments
blurb
rubyslippersreads
post image
Bookish.Heart Beautiful picture! 3y
LeahBergen This sounds so good! 3y
rubyslippersreads @Bookish.Heart Thank you! 3y
See All 9 Comments
rubyslippersreads @LeahBergen It is, and fortunately it's back in print. It used to be so hard to find. 3y
CrowCAH @rubyslippersreads beautiful pic arrangement! 3y
stacybmartin That is such a beautiful picture!! 💜💜 3y
Tigerbook Love it!! 3y
Hobbinol Nice pic!!! 3y
85 likes6 stack adds9 comments