Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
When The World Was Ours
When The World Was Ours | Liz Kessler
4 posts | 7 read | 5 to read
A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. For readers of Private Peaceful, The Book Thief and Anne Franks The Diary of a Young Girl. Three friends. Two sides. One memory. Vienna. 1936. Three young friends Leo, Elsa and Max spend a perfect day together, unaware that around them Europe is descending into a growing darkness, and that events soon mean that they will be cruelly ripped apart from each other. With their lives taking them across Europe to Germany, England, Prague and Poland will they ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to? Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times. 'When The World Was Ours is Liz's masterpiece . . . an instant classic' Anthony McGowan, winner of the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal 'A wonderful book, half tragedy, but told with such sheer, warm humanity that it leaves you with hope' Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War 'I haven't read a Holocaust book for children that's better' Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller 'When The World Was Ours is the most wonderful, terrible, powerful, important book I have read in years and years. It is so good, so real, so unflinching' Cathy Cassidy 'When The World Was Ours is an exceptionally powerful book based on Lizs familys extraordinary escape from Nazi occupied countries . . . a book I hope will be read and discussed by children everywhere' Francesca Simon 'An absolute masterpiece!' Keren David, author of What We're Scared Of 'This is a tour de force, a book about friendship and what happens when hate is institutionalised, but most of all it's a book about love' Catherine Johnson 'Utterly, utterly gut-churningly brilliant. It's a superb piece of writing. It should win everything going' Tanya Landman 'This stunning book is going to make you rage, and cry, and yelp with joy, then cry and rage again. A genuine tour de force from Liz Kessler. I couldnt put it down except to wipe away tears' Joanna Nadin 'This striking Holocaust story was a real passion project for Liz Kessler and it shows. Begins in Vienna in the 1930s, following the fortunes of three friends over the following years. Inevitable ugly crying at the end' Karen McCombie 'When The World Was Ours is a gut-wrenching story of friendship torn apart by war. I cant recommend it highly enough' Anna Wilson 'An unstoppable read - compassionate, angry and uplifting all at once' Katherine Langrish 'I just finished When The World Was Ours and I'm in tears. I don't think I've ever read anything so powerful, shocking or moving. Such an important book - it truly deserves to fly' Emma Pass 'This book is completely engaging and will engross young (and older) readers . . . it will prove to be very important, and widely read and recommended' Linda Newbery 'The most powerful book about the Holocaust I've ever read . . . it is an utterly stunning, and important, read. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time, and would urge everyone to read it' Kerry Drewery 'Powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking and timely. This story of three friends will be etched in my mind for a very long time. What an incredible novel' Emma Perry 'Very moved by the new Liz Kessler novel . . . the story and the story behind it. I wish I was a Costa judge next year as well' John McLay 'Powerful, heart-wrenching' Leila Rasheed
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Jari-chan
post image
Pickpick

Almost forgot to post about this impressive audio book. This version was very well made with a full cast, so each kid has their own speaking voice. We learn about the three children and their way of growing up during WWII. It's not a feelgood book, of course not, but I still wanted to come back to the story as fast as possible. Liz Kessler has worked in some parts of her own family history into this story, which makes it even more moving.

review
Karisimo
post image
Pickpick

My #doublespin for April was a MG historical fiction about 3 friends living in Vienna when Hitler comes to power. They go down three different paths which allows kids to see multiple outcomes. My only disappointment was that in the beginning they are very young and naive, but by the end the horror is very real, so I'm not sure who the intended audience is...

@TheAromaofBooks

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! 10mo
24 likes1 comment
blurb
sblbooks
post image

1 Margaret Peterson Haddix, Jennifer A Neilsen; Historical Fiction

2. Hanging out at the local movie theater. Going to the lake; swimming and riding on our speed boat.📽🏊🚤

3 Yes! We had a traffic light hooked up in our lunch room. If the light was red there was no talking during lunch. During 5th and 6th grade it was red 99% of the time.🚦🙄🤐

4 The tagged book had lots of great reviews!

#MiddleGradeMarch #MGMS @megnews @LitsyEvents

31 likes3 comments
review
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime
post image
Pickpick

"?? ????'? ???? ??? ?????? ?? ???? ??. ?? ??? ???? ??? ??????'? ???? ?? ??? ??????? ????, ???? ?? ???? ???? ???? ?????? ?????."⁣

A middle grade fiction novel that is partially based on the author's family history during WW2. Alternating viewpoints between three children, this book was unlike most other WWII historical fiction that I have read