Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Escaping Exodus
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
10 posts | 8 read | 16 to read
Harper Voyager Trade Paperback Original The Compton Crook awardwinning author of The Prey of Gods and Temper returns with a dazzling stand-alone novel, set in deep space, in which the fate of humanity rests on the slender shoulders of an idealistic and untested young womana blend of science fiction, dark humor, and magical realism that will appeal to fans of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor. Earth is a distant memory. Habitable extrasolar planets are still out of reach. For generations, humanity has been clinging to survival by establishing colonies within enormous vacuum-breathing space beasts and mining their resources to the point of depletion. Rash, dreamy, and unconventional, Seske Kaleigh should be preparing for her future role as clan leader, but her people have just culled their latest beast, and shes eager to find the cause of the violent tremors plaguing their new home. Defying social barriers, Seske teams up with her best friend, a beast worker, and ventures into restricted areas for answers to end the mounting fear and rumors. Instead, they discover grim truths about the price of life in the void. Then, Seske is unexpectedly thrust into the role of clan matriarch, responsible for thousands of lives in a harsh universe where a single mistake can be fatal. Her claim to the throne is challenged by a rival determined to overthrow her and take controlher intelligent, cunning, and confident sister. Seske may not be a born leader like her sister, yet her unorthodox outlook and incorruptible idealism may be what the clan needs to save themselves and their world.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
SW-T
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image

There‘s a new bookstore featuring Afro-Futurism in all its forms, written by black and indigenous women. They have bundles of featured titles, ebooks, graphic novels, merchandise, paper books, what looks like a full calendar of interesting events.

Here‘s their website: https://sistahscifi.com/

#scifi #bookstores #woc #diversevoices

review
Kenyazero
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image
Pickpick

Surviving inside of space beasts is not easy, especially when you're a member of the working class and risk your life every day to make life on the beast possible in the first place. I enjoyed seeing the contrast between the lives of royal Seske and her best friend (and crush) Nyla. The world building in this book is incredibly vivid as well. Maybe not the best read for fairly squeamish people. #Scifi #LGBTQ

Clare-Dragonfly Ooh… this sounded good until the last line. I am squeamish about some things, not so much others… but if they‘re living inside a giant living creature, that might bother me. 11mo
Kenyazero @Clare-Dragonfly There were parts that bothered me, but it was well balanced enough that I was able to completely enjoy the book anyway :) 11mo
19 likes2 comments
review
rachelsbrittain
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image
Pickpick

An incredibly inventive science fantasy book about people living inside giant space beasts that they mine for resources, following the future matriarch and a beast worker helping maintain the heart. Really fascinating and well developed with lots of strange fantasy elements.

4 stars / ⭐⭐⭐⭐

robinb #coverlove 💜 11mo
iread2much That is a lovely cover! 11mo
AkashaVampie Beautiful Beautiful Cover 11mo
47 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
rachelsbrittain
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image

Some audio crafting. I got a whole bunch of felt balls from Etsy recently and have been enjoying making garlands and other decorations from them!

GondorGirl Those are too cute! 11mo
DinoMom Love the color palette 11mo
Nutmegnc Love those! Great idea!! 11mo
55 likes3 comments
blurb
Soubhiville
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image

#curiouscovers: purple #littenlisten

I‘ve been excited to try a Nicky Dresden book for a long time, and I plan to listen to this one this month for my #audioathon. The premise is fascinating. And the cover is really pretty.

Eggs Gorgeous 💜💜💜 13mo
46 likes1 comment
review
Lizpixie
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image
Pickpick

Bk8 of May & Bk5 of #NutsInMay #readathon is done! I read this as audio on Scribd & loved it. It reminded me a lot of Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley except in this it‘s African descendants travelling the stars in living ships in a Matriarchal society where men are treated like women for a change(sorry male Littens!)Its quirky, a little bit weird but highly enjoyable with LGBTQ rep as well. 4⭐️ #LitsyAtoZ2021 #LetterE #Pop21 #PickYourPoison👇

49 likes1 stack add3 comments
quote
Django_Jaleesa
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden

“...the winner of life isn‘t the one who gets through with the least number of scars.” - Adalla

4 likes1 stack add
review
EliNeedsMoreShelves
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image
Pickpick

Nicky Drayden is definitely not going to be for everyone, but she certainly works for me. Drayden tackles some serious stuff - class issues, conservation, sexism - and they mostly receive adequate treatment, though to be fully developed I think a second novel would be in order, as the ending did feel quite rushed.
I don't know how Nicky Drayden's brain continues to invent these wild and fantastic worlds, but I hope she keeps giving them to us!

blurb
ness
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image

tfw all your holds come in at once. What should I read next?

Eyelit Come tumbling down!! 😄 2y
12 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
flying_monkeys
Escaping Exodus: A Novel | Nicky Drayden
post image

#7days7covers #CoverCrush Day 1

All of Nicky Drayden's books have great covers, but this one might be my favorite (so far) -- it's simply gorgeous! Designed/created by https://twitter.com/Seageart