Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
This Is How It Happened
This Is How It Happened | Paula Stokes
11 posts | 8 read | 13 to read
The author of Girl Against the Universe and Liars, Inc. plunges readers into a world where the internet is always watchingand judgingin this compelling story about mistakes, repercussions, and online vigilante justice. Perfect for fans of Sarah Darer Littmans Backlash or Robyn Schneiders The Beginning of Everything. After waking up from a coma, Genevieve Grace cant remember the car crash that killed her boyfriend Dallas, a YouTuber turned teen music idol. Genevieve knows she was driving, but because of what's been reported in the media, everyone assumes the other driver, Brad Freeman, is guilty. As she slowly pieces together the night of the accident, Genevieve is hit with a sickening sense of dreadwhat if she's the one at fault? While the internet and social media viciously condemn Brad, Genevieve escapes to her fathers house near Zion National Park to hide from curious classmates and intrusive reporters. But she quickly realizes that she cant run away from the accident. And eventually, she will have to come to grips with what happenedand her role in it.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
howlinglibraries
post image
Pickpick

4 stars! I had no real complaints except that the characters felt inaccessible a lot of the time. Mainly I just don't think it was anything super memorable, but I did have fun reading and would definitely pick up future endeavors from Paula.

Full review at http://howlinglibraries.com as always!

Linear "This is how it happened " is a more civilized way of saying "see what had happened was". And makes you seem less guilty LOL 2y
howlinglibraries @Linear 😂😂😂😂 I love this 2y
27 likes2 comments
blurb
charissharpe
post image

I've been on #Litsy 24 hours and I already have 22 books on my #tbr list! So glad I came across this little app, I'm sure this community will continue to grow and as a lifetime avid reader finding a #bookish community like this is just fab!

#bookworm #booknerd #bibliophile #bookish

Transientdrifter This is how it happened is a great book. I fully recommend it. I also really enjoyed Everything, Everything. Six of Crows is on my list, too 💕 2y
charissharpe @Transientdrifter I'm looking forward to reading them! 2y
Purrfectpages Welcome! It's addictive lol 2y
charissharpe @Purrfectpages it certainly is 😉 2y
7 likes4 comments
blurb
fanbookart
post image

I haven't read this yet, but the plot seems so exciting! #happybookbirthday

blurb
that.ending.though
post image

Happy Release Day This Is How It Happened!!! I love Paula Stokes so much! #mustread #tbr

charissharpe It looks good! 2y
35 likes1 comment
review
Jenryland
post image
Pickpick

I wasn't sure about this book at first - another YA amnesia story?! - but in the end I really liked it. It tackles a lot of topics, including the internet and how it both connects us and torments us!
Have you read this? Tell me what you thought. Also loved the National Park setting 🌲🌿🐾🍃

blurb
Lisa_lostinlit
post image

I'm loving this one so far!!

missarixreads That inscription! 🙌🏼 2y
Transientdrifter I enjoyed this book so much! Hope you like it, too 💕 2y
51 likes2 stack adds2 comments
quote
Jenryland

"My name is Gen," I say, hoping he'll assume it's J-E-N as in Jennifer. That's got to be one of the most common names ever"
lol tell me about it!!!

BookBabe Yup 2y
Jenryland Sigh. Thank you fellow Jen 2y
10 likes2 comments
blurb
TheLibrarian
post image
45 likes1 stack add
blurb
Transientdrifter
post image

Wanna win a finished copy of #ThisIsHowItHappened? For a chance to win a finished copy, stop by www.authorpaulastokes.com to enter the TIHIH Rafflecopter giveaway. Both contests are international. Both end on July 7th. Or visit her on Instagram for more chances to win.

#yalit #yabooks #harperteen #bookblast #giveaways #newreleases

blurb
that.ending.though
post image

This is a book you 100% need to pre-order! It's mega important and beautifully written 😍
.
#mustread #thisishowithappened #paulastokes #flatlay #booksandflowers #tbr #summerreads

50 likes3 stack adds
blurb
howlinglibraries
post image

ARC mail!
#bookmail #arc

This one sounds super good. I love a good mystery. 😈