Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The New Old Me
The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention | Meredith Maran
For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a lusty, kickass* post-divorce memoir, one womans story of starting over at 60in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her lifes savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maranwhom Anne Lamott calls insightful, funny, and humanleaves her San Francisco freelance writers life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Timesbestselling author of Orphan Train). ADVANCE PRAISE for THE NEW OLD ME: High time we had a book that celebrates becoming an elder! Meredith Maran writes of the difficulties of loss and change and aging, but makes it clear that getting on can be more interesting, more fun, and a lot more exciting than youth. Abigail Thomas, author of the New York Timesbestseller What Comes Next and How to Like It The New Old Me is a book I dont just want to readI need to read it. So does everyone else whos getting older and wants to live fully, with immediacy and enjoyment, which is to say, everyone. Anne Lamott, author of the New York Times bestsellers Bird by Bird and Some Assembly Required Meredith Maran is my new role model for getting older without getting old. Kate Christensen,author of the PEN/Faulkner award winner The Great Man* From the Hardcover edition.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
BookishBelle
post image

Started this one today for #lmpbc #memoirs group. So far so good! @Shadowfat @Hooked_on_books @Wife #catsoflitsy #petsoflitsy

Wife 🌹 3w
Hooked_on_books Excellent! And I love that you have a cat. My dogs find books from cat households fascinating. 😆 3w
BookishBelle @Hooked_on_books I also have a dog so they‘ll be extra interested! 😆 3w
24 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
bookculture
post image

It's a busy week of events here at Book Culture Columbus!
Monday at 7pm- "The New Old Me" with Meredith Maran
Tuesday at 7pm- "Save Room for Pie" with Roy Blount Jr.
Wednesday at 7pm- "The Fifth Trimester" with Lauren Smith Brody.

MayJasper I hope it goes well 👌 3y
61 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Lissa00
post image

I haven't been on Litsy lately because I am spring-breaking with the kiddos. Not much time for reading but I found this ARC on my phone and started it this morning.

93 likes2 stack adds
review
riversong153
Pickpick

This is not a typical feel good at the end memoir, which I appreciate. At the end of this book, you realize that happiness, love and life are a journey and not a destination because there is always something around the corner that will rock your world, for good or bad. It helps to realize that having it all together is a myth. Meridith Maran thinks she is making stupid mistakes, but she is just adapting to the changes in life the best way she can.

review
Suelizbeth
post image
Pickpick

Another ARC. I really loved this book. This is a journey through the author's grief and it really struck a chord with me. It is a bit of a slow start, but I soon found that I could not put it down.

27 likes2 stack adds
review
Lucindaisreading
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this book! My favourite thing about it was the positive message that it's never too late to start over and build up happiness from nothing. 💙💚❤💛