Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
X Marks the Scot
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
14 posts | 7 read | 7 to read
"For a complex story brimming over with pride and passion, betrayal, trust and most of all the power to make a bad boy a hero, pick up this read."-RT Book Reviews RT Book Reviews 2013 Reviewers Choice Award Winner for Best Medieval Historical Romance Declan MacGregor hadn't a care in the world beyond finding a soft bed and a willing woman...until he had to escort Lady Liadain Campbell to the English court. The woman needles him at every turn, but he can't just abandon her to that vipers' nest without protection. Liadain wasn't thrilled to be left in the care of her clan's archrival. It was as if the man never had a lady tell him no before! And yet as whispers of treason swirl through the court and the threat of danger grows even sharper, her bitter enemy soon becomes the only one she can trust. Twists, turns, and plenty of banter makes this Scottish Historical Romance perfect for fans of Lynsay Sands, Suzanne Enoch, and Hannah Howell. Bad Boys of the Highlands series: Temptation in a Kilt (Book 1) X Marks the Scot (Book 2) To Wed a Wicked Highlander (Book 3) What readers are saying about X Marks the Scot "The plot was intriguing, keeping me hooked all the way through. There are a few twists and turns that kept me at the edge of my seat. Never a dull moment, the story was excellent. And the ending was utter perfection." "If you love a marvelous Scottish adventure, then this book is for you." "This story is packed with treason, danger it seems around every turn, secrets discovered that condemns some and saves another, and laughter.....tons of laughter!" "I was completely captured by the story line and all of the events. Victoria had me laughing, crying and even yelling at a few the events in the book." "[A] story was so evolving that it holds you spellbound through each turning page." What reviewers are saying about X Marks the Scot "X Marks the Scot is brimming with sexual chemistry, humor and a stellar plotline." "For a complex story brimming over with pride and passion, betrayal, trust and most of all THE POWER TO MAKE A BAD BOY A HERO, pick up this read." "Roberts blends in just enough seventeenth-century English history to set the reader firmly in the time and place. X Marks the Scot is a keeper." "An amazing story of love and revenge, betrayal and hurt." "The plot was intriguing, keeping me hooked all the way through." What people are saying about Victoria Roberts "Victoria is one of the top writers today to find adventure, romance and highlanders in one wonderful book." "Victoria Roberts is an author to watch; her writing will keep you captivated and enthralled the whole way through." "An author who manages to snag her reader from start to finish." "Victoria has a true talented way of bringing the reader straight to Scotland through her written words." "Victoria Roberts's writing is captivating and makes you laugh." "Victoria Roberts is a very talented author who will draw you right into her book and keep you hooked until the very end."
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
Lauram
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

Late afternoons are the best part of our day. He enjoys the warm patio bricks and I‘m working on #LitsyAtoZ.

review
Nessavamusic
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image
Panpan

3rd book done for #24B4Monday and it was not good. I probably would have DNF it but it helps me complete X for #LitsyAtoZ. This mess of a romance takes place in early 17th century Scotland and tries to involve Guy Fawkes and the assassination attempt with a completely cliche Scottish romance. It‘s a mess. Next up Tiger Lily as picked from my #PopJarGame
@TheReadingMermaid @Andrew65

Andrew65 Great time 👏, bad book! 😔 9mo
TheReadingMermaid You are doing fantastic darlin!!!👏🙌 9mo
julesG Great time! And good review. I bailed about three chapters in, so you were braver than I was. 9mo
Nessavamusic @julesG Good to know I‘m not alone. I will admit to skimming 9mo
39 likes4 comments
review
daniwithtea
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image
Panpan

This book was pretty terrible, but it‘s my X title for #litsyatoz and was also my 100th book of the year!

JoScho 🎉💖🎉 2y
Lovesbooks87 Yay! 🎉🎉🎉🎉 2y
wanderinglynn Congrats! 🎉🎆🎇🎉 And apparently you need to up your goal! 😉 2y
31 likes4 comments
blurb
daniwithtea
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

Shifting gears a bit...this book isn‘t awful, but it‘s not great either. But this will be my final book for #litsyatoz!

Bookzombie Congratulations on finishing! (edited) 2y
17 likes2 comments
blurb
daniwithtea
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I was able to get this via ILL, which seems like a misuse of the system somehow, but this will complete my alphabet for #litsyatoz!!

blurb
emilyesears
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I read 5 books last month, 2 by women, 3 by men. 2 nonfiction, 3 fiction. 4 counted for #LitsyAtoZ prompts. My favorite was In the Woods because it was super engaging, while all the others were easier to put down. I have 12 books to go for my GR challenge and I‘m almost done with another book so it will be 11 soon. I have 7 books on my Nov TBR.

blurb
emilyesears
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I‘m well aware that I‘m making the #LitsyAtoZ challenge harder for myself by insisting that the actual first word of the title start with the needed letter. I read this book purely for the #LetterX prompt. It was ok, but I found I wasn‘t super engaged in the plot or the love story. I used to inhale romance novels when I was in middle/high school, but I sort of moved on after that. Can‘t remember the last time I read a pure romance.

susanw OMG! I thought I was the only making sure the title actually started with the letter. Before even reading what you wrote, the first thing I thought is, I can use this for X! Stacked. And thank you for finding an X title for me. 2y
emilyesears @susanw Yea for reading challenge overachievers! I found this on a list of “books that start with x” on Goodreads. It was about the only book that sounded remotely interesting. 2y
18 likes2 comments
blurb
emilyesears
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

The #readathon starts at 7 am for me, but I only just rolled out of bed. But I got my coffee and my book! My one goal for today is to finish reading the tagged book on my Kindle so it‘s what I‘m starting with. Got 3 books on my stack plus chapters of my textbook and my teaching books. I‘m excited to have today off—first Saturday I‘ve had off without specifically asking for it in awhile. Also, you know I had to use my large kitty mug for today!

Moray_Reads I love your mug 😻😻 2y
kathedron I so want a kitty mug! 😺 2y
emilyesears @River_Voice @Moray_Reads It was a birthday present from my parents! I think my mom said she got it at World Market. 2y
22 likes3 comments
blurb
emilyesears
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I‘m reading this solely because of #LitsyAtoZ and so far it seems very convoluted & simplistic at the same time. The actual love story is simple: each of the two characters think the other is super hot and wants to bang them. But the surrounding plot is full of intrigue and multiple dramas without adequate explanation. Granted, this is the 2nd in a series, but it‘s advertised as a historical romance so I think the plot should not be this complex.

review
sammisho
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image
Mehso-so

This book was what I expected it to be judging by the cover. Pretty ridiculous, but fun. Not what I would usually read for romance, but entertaining.
And most importantly, it starts with the #letterX.
#litsyAtoZ

26 likes1 stack add
blurb
Lauredhel
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image
LauraJ Nice! I'm only on N. 2y
Lauredhel @LauraJ are you doing it in order?! 2y
LauraJ @Lauredhel Yeah. It forces me to read stuff that's been sitting around my place for far too long. 2y
Lauredhel @LauraJ happy reading! 2y
Texreader All done?!? Congrats!!🎈 2y
72 likes5 comments
blurb
Lauredhel
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I'm reading this for X in #litsyAtoZ. It's ok: not my usual romance jam, but it reads decently well so far. And it's my 26th book for that challenge!!

@BookishMarginalia

julesG Have to give this a try. Still need an X and am not happy with my initial choice: 2y
Lauredhel @julesG I mostly have a squick about the consent issues, so if that's less of an issue for you, go for it! 2y
julesG Thanks for the trigger warning. I think I'll be fine. 😉 2y
54 likes2 stack adds3 comments
blurb
CocoReads
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

Spent some time researching what to read for my last few letters of #LitsyAtoZ I have most of them down now, with options to change based on my mood. X is still a mystery, but now I have lots of options by both title and author. Anyone else a post-it addict?

Karkar I ❤️ ❤❤❤❤❤ post its!!! 3y
CocoReads @Karkar They are how I run my life. 3y
Joybishoptx Post its are the best! 3y
42 likes3 comments
blurb
readinginthedark
X Marks the Scot | Victoria Roberts
post image

I've been reading a bit of this, and it's okay. I guess I'm just not in the right mood for romance right now. But I have to get the X for my 2016 alphabet title challenge, and it's so hard! Does anyone have suggestions? Articles (such as A or The) at the beginning don't count.

Peterdamien Read an X-Men comic? 3y
readinginthedark @Peterdamien Oh yeah, I wasn't really thinking about graphic novels, but that could work! So much more in the mood for that. Thanks! 3y
21 likes2 comments