Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The First Sister
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
Combining the social commentary of The Handmaids Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system. First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Marsthe same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sisters hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captainSaito Renwhom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when youre falling in love. Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Litos own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart. A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
quote
Nessavamusic
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

“The new fool captain arrives in two hours, so I sort my belongings and pack them into a small bag.”
#FirstLineFridays

review
Bookfan1414
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Pickpick

I give this like 4 stars, I finished it. I enjoyed it. But it kinda angers me. And I do have whiplash, just a little.

blurb
nitalibrarian
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

Brought home three books today - two library books and Sarah MacLean's newest for my bookshelves.

Leftcoastzen I‘m so envious of your card catalog! 9mo
22 likes1 comment
review
The_Heeler_Booklife
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Pickpick

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
There is LGBTQ+ representation in this book. The writing was beautiful and captivating. I loved the Sisters and thought they were interesting. I liked the three point of views and the different plots that all came together. I can‘t wait for the next one.
#bookstagram #bibliophile #litsy #littens

25 likes1 stack add
review
JennAndrew
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Mehso-so

I really wanted to love this book, but the early phrase, “strawberries as red as my lips” set the tone and it was a slog from there. I love the representation and quite liked some of the broader world-building ideas, but it just dragged for me. I‘ll probably read the trilogy because I am interested in where the characters will go, especially Hiro, who I loved.

rachelsbrittain Oof that is a rough phrase. Too bad too, because I'd been looking forward to this one 1y
JennAndrew @rachelsbrittain I wouldn‘t say definitely avoid it, because some readers loved it, but there were a few similar turns of phrase and a couple of plot points that kind of undermined others. There were definitely merits as well though, so I‘m on the fence! 1y
rachelsbrittain @JennAndrew yeah I'll still read it, but good to lower my expectations a bit going in 1y
12 likes3 comments
blurb
cleoh
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

I‘m awake before the sun (and my alarm) again, so this read is currently keeping me company. I read the first 100 or so pages last night and so far it feels like The Handmaid‘s Tale meets Illuminae, and I‘m so here for that. I like the writing style, and while the pacing feels a little slow, you can tell it‘s a slow burn that will have a good payoff in the end.

73 likes2 stack adds
blurb
cleoh
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

• The First Sister, Rebel, and Instant Karma
• Percy Jackson‘s Greek Heroes
• Goodreads goal is 52 books, and I want to read more of the books I already own before buying more

#weekendreads @rachelsbrittain

blurb
BookBelle84
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

I had an awesome reading month! Five star reads of the tagged book along with The House in the Cerulean Sea and Indians on Vacation. #november2020 #monthlywrapup #read2020

blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

I really hope I love this because I have 2 physical copies and one digital

review
CaseyTheCanadianLesbrarian
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Bailedbailed

I should have known this wouldn't be my jam as it's been described as a combination of The Handmaid's Tale and Mass Effect. Margaret Atwood style 1970s feminism that focuses on the suffering of white women is, among many other things, not very interesting. I also think it's very difficult to pull off present tense narration, and this novel is certainly not up for it. I wasn't even interested in staying for the queer content! #QueerBooks

review
BookBelle84
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Pickpick

This book is amazing! I loved every moment of it. It's a mix of The Handmaids Tale, Gideon the Ninth and The Expanse. It was one of those books I didn't want to put down but also wanted it to last. There was so much going on here I can't wait for the next one! Plus the cover looks like velvet. #mustread #highlyrecommend #bestof2020 #judgeabookbythecover

17 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Roxanareads
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

Goodreads bookmail 📖

blurb
BookBelle84
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

Super excited to start this one!

blurb
sbains1980
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

Obsessed with this currently......😊

review
Wanders.In.Stories
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Pickpick

This book deserves to be a bestseller....the author, Linden Lewis, makes use of first person POV expertly between 3 protagonists. Any LGBT romantic situations are real and not contrived, the protagonists kept me guessing but didn‘t let me, the reader, down. The action is beautifully done, the characters deserving admiration without obviously working for it. Let this author carry you along on an adventure!

Meaw_catlady Oooh!!!! I need to read this! Great review! 2y
Wanders.In.Stories ❤️😃 2y
10 likes2 comments
quote
Wanders.In.Stories
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

‘Hundreds of lives are lost because no one bothered to wonder whether the people who served us actually hated us for our treatment of them, because we were told they enjoyed servitude and we believed it‘. (Re: Asters)

blurb
Wanders.In.Stories
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

Just started this book and I‘m already drawn in. The voice is more mature than recent sci fi/fantasy books I‘ve read, and the characters are already dealing with their society‘s norms and expectations in their lives amongst the stars.

review
Lesanne
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image
Mehso-so

I felt like this book had a great premise with mediocre execution. Characters lacked depth, and while it was billed as sci-fi it seemed like a story that just happened to take place in space. While I give it points for introducing complex issues (religion, gender identity, racism, medical experimentation, sexual violence/consent, autonomy) the author could have dived a lot deeper in her exploration. I was interested enough to finish it ⬇️⬇️

Lesanne 2/ but I won‘t read the rest of the trilogy. Just meh for me. ⭐️⭐️1/2 #BookspinBingo (free space) 2y
TheAromaofBooks Great review!! 2y
55 likes2 comments
blurb
Lesanne
The First Sister | Linden A. Lewis
post image

So in honor of National Book Lovers‘ Day I had to buy a new one, right? Right? Look at that cover, I can‘t wait to dive in!

mdm139 A justifiable reason to buy a new book 2y
JenReadsAlot What a great idea! 2y
68 likes3 stack adds2 comments