Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Plain Janes
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
17 posts | 25 read | 16 to read
Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward.When artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved city life behind for the boring suburb of Kent Waters, she thinks her life is over. But then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with fellow misfits Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things-a shared name and frustration with the adults around them--the girls form a secret club dedicated to fighting suburban apathy with guerrilla works of art scattered around their small town. But for Main Jane, the group is more than simple teenaged rebellion; it's an act of survival. She's determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents' and neighbors' lives. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, the PLAIN Janes are out to prove that passion, bravery, and a group of great friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school. With each installment printed in its own distinct color, this volume includes the original two stories--The Plain Janes and Janes in Love--plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back. The Janes are back, and better than ever.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
sarahgreatlove
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
Pickpick

This was pretty cool. Again, points for it taking a while to read. Not my most favorite but not my least? I think I‘d love to see it in ink and colour actually. ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

blurb
ElizaMarie
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image

#May2021

Very cute graphic novel. I am surprised 2021 was when I finally found this one. I had “heard“ vaguely about it but didn't really “know“ about it. I don't hang out with enough people who like books (IRL) anyway, it was super good!

#12BooksOf2021

13 likes1 stack add
review
booklover3258
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image
Pickpick

My review of this book can be found on my Youtube Vlog at:

https://youtu.be/xubC7ZniuKA

Enjoy!

review
jb72
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
Pickpick

#bookspinbingo #justanothergraphicmonday #chunkysummerchallenge = total 774 pages

I wasn‘t sure about this one. It definitely had its ups and downs which added to the ending. I felt somewhat disappointed with the Janes after their summer break like they were sort of ditching Jane. But they pulled it together. Payne was a PIA for sure.

#5 for #bookspin

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! 1y
ElizaMarie I was disappointed too with the Janes but.. I overall really enjoyed this one :) 1y
jb72 @ElizaMarie And Damien? Wanting to just be friends? He really liked Jane. I‘m glad he changed his mind. But that asking to the dance scene was not very nice. 1y
24 likes3 comments
review
ElizaMarie
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
Pickpick
jb72 Awesome! My library has this one on ebook so I grabbed it. 2y
TheAromaofBooks Yay!!! 2y
ElizaMarie @jb72 ooo let me know what you think! 2y
24 likes3 comments
blurb
ElizaMarie
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
jb72 It is definitely worth doing! Other people‘s opinions of you is none of your business. 2y
ElizaMarie @jb72 Yes! I have to remind myself of that all the time! I shouldn't be thinking about other's peoples thoughts on what I do and how I act... Or what they think I should do and act! 2y
24 likes2 comments
blurb
ElizaMarie
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image

Started this one today ;) loving it so far!!! ART DOES SAVE!!!

#JustAnotherGraphicMonday
@Bookworm54 @AkashaVampie @AsYouWish @jb72 @AnansiGirl

jb72 My library has this on ebook. I may give it a go. 2y
ElizaMarie @jb72 yes do!! Its super good! I really enjoyed the whole “art saves“ concept of it! 2y
30 likes2 comments
review
writerlibrarian
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
Pickpick

A really good YA graphic novel compilation. Art does save lives, people. The first two stories written in the late 2000s are still fresh and offer a diversity of characters and treats PTSD seriously as well as recovery as a process. The new and third story is a nice conclusion to the journey all the Janes are on. #graphicnovel

29 likes2 stack adds
blurb
writerlibrarian
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image

I'm reading through my pile of graphic novels I accumulated this year. I've read the first two titles in this compilation of the Plain Janes when they came out. The third and closing chapter is new.
#graphicnovels

blurb
juliannebenford
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image

Read another short story, then started this collection of three graphic novels. The first two are re-reads and I have waited for about a decade for the third to come out so I am really excited to finally get to read it. I got about halfway through the whole collection before bed, will finish the rest tomorrow! #readathon

Clare-Dragonfly This sounds so delightful! 3y
juliannebenford @Clare-Dragonfly It is! 3y
41 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
saheffernan
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
Pickpick

This bind up of the 3 P.L.A.I.N Jane comics was very enjoyable. I liked the narrative of each story, I liked the theme was carried throughout each addition. I also liked that in the 3rd installment it felt like it had reached a conclusion. The art was good each addition was in a different color so that whole book was either blue, pink or green it could have used a few different colors but it helped to not distract from the message of the story.

review
oddandbookish
Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci
post image
Pickpick

I really liked this graphic novel and the story it told. The book deals with many relevant topics such as terrorism and PTSD. I was happy that the book didn‘t shy away with showing the mental effects that terrorism has on people. Jane‘s mother is the perfect example of that.

Full review: https://oddandbookish.wordpress.com/2019/12/18/review-the-plain-janes/

21 likes1 comment
blurb
kate_reads
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image

Finally diving into one of the ARCs I snagged at The Novl breakfast during BookExpo ☺️ The final book will include a brand new third story to this cult classic graphic novel series.

blurb
tournevis
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image

I saw a few #nofilter #nomakeup pics going about on here so here is mine. I never wear makeup anymore. Featuring the new background I painted for the new class vids I need to record for my courses. Of course, there will be correction applied to the vids I record, but no makeup.

reading_rainbow your glasses!! 3y
reading_rainbow i love them. 3y
tournevis @reading_rainbow Thank you! I love them too. 3y
See All 14 Comments
britt_brooke Looking good! I like your glasses, too. 3y
OrangeMooseReads Lookin good! Those glasses are fantastic 3y
BookwormAHN 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 3y
Hooked_on_books Love the backdrop and the glasses! 3y
Suet624 Great to see you! I haven‘t ever worn makeup and I‘m not sure I‘d know how. 3y
tournevis @Suet624 It's time I no longer want to spend. Plus the five-minute fave is nothing bit. 3y
tournevis @Suet624 nothing *but*. 3y
Suet624 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 3y
70 likes14 comments
review
kuhkuhbird
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image
Panpan

Neat premise: table of high school misfits combatting the world through art. So many plots going on and not enough character development. #graphicnovel

blurb
aneirys
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image

Birthday presents from 2 years ago.

review
aneirys
The Plain Janes | Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg
post image
Mehso-so

This was a short, cute and simple book that didn‘t manage to make me feel anything. I don‘t understand what it was but once I finished it I felted that I needed more from it, but not in a good way, it was more that it lack of something. At times it made me laugh, mostly thanks to sporty Jane (which was my favorite by the way), but that was it.