Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery | Barbara K. Lipska, Elaine McArdle
As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska—a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness—was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity. In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, even when so much else is gone.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Wife
post image
Pickpick

Very reminiscent of Brain on Fire, a neuroscientist has brain tumors that lead to physical deficits and behavioral changes. She recovers, remembers all of it, and writes her experiences. Fascinating to me that she remained very physically active throughout her illness, even during radiation and chemo treatments. 3/5🧠s

Kelican17 @wife we should really start keeping track of books we both love. It would be a short list 😂 2mo
Wife @Kelican17 Did that family not exercise, hike, ski, swim, run, marathon, Ironman excessively? And she made dinner every night. And when working, biked 20 miles one way. How did they find time? WTH?🤨 🏃‍♀️🏃‍♀️⛷⛷🏊‍♂️🏊‍♂️ 2mo
Kelican17 @Wife i have no idea. 🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️ 2mo
47 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Kelican17
post image
Pickpick

This story was extraordinary. Made even more interesting by the fact that the author is an expert on brains and mental illness- and she began to experienced symptoms of mental illness- and then could remember and EXPLAIN to the reader what was going on in her body!!! I mean, whoa. The epilogue almost got me 😥😥

Wife You seem to be getting into NF lately. This one sounds good. Scribd?💚 3mo
Kelican17 @Wife NF on audio only. Physical books i like fiction. 3mo
21 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
InnerSavvy
post image
Pickpick

Interesting story of a woman who had brain cancer, struggles with insanity and was able to fight through and gain her memories back.

blurb
Eggs
post image

This was 4 🌟 for me. Incredible true story underscoring how fascinating is the human brain. This was a free Amazon prime read

JennyM I enjoyed this too. It was pretty scary what happened to her. 6mo
75 likes7 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Eggs
post image

#thisorthat @rheareads
Thriller
Hard cover
Library
Haven't read either one
The Notebook
Ebook -- easier on my failing vision
@Pp0476 @wordzie

review
mrozzz
post image
Pickpick

Startlingly well-written & easy to sink into. Lipska's situation reminded me of Brain on Fire, though Lipska knew the cause her short-term mental incapacity. The most disconcerting part of her story is how she'd already survived breast cancer & skin cancer by age 64 when it metastasized to her brain. I so adored that she chose to tell her story & did such a good job placing the reader in her emotions & confusion/frustration as she lost her mind.

85 likes2 stack adds
review
Jen2
post image
Pickpick

Pretty good.

EchoLogical This sounds amazing! #Stacked 11mo
104 likes8 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Bklover
post image

Just bought this. Someone recommend it to me- I have no idea who. Anyone read it?

JennyM Yep, it‘s good :) 12mo
76 likes4 stack adds1 comment
blurb
JennyM
post image

5 | #HeatOfJuly

Neuroscientist Dr Barbara Lipska experienced the ultimate #BlurredLines when a deadly cancer spread to her brain and dramatically (and thankfully temporary once treatment started) changed her behaviour and personality. If you liked Brain on Fire, you will probably enjoy this memoir.

@cinfhen @BarbaraBB

BarbaraBB This sounds like an intense and heavy read! 13mo
59 likes5 stack adds2 comments
blurb
DeeLew
post image

So good. My experience with cancer makes this even more frightening. I sometimes worry that my cancer might come back as brain mets. I can‘t imagine how terrifying this was for Barbara Lipska.

TricksyTails 💜💜💜 1y
48 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
EvieBee
post image
Pickpick

I changed the curtains in my office and reading room. They were a tangerine color, but I found these pale blue curtains on clearance at Marshall‘s for $16! They really changed the atmosphere of the nook! I have been getting a lot more reading done in here...and I sped through this book! It‘s pretty good and just over 200 pages. 🧠🧠🧠

ladym30 Lovely colors!! 1y
kspenmoll Beautiful photo! 1y
EvieBee @ladym30 @kspenmoll Thank you! ♥️♥️ 1y
82 likes2 stack adds3 comments
blurb
EvieBee
post image

When your library hold comes in, sometimes you just have to drop everything!

#libraryhaul #currentlyreading #bookandtea

Drnkpnkprincess That cover for Rebecca looks divine 😍😍😍 (edited) 1y
EvieBee @Drnkpnkprincess It is! I posted a month ago when it arrived and included a link to the design and creation of it. You‘ll probably jump onto bookdepository.com right after watching to buy it! 1y
rubyslippersreads @Drnkpnkprincess @EvieBee Rebecca is still tempting me. 😍 Along with the beautiful spine of 1y
See All 13 Comments
EvieBee @rubyslippersreads I still need to read that, and it was mentioned on the What Should I Read next podcast this week. I really need to pick it up next time I‘m considering a short story collection! 1y
TheWordJar There is much to love in this photo! ❤️ The spines for War and Peace and Rebecca. And that mug! 😍 The tagged book sounds fascinating. I love books about the mind. Stacked! 1y
EvieBee @TheWordJar Aww thank you! It‘s my favorite shelf. I have been looking for the next BRAIN ON FIRE since that first was published. Picked up my hold (feel like it was in 2011 or 2012), first to read it, and finished it that night! It was crazy. I think I called into work the next day. So far this one is having the same effect! 1y
BarbaraTheBibliophage I‘m anxious to read this one. Author‘s speaking at a book fair near me this weekend. Hoping to get there! 1y
EvieBee How awesome! I didn‘t know she was so well-known in her area of study—schizophrenia. I hope you make it to the fair. 1y
Moray_Reads This looks so interesting, stacked! 1y
EvieBee @Moray_Reads I‘m almost finished already, which is saying something because I haven‘t finished a book in 3 weeks! It‘s good. 1y
readordierachel I'm eyeballing that colorful War and Peace in the background 👀. Is the cover as lovely as the spine? 1y
EvieBee @ReadOrDieRachel It really is!! 1y
Moray_Reads I just finished this one, it was fascinating 1y
101 likes7 stack adds13 comments
review
Decalino
post image
Pickpick

This was a fascinating account of one woman's diagnosis of brain tumors in her prefrontal cortex. Because she is a neuroscientist, her understanding of what happened to her goes much deeper than the average patient. She experienced a dramatic shift in temperament, patience, and self-awareness while also temporarily losing certain basic mental functions. This isn't a long book, but it is certainly memorable.

8 likes1 stack add
review
Insightsintobooks
post image
Pickpick

This book tells us how Dr. Lipska slowly descended into madness, losing her mind, due to three brain tumors, and her recovery from it. I loved this memoir and am glad I read it.
#ARC #Netgalley
You can read my full review here:
https://insightsintobooks.wordpress.com/2018/03/23/the-neuroscientist-who-lost-h...

48 likes5 stack adds