Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Dreams and Shadows
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
19 posts | 22 read | 24 to read
Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own. Something is missing from Ewan and Colbys lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons. Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
LiviaLauren
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Bailedbailed

Really thought I was going to love this but it was awful. There were times when the writing was so cringy I had to force myself to keep reading. I got 3/4 of the way through it because I was captive on an eight hour flight, but even then it just got to a point where I couldn't keep going. I have now put it on a community shelf at the apartment I'm staying at. Hopefully someone else might like it.

TobeyTheScavengerMonk I read and loved Cargill‘s movie reviews for years and was excited for this, but yeah, I did not like it at all. I powered through to the end and you‘re not missing anything by bailing. 3mo
LiviaLauren @TobeyTheScavengerMonk Glad I didn't miss anything. I always feel a bit guilty when I bail on a book but I felt like I was wasting my time. 2mo
15 likes2 comments
quote
LiviaLauren
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I knew I'd like this. It's somewhere in between Tithe by Holly Black, which was my favourite book as a teenager, and Neil Gaiman's American Gods.

blurb
LiviaLauren
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I'm was reading Sleeping Beauties by Stephen and Owen King but it's dragging. For me, it's one of those books that I have to nudge myself to pick up rather than one I can't put down.
I was idly browsing in Waterstones with my hubby today and this jumped out at me. I picked it up and was instantly sold. I haven't felt so randomly drawn towards a book for years and I'm so excited to read it. Stephen King will have to wait a little while.

review
RealBooks4ever
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Pickpick

This dark fantasy blew my mind! Violent, engaging, a whole different world to escape into! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💜

review
Squidapus
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Pickpick

A wonderful book about faeries and genies and storytale creatures brought down to a crushing realistic setting. Cargill's main strength is in toeing the line of dark/harsh and retaining some of the magical nature that enraptures us with these stories. While a very dark novel with quite a number of terrible events occurring it manages to never feel crass, for shock or gritty for the sake of it. Squidapus was excited to learn there's a sequel!

blurb
DeborahSmall
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Christine11 Such a pretty cover! 2y
TheKidUpstairs I just got this one from @Avanders Your cover is GORGEOUS! 2y
Avanders Oooh it *is* pretty!! @TheKidUpstairs 2y
ScorpioBookDreams But look how pretty it is!! 😍 2y
DeborahSmall @Christine11 @TheKidUpstairs @Avanders @ScorpioBookDreams picture doesn‘t do it justice, it‘s blue with silver through it ❤️ 2y
74 likes5 comments
review
Emmalibby
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Pickpick

I've put this as a pick but I did have a couple of issue with this book. Some of the characters weren't as developed as they could have been and the ending felt a little rushed for me but I did enjoy reading it on the whole.

blurb
Foragingfantasy
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I hid it so well under my bed I almost forgot!!! Love everything, @Frenican Thank you so much!! This book sounds right up my alley. The candle smells great and I will use the lanyard when I'm subbing! No more misplaced room keys. Happy Halloween!! #halloweengoespostal @BookishMarginalia

Frenican @Foragingfantasy I'm so glad you like and will also use everything!! Yay! 2y
Bookzombie 💝 2y
Gissy Love that of Sherlock Holmes! 👍 2y
61 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
sherryvdh
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

Taking a break from Wolf Hall to read this book I found at the library. It sounds like its right up my alley, but 60 pages in and I'm not sold yet. We will see what happens, since I'm not ready to bail yet. #libraryfind #itcanstillgetbetter
River is mad at me because I won't let her up on her favourite chair. It's pouring out and she is soaked from her last foray out there. #grumpymutt #beaglesoflitsy

review
Fancypants
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Mehso-so

Listened to this one. Thought the story was really interesting but a little hard to listen to because the characters got confused.

quote
Bindrosbookshelf
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
quote
Bindrosbookshelf
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I love rereading a fave and finding quotes that I like. This is one - I like how not only you do you get the story, but it's broken up in chapters that explain in 'excerpts' from research papers/books etc, the details regarding the myths and legends of the creatures that show up

quote
Bindrosbookshelf
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

"No one must know. No one. But the building was new. Its otherworldly inhabitants yet to properly stake their claim to the nooks and crannies of every dark corner. All the better."

Sometimes a new house isn't all it's cracked up to be...

7 likes1 stack add
quote
Bindrosbookshelf
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

Love the chapter title! This is a reread because I found out there is a sequel. It's not your typical fairytale and this relationship ends badly (happens in the first chapter or so, so not really a spoiler). I love this crazy book on mythological beings 😍🥀🦇🦄🕸🐲

10 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Liberty
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

Hour 32: Starting my 6th faerie book of the #36hourReadathon. Hard to believe it's almost over! But there's a new giveaway going on right now, and I'll have one more before the clock strikes midnight. Then I turn back into a pumpkin. 😊📚❤

Jessicav I just don't know how you do this. (Okay, I know about the Red Bull...) I try to settle in for a long read and I fall asleep in approximately 11 minutes. Never mind 36 hours... 3y
126 likes11 stack adds1 comment
review
TobeyTheScavengerMonk
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image
Mehso-so

I really wanted to like this urban fantasy about a fairy war. I've always enjoyed Cargill's movie reviews and was quite happy for him when his screenwriting career took off, but Chapter 33 was the first one in this book that I actually enjoyed. It got better from there, but it was too little too late. That being said, I will always give points for new ideas and an unpredictable plot.

(Picture is Austin, TX where the book is set)

TobeyTheScavengerMonk After the last time I complained about the overuse of "virginal" and "lithe" he used "virginal" again and "lithe" two more times. Every single female in this book is "lithe" except for one whose "figure could stop traffic". Ugh, dude. 3y
monalyisha I read this in an effort to try to find more books like Lev Grossman's "The Magicians." Didn't quite do it for me either. 3y
30 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
TobeyTheScavengerMonk
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

Hopefully I will finish Dreams and Shadows tonight (it has recently inched above mediocre) or tomorrow, then an ebook, then these #marchtbr @RealLifeReading #marchintoreading

Faibka I'll be curious to see what you think about The Vorrh, it has been on my radar but haven't read it yet 3y
TobeyTheScavengerMonk @Faibka I picked it up because of Alan Moore's praise, and that could mean one of two things: 1. It will be great or 2. it will be so trippy that it will be unintelligible. 3y
Faibka @TobeyTheScavengerMonk Lol, now I want to read it! 3y
22 likes3 comments
blurb
TobeyTheScavengerMonk
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I've always enjoyed Cargill's movie reviews, but I feel like something is just... off about his writing style in this first attempt at fiction. Kind of like a college student writing to impress the teacher instead of for clarity.

Anybody else get annoyed when a writer overuses a word? It feels like everything in this book is "virginal" or "lithe".

Leniverse Yes. In Ransom Riggs' books everything is "peculiar", not just the children. And in Lady Chatterly's Lover I think D. H. Lawrence has used up his lifetime quota for the word "loins". 3y
Moray_Reads @Leniverse and "fecund" *shudders* 3y
Leniverse @Moray_Reads Ick! Yes, that word is overused already on the first iteration. 😆 3y
16 likes3 comments
blurb
TobeyTheScavengerMonk
Dreams and Shadows: A Novel | C. Robert Cargill
post image

I read the author's movie reviews online for years and was rooting for him when he stopped reviewing to focus on writing films (he co-wrote Doctor Strange!) and novels. So far though this is just okay. Points deducted for such a lousy title and for the fact that he's used the word "virginal" 3 times in 60 pages. #currentread

TobeyTheScavengerMonk However it is cool that there is a character named Ewan because his parents saw Trainspotting on their first date. 3y
25 likes1 stack add1 comment