Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Murders and Metaphors
Murders and Metaphors: A Magical Bookshop Mystery | Amanda Flower
7 posts | 8 read | 5 to read
USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery. Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves! Niagara region booksellers Violet Waverly and Grandma Daisy sleuth the slaying of a sommelier whose book signing turned into her sayonara. January means ice wine season in the Niagara Falls region, but the festivities leave Charming Books owner Violet Waverly cold, still reeling from a past heartbreak. A past heartbreak who will be present at the annual midnight grape-harvest festival, and no magic in the world or incantation powerful enough could get Violet to attend. But Grandma Daisy, an omniscient force all on her own, informs Violet that shes already arranged for the mystical Charming Books to host celebrity sommelier Belinda Perkinss book signing at the party. Little do either Waverly women know, the ice wine festival will turn colder still when Violet finds Belinda in the middle of the frozen vineyardwith a grape harvest knife protruding from her chest. Belinda grew up in Cascade Springs, but she left town years ago after a huge falling-out with her three sisters. One of those sisters, Violets high school friend Lacey Dupont, attends the book signing in the hope of making amends with her sister, but Belinda and Lacey end up disrupting the signing with a very public shouting match and Lacey quickly becomes the prime suspect in the sommeliers murder. Violet is sure Lacey is innocent, and to keep her friend out of prison, Violet asks for guidance from her magical bookshop. The shops ethereal essence points her to Louisa May Alcotts Little Women, but what have the four March sisters to do with the four Perkins sisters? If she cant figure it out, Violet, herself, may turn as cold as ice. Violet, Grandma Daisy, Emerson the tuxedo cat, and resident crow Faulkner are back on the case in Murders and Metaphors, USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flowers enchanting third Magical Bookshop mystery.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
KathyWheeler
post image
Pickpick

This is the 3rd, and latest, book in the Magical Bookshop series and it‘s my favorite. I was surprised by some plot turns, but, although I was surprised, I wasn‘t at all shocked by who the murderer turned out to be. Since I finished this book on my walk, I started City of Saviors, the latest in the Elouise Norton series. #audiowalk

blurb
KathyWheeler
post image

I like this series and the main character, but if my high school boyfriend implicated me in a murder when we were teenagers and I had to leave town because the talk about me was so bad, there‘d be no forgiveness — ever — from me. Violet looks like she might be headed down that road. Ugh. #audiowalk

Reggie I will be thinking positive thoughts for Violet. Hopefully she comes out of it all ok. 2w
KathyWheeler @Reggie 😊 I really don‘t understand that part of this character. His whole family is awful too. Why would she want to get involved with that mess? 2w
24 likes2 comments
blurb
MaleficentBookDragon
post image

I really need to stop with the #kindledailydeals.
But I just can't.

review
BethM
post image
Pickpick

A delightful third installment that also provided some character growth. I‘m now team Grandma and Charles- I hope she gives him a chance!

Avanders I know me too!! 1mo
32 likes1 comment
blurb
Avanders
post image

An update on my reading… 🌝🌚🌝🌚🌝

And an update on my #cbbc #coffeebeanbookclub bingo!

nichollinlove Those covers are so eye catching 😍 4mo
Avanders @nichollinlove 😍 it‘s a really nice set of emerald tones (my fave colors 😁) 4mo
ShelleyBooksie Those all look so good! 4mo
71 likes3 comments
review
SW-T
post image
Pickpick

Sigh. It‘s always sad to close the cover on a book, especially if you‘ve been enjoying it. Looking forward to the next installment. Violet experienced a lot of growth in this one, and I‘m excited to see what‘s next for her.

#cozymystery

Tera66 Gotta love a good cozy! 7mo
SW-T @Tera66 Yes! ☺️ 7mo
CherylRussell Amanda is one of my favorite cozy mystery authors. So prolific, too. 😍 7mo
SW-T @CherylRussell I‘ve decided to try more of her books, starting with 7mo
26 likes3 stack adds4 comments
blurb
BethM
post image

Books 3 and 4 in the magical bookshop series are on sale!