Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Book of Koli
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
24 posts | 23 read | 35 to read
The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation. Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don't get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don't venture beyond the walls. What he doesn't know is -- what happens when you aren't given a choice? For more from M. R. Carey, check out:The Girl With All the GiftsFellsideThe Boy on the BridgeSomeone Like Me By the same author, writing as Mike Carey: The Devil You Know Vicious Circle Dead Men's Boots Thicker Than Water The Naming of the Beasts
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Erosenthal
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

Great series, all three books tell a great story that kept me interested in the unusual future. Makes you want go have your own adventure at Chili‘s.

blurb
LoveToReadLiveToRead
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

Book mail!!

Cathythoughts Nice colours 📚❤️ 1y
Addison_Reads I have the first book in hold at my library. I can't wait to read it. 😀 1y
LoveToReadLiveToRead @Addison_Reads I‘ve heard such good things, can‘t wait to dive in! 1y
51 likes3 comments
review
HeyT
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

This was so good. I had no idea I'd finish most of it in one day. It reads like an oral history memoir where you have to pick out the way of the world in the narrator's time. There's definitely a difference in culture and it's like a little puzzle to relate it to our own frame of reference. I had to go and immediately check out the next book in the trilogy even though it totally messes up my reading plans lol

blurb
Lucy_Anywhere
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

#TBRPile 📚 Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognisable landscape. A place where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don't get you, the Shunned men will. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He believes the first rule of survival is that you don't venture too far beyond the walls. He's wrong.

review
ErraticElle
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Mehso-so

An interesting dystopian with a creative premise & man-eating trees. The first half does a lot of set up, is a little heavy on the info dumping side & does bog down the pace. The writing style is a bit of a challenge to get used to & will make grammar sticklers cringe, but is character appropriate. The last half picked up the pace & took off with a run. It sucked me right in. Worth the read...hang in there if it feels a little dense at the start.

blurb
TheShaggyShepherd
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

Why didn‘t I jump on this the first time I saw it?? What was wrong with me?? I‘m a quarter through and holy cow, this is good. I love the narrating character!

BookwormM I loved this one must find out when book 2 is out 2y
TheShaggyShepherd @BookwormM I‘m loving it too! The Trials of Koli will be out Tuesday which is why I‘m trying to read this one completely this weekend! 2y
BookwormM Wow so soon must set myself a reminder 2y
61 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
dicey78
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

An epic post-apocalyptic tale that lovers of fantasy and dystopian will devour! The Book of Koli is a riveting story of human versus nature in a world where nature has the upper hand. Fantastic world building and multidimensional characters that are interesting and engaging. I highly recommend this one and can't wait to read the sequel set to release in September 2020. Thank you to Orbit books & #NetGalley for allowing me to review #thebookofkoli

blurb
Lucy_Anywhere
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

#TBRPile Day 11 📚 Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable landscape. A place where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if the trees don‘t get you, the Shunned men will. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He believes the first rule of survival is that you don‘t venture too far beyond the walls. He‘s wrong.

review
night_shift
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

I got this ebook free for review, but didn't finish it in time for release, mostly because I struggled with the language. The main character is illiterate and I just had a hard time with it. But, my hold for the audiobook came through and it was much better listening to it (though the man trying to do the woman Japanese accent was kinda cringey). Really interesting story! I'm curious of where it's headed so next book to TBR.

night_shift The Trials of Koli is supposed to be out this September! 2y
49 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
KimM
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

This is the first book of a trilogy by M. R. Carey (The Girl with All The 𝐆ifts). The second one comes out in September and I‘ve already gotten a copy through NetGalley. I would describe this as speculative, dystopian fiction. Society has declined due to war and disease. However some old tech is still around which Carey gives a very creative spin on. I liked it 😀 #TheRampartTrilogy

blurb
GrilledCheeseSamurai
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

I finally started this last night and couldn't be happier with the whole vibe it's got going on.

Moody, strange, and full of weird shit. Everything I hoped it would be. 👍

BookwormM I loved this one 2y
GreenGrl87 Sign me up! 2y
77 likes4 stack adds2 comments
review
Gadgetgirl71
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

Wow I just loved this book. It‘s just the type of book that I love to read, as it really got my imagination going. It‘s fantasy, post apocalyptic and Sci fi all rolled in to one. I can‘t wait for the rest of the trilogy to see what happens.

My Rating: 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My Full Review: https://gadgetgirl71.blog/2020/05/24/the-book-of-koli/
#Fantasy #PostApocalyptic #ScienceFiction #Scifi #Trilogy

BookwormM I loved this one looking forward to the next book 2y
9 likes1 comment
review
BookwormM
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
Pickpick

One word review = WOW. Recommendation = Read it!

GR mentions Station Eleven and Annihilation neither of which I have read instead I personally felt like I was back on a journey with my old friend Roland Deschain. The world Carey has created feels like it could exist on one of the crumbing beams that lead to the Dark Tower.

Full review here https://thereadersroom.org/2020/04/26/the-book-of-koli-by-m-r-carey/

TrishB Sounds interesting. Stacked 👍🏻 2y
BookwormM @TrishB hope you enjoy it 2y
Tracyantoon This one sounds so good! It‘s definitely on my TBR! 2y
45 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
wisebravegirl
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

Since Animal Crossing came out I‘ve only read *checks spreadsheet* TWO BOOKS so I thought I might do a bit of a reading challenge to get me back in the book groove. Each book choice here is inspired by a class taught at Hogwarts, but I‘ve sort of... forced some books to fit. (I‘m not proud of how I “sorted” Megahex but I felt I want to read it!) Can you tell which book is for which class?

sb3626 This sounds so fun!! 2y
Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick A Song for a New Day is very timely. 2y
26 likes2 comments
review
EKonrad
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Mehso-so

This dystopian sci-fi novel had a lot of faults (difficult to follow narrator, world that wasn‘t fully fleshed out, etc) so I can‘t really give it more than 3.5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️ #Netgalley #arc

Full review on Goodreads

review
whatrebeccasread
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

“The Book of Koli” is great and if the rest of the trilogy is anything like this, we‘re in for a treat! I engaged with the characters and felt fully immersed in this descriptive world. This was a strong 4 stars for me!

My full review is up on my blog now 📚

76 likes2 stack adds
review
Lel2403
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

I loved the world building, the fantastic creatures and the moving trees…although the Choker tree seeds that burrow into flesh and sprout are a thing of nightmares…I have to admit to struggling at first with Koli‘s manner of speaking…..written like a 5 years olds grammar……but once I got used to it I found it charming and fit Koli‘s character.

75 likes2 stack adds
review
Lostinagoodbook
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

Happy book birthday to THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R. Carey
Five-stars for this new favorite series
#bookreview #reading #sciencefiction #postapocalyptic #dystopian #NetGalley

Full review at: https://lostnagoodbook.wordpress.com/2020/04/14/the-book-of-koli-m-r-carey/

review
TorieStorieS
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

Not a window into a #Blissful future, Carey‘s latest dystopian fiction novel starts in Mythen Rood, like a small medieval village that relies on a few relics of old technology to keep the dangers beyond their village walls at bay. Koli tells his story in an oral history style which takes some getting used to, but by the end it‘s easy to root for Koli & also to appreciate his relationships! Can‘t wait to see what comes next! #BloomingBibliophiles

Catsandbooks Your little bunnyville ceramic is so cute! 🐇 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks I love bunnyville!! 🐇 2y
OriginalCyn620 Love the Bunnyville ceramic! 🐇 2y
See All 6 Comments
TorieStorieS @Catsandbooks @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @OriginalCyn620 Thank you!! It was actually my grandmother‘s- my mom has one too! 2y
Catsandbooks @TorieStorieS That's awesome! 2y
54 likes1 stack add6 comments
blurb
night_shift
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

Plans for today: going on a walk somewhere (maintaining social distance, obviously) and then having a solo readathon to finish/start these (plus an ebook, tagged). Later, going to spend some time on my #campnanowrimo story.

Everyone else's Saturday plans?

blurb
night_shift
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image

"I got a story to tell you."

So, far I'm not super feeling this YA post-apocalyptic tale. It's the diction, definitely, that's making it hard to get into. I never read Girl With All the Gifts, but I know a lot of people really loved it and I thought the movie was ok. I just think post-apoc has to do something really special to catch me now adays as there's SO many.

#FirstLineFridays @ShyBookOwl

review
Maude
The Book of Koli | M. R. Carey
post image
Pickpick

This was a bit of a struggle to read at first, the author made some writing choices I found distracting. The story was interesting enough that I did push through, I'll probably continue in the series but it was close to a DNF in the beginning. Thanks to #netgalley for review copy.

53 likes1 stack add