Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Lament
Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception | Maggie Stiefvater
14 posts | 56 read | 33 to read
FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER "Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel."Publishers Weekly(starred review) "This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series."Booklist(starred review) "Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life."KLIATT (starred review) Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhandone who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglassa soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunkyand equally dangerousdark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . . Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
Jeralyn
post image
Mehso-so

Not really my style of book, but I liked the author so I gave it a shot and I wasn't disappointed. It was a very cute book, and (after a little bit of thought) I enjoyed the ending (even though it wasn't exactly what I wanted to happen). Again, not my choice in the way of plot, but I did enjoy Lament. I do wish I was a little younger when I read it though, I might've enjoyed it more if I was.

45 likes1 stack add
review
glitterkitty459
post image
Mehso-so

I love The Raven Boys series by this author, but this was not nearly as good 😔 it feels dated already- pub date 2008
3 🌟 only read if you're prepared for teen drama/instalove -> pretty much Twilight but with faeries.

I think 13 year old me would have loved this!! 😂

blurb
Bookworm54
post image

Deirdre is so musically gifted, that the queen of the fae sends fairy assassins to kill Deirdre before her music can be heard by the fae, undermining her sovereignty.

#WeWillRockYou #WeAreTheReaders

LibrarianRyan ⭐️👍 13mo
42 likes1 stack add1 comment
quote
jpmcwisemorgan
post image
review
downtherabbithole
Pickpick

4/5⭐️ I enjoyed this quite a bit. But I had a love/hate feeling for the ending lol. I‘ll be ordering Ballad this week.

blurb
BooksTeasAndBookishThings
post image

#BookMail while I was out of town. I have the Shiver trilogy and Sinner, Scorpio Races, All the Crooked Saints, and of course The Raven Cycle series all in hardbacks by @MaggieStiefvater and they are all signed either from @FountainBookstore or from her signing at YALLFEST last year. These four I was missing, so I had to get in time for the signing in Nashville next month ❤️ I even had her sign Illuminating the Prophecy. These will complete me 😍

cariashley I want to read those Stiefvater books but isn‘t it an unfinished series? 2y
BooksTeasAndBookishThings I think so. They were hard to find to be honest, so I don‘t know if she will ever finish them, but I still plan to read them lol I have my LGP Book and then I am going to tackle these before next month 🙌 @cariashley (edited) 2y
Clare-Dragonfly I hadn't heard that Lament and Ballad were an unfinished series. I thought Ballad ended well enough, though it's my least favorite Stiefvater by far, and I think Lament should have stood alone! @cariashley 2y
Peddler410 One of my schools has The Curiosities. I did not know there was another! 2y
94 likes3 stack adds5 comments
review
vandeblogger
Pickpick

Basically just on a mission to read everything she's written, because I LOVE IT ALL

blurb
midnight.reads
post image

95/397
Anime distracted me so much in these past 2 days, it was like watching anime is more interesting than reading book 😣

#lament #maggiestiefvater #currentlyreading #readingprogress

Utopiyll 😭 I have the same issue! Sometimes I get obsessed with anime, go on a complete binge, and come out the other side wondering what happened! 2y
midnight.reads @Utopiyll i know right!! 😭 i just sit and watch the whole season and find out i haven't read any pages that day 2y
Kettarian_Chiffa Happens to me all the time. It's so irritating sometimes, just like why can't I balance all my favourite things equally.😬 2y
midnight.reads @Kettarian_Chiffa yeahh! It feels like i need 48 hours in a day 😟 2y
26 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
XinaHailey
post image

Absolutely love Maggie Stiefvater's work! Looking forward to diving into a new book by her! :D 📚

6 likes2 comments
review
amma-keep-reading
Pickpick

Another great story by Maggie Stiefvater.

review
MelissaWright
post image
Pickpick

💙

3 likes1 stack add
review
BookJunkie429
post image
Pickpick

Beautiful books! I heard a rumor a few years ago that she was working on another one, I wonder what happened with that..

8 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Pink-Jenn
post image

I love the fae and books about the fae. So I am quite excited to start this book!

BookJunkie429 I LOVE this book!! 3y
Hogwarts99 Ohhhh! I need to check this out STAT!!! 3y
6 likes3 stack adds2 comments