Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Hero
Hero | Perry Moore
18 posts | 29 read | 20 to read
Even though Thom Creed's a basketball star, his high school classmates keep their distance. They've picked up on something different about Thom. Plus, his father, Hal Creed, was one of the greatest and most beloved superheroes of his time until a catastrophic event left him disfigured and an outcast. The last thing in the world Thom wants is to add to his father's pain, so he keeps secrets. Like that he has special powers. And he's been asked to join the League -- the very organization of superheroes that disowned Hal. But joining the League opens up a new world to Thom. There, he connects with a misfit group of aspiring heroes:* Scarlett, who can control fire but not her anger* Typhoid Larry, who can make anyone sick with his touch* Ruth, a wise old woman who can see the futureTogether these unlikely heroes become friends and begin to uncover a plot to kill the superheroes. This groundbreaking and widely acclaimed novel tells an unforgettable story about love, loss, and redemption.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
TracyReadsBooks
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this book. In the vein of Animal Man & The Incredibles, it deals with superheroes living their every day lives in addition to occasionally being super. Enter Thom Creed who has two secrets—he‘s gay & he has special powers—he‘s keeping from his father, a disgraced hero. He meets someone & is given an opportunity to join the League, a superhero organization, & must make some difficult decisions. So good. (And Ruth!!!) Recommended.

RaimeyGallant Intriguing. 1y
18 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
TracyReadsBooks
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

The deep dive into the TBR stacks continues. Going with a Lambda Literary Award winner for my next book. It‘s blurbed by Stan Lee, Lloyd Alexander and Maurice Sendak which is cool...and promising. This is #10 of 50. Slowly, slowly, really ever sooooooo slowly, the stacks are shrinking.

20 likes1 stack add
review
Sarahreadstoomuch
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Pickpick

Finished this book! (I was 1/2 into it already). It‘s a fun & exciting story about a gay teen who also has superpowers. He‘s coming to terms with a lot about himself, while also trying to save lives (and ultimately the world). #24in48

Sarahreadstoomuch And just for fun - I have a fever! 🤒 2y
24 likes1 comment
blurb
Sarahreadstoomuch
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

My #24in48 stack, probably. I‘m starting out 1/2 finished with the tagged book.

Bianca I really liked Hero! 2y
37 likes1 comment
blurb
kathytrithardt
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

Some outdated language but overall the fun superhero read.

blurb
Bookzombie
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

#trw2017 #superherosaturday I read this book so long ago that I don't remember the details. I gave it four stars though.

EchoLogical I can't tell you how many times I've read a book only to completely forget everything about it. 😂 2y
Bookzombie @EchoLogical Same here! 😂 2y
57 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
Jas16
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

A friend gave me this book about a gay teen superhero. I didn't love it as much as he did but I am glad I gave it a try. I always love that this friend gives me the most unexpected books and knocks me out of my reading comfort zones. I think that might make him a superhero too. #superheroes #sizzlinsummerbooks

charl08 Definitely gets my vote as a superhero. 2y
56 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Bookzombie
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

#aprilbookshowers Day 27 I read this one six years ago and remember really liking the it. #masked

review
Foxyfictionista
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Pickpick

⛹️⛹️⛹️⛹️⛹️ Gay superheroes anyone? This book was quite fun. I've felt over saturated with super hero stuff lately so it was refreshing to read something that is a different take on the genre.

58 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Abby-J
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

This #headlesscover is on one of the best YA superhero stories I've read. It centers around a young man growing up and dealing with both the discovery of his super powers and his homosexuality. #photoadaynov16

review
writerlibrarian
Hero | Perry Moore
Mehso-so

Found the plot moving too slowly for my taste. The number of superheroes a bit confusing and the resolution too happy for my taste. Those are the things that bugged me a little. On the other hand, I liked the lead character, Thom. Strong yet self conscious, understandable since he's hiding from everyone. I appreciated his journey to being true to himself.

review
Abby-J
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Pickpick

#NationalComingOutDay is a great day to start reading Hero by Perry Moore. This speculative YA superhero novel deals with so much more than its superhero murder mystery plot. Hero tackles difficult relationship issues and the pain of coming out to an unsupportive family member. #diversereads

review
Yamich49
Hero | Perry Moore
Pickpick

Oh my glob this book was amazing! A fun YA queer superhero story? Sign me up. ✔️✔️✔️ This story was a lot of fun and had a lot of interesting and complex characters. It's a fast read and you won't want to put it down until you finish it and can find the answer to all of the mysteries that pop up as you're reading it. ❤️

Bibliogeekery You're such a great source for #queerbooks I've not yet heard of! 3y
Yamich49 @Bibliogeekery Haha I can say the same thing about you! We can enable each other's need to devour #queerbooks. 👍🏽👍🏽 3y
Bibliogeekery Ha! Yes, enablers! Team #queerbooks 3y
31 likes3 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Yamich49
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

Reading outside and taking advantage of the rest of the daylight. Isn't the view from our cabin gorgeous?

Riveted_Reader_Melissa Yes it is, that's beautiful! 3y
Bibliogeekery Lovely! Where are you? 3y
Trav Ooohhh so pretty ❤️❤️ 3y
Yamich49 @Bibliogeekery Fort Stevens State Park- right outside of Astoria, OR. We have this outside the cabin and less than a mile away is the beautiful beach. ❤️ 3y
Bibliogeekery Amazing! Beautiful! 3y
42 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
Yamich49
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

Powells #bookhaul number two! And the awesome water bottle I got as well as these amazing socks that are my new faves!

Bibliogeekery I love Flaming Iguanas and Ursula! 3y
Chessa So much good stuff!!! Loved Flaming Iguanas and Left Hand and the Jackaby series! 3y
Yamich49 @Bibliogeekery This will be my first Ursula book, but I've heard great things about her! And Flaming Iguanas is just a random pick from the LGBT section so I'm glad to hear you liked it! 3y
LeahBergen Crazy Rich Asians is fun! 3y
BekahB You got a great stack of books! I need to start the Jackaby trilogy soon. I've heard such great things about the books! 3y
59 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
juliej88
Hero | Perry Moore
post image

About half way through and I can't decide how I feel about this yet... Quick to read but sometimes a little too juvenile...

review
MandaRie
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Mehso-so

Eh. While I applaud Moore for his novel, I was taken aback by the blatant stereotypes of the homosexual men and male patriarch. While I can see the importance of this novel in the LGBTQ community, as an ally, I wonder if this novel is more hurtful than helpful. 2/5

review
taraolivero
Hero | Perry Moore
post image
Pickpick

Part of my "LGBTQ+ read-a-thon." Super funny and raw. Didn't really shy away from /anything/ and is a must-read for superhero fans. I can't believe I hadn't read this before.

3 likes2 stack adds