Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
vanesdigregorio

vanesdigregorio

Joined May 2016

Works in publishing 🇨🇦 Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/vanesdigregorio | Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/vanesdigregorio
reading now icon
The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst
reading now icon
The Tiger's Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera
blurb
vanesdigregorio
The Tiger's Daughter | K. Arsenault Rivera
post image

Currently reading The Tiger's Daughter - a beautifully written epic fantasy full of badass babes, a world under threat from demons, and some of the best damn world-building ever 🙌

blurb
vanesdigregorio
post image

Can't wait to read Arabella and the Battle of Venus! I loved the first book, Arabella of Mars - seriously, it was so good! And it also won the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy 🙌

review
vanesdigregorio
post image
Pickpick

Lindy West is hilarious, smart, and fierce. Being a woman is hard, but being a loud woman on the internet is even harder - and made all the more apparent in this collection of essays. From fighting to accept her fat body, to the vitriols of hate from online trolls, to demanding comics to cool it with the endless rape jokes, West proves to be a force, approaching everything with a wry humour. Highly recommend!

review
vanesdigregorio
Our Dark Duet | Victoria Schwab
post image
Pickpick

Beautiful and intense and cruel and hopeful and heartbreaking. This book - this duology! - was not what I expected, but in the best possible way. I remember not even liking the premise much for This Savage Song, but I am so glad I ended up giving it a try. Kate & August are two characters who will stick with me.

review
vanesdigregorio
post image
Pickpick

I will always love anything Sarah J Maas does!

review
vanesdigregorio
Last Namsara | Kristen Ciccarelli
post image
Pickpick

I seriously loved this book. It follows Asha, a dragon-hunter seeking redemption after learning the hard way that stories are dangerous – they lure dragons, causing death and destruction. Full of beautiful prose, fierce women, betrayal, political intrigue, and a forbidden love, I couldn't put it down! Perfect for fans of The Winner's Curse or The Hero and the Crown. They've changed the cover though, so this beauty will look very different!

7 likes3 stack adds
review
vanesdigregorio
Company Town | Madeline Ashby
post image
Pickpick

A finalist for Canada Reads, this book set in a world of enhancements and body modifications follows Hwa, a young woman with an ugly birthmark and no enhancements, who makes her living as a bodyguard to sex workers. When she's hired to protect the heir of the family who owns the town she lives in, sex workers start dying. A great SF murder mystery.

review
vanesdigregorio
post image
Pickpick

This book was so damn good, and all I really can say is that if you haven't read it, YOU SHOULD. Also, it's given me a serious book hangover.

[DELETED] 1409720085 RIGHT!?!? So good. 3y
Sktrue3 Better than SoC? 3y
vanesdigregorio @Sktrue3 You know, looking back I think I loved SoC a teeny bit more, but Crooked Kingdom does not disappoint! There are some seriously fantastic moments in it! 3y
9 likes3 comments
blurb
vanesdigregorio
post image

CROOKED KINGDOM IS OUT TODAY! YESSSSSS FINALLY! 🙌

vanesdigregorio @emilydecato It really is! 🙌 3y
10 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
vanesdigregorio
Empire of Storms | Sarah J Maas
post image

Got my hands on Empire of Storms! It's crazy to think that I originally read this on FictionPress AGES ago (when it was called Queen of Glass). So incredibly proud of Sarah! 🙌

TirzahPrice Hey, so did I! Hard to believe that was 12+ years ago! 3y
vanesdigregorio @TirzahPrice Right?! (Also, yay another FPer! Oh, those were the days 😉) 3y
TirzahPrice @vanesdigregorio Indeed! I remember devouring Queen of Glass one sticky summer. Most of what I read in there was okay, but Queen of Glass was among the best. I also remember reading this one story called Firebird that was incredible and I keep hoping one day I'll see revised version in the world, in book form. 3y
7 likes3 comments
blurb
vanesdigregorio
post image

Finally got my hands on this 700-page beauty, and I'm 1/3 through. And it's so good!

blurb
vanesdigregorio

Finally got my hands on this 700-page beauty, and I'm 1/3 through. And it's so good!

review
vanesdigregorio
Illuminae | Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
post image
Pickpick

From the very first page, and right up until the last, this book delivers. Visually stunning and intense and a definite must-read. Eagerly anticipating GEMINA's release!

[DELETED] 1409720085 I loved this book so much. I can't wait for "Gemina!" 3y
Angiecakes79 Yessss so good!! 😁 3y
Abby_r Best book!!! 3y
vanesdigregorio @Angiecakes79 @Abby_r Can't believe it took me so long to pick it up, but I'm also kinda glad - I don't have to wait too long for Gemina now! 3y
5 likes4 comments
blurb
vanesdigregorio
Illuminae | Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
post image

This book! Every page, from the dossiers to the chat logs to the memos, is amazing. And despite the multiple POV shifts and different formats from page to page, the story is fast and intense and full of feeling.

[DELETED] 1409720085 This book is so cool! The audio was amazing too! 3y
vanesdigregorio @emilydecato I've heard such great things about the audiobook! And that ending has me so excited about Gemina! 3y
6 likes2 comments
review
vanesdigregorio
Vengeance Road | Erin Bowman
post image
Pickpick

First: THIS COVER! 😍 Second: So glad that there will be a companion novel to this gritty, violent Western. From the writing (Kate's voice is so compelling!), to the lore & legends, I was hooked. Add in a girl dressed as a boy (something I will never get tired of!) in order to find the men responsible for killing her father, and you've got a great read.

6 likes1 stack add
quote
vanesdigregorio
post image

UGH the wait for book 3 is going to be brutal!

review
vanesdigregorio
A Court of Mist and Fury | Sarah J. Maas
post image
Pickpick

Hands down better than A Court of Thorns and Roses! The worldbuilding is fantastic, the characters great, and the romance is STEAMY. Seriously, this was one sexy book (definitely NA, not YA!), and I was all for it. Things really ramp up near the end, and now I'm anxiously awaiting book 3!

review
vanesdigregorio
Arabella of Mars | David D. Levine
post image
Pickpick

Airships, adventure, clockwork automata, space travel, and a girl who disguises herself as a boy in order to save her brother on Mars. What's not to love? This book felt like Jules Verne in space, and now I want more.

MrBook Great review and cool cover! 3y
vanesdigregorio @MrBook Thanks! (And yeah, I love the cover too) 3y
3 likes2 comments
review
vanesdigregorio
Arabella of Mars | David D. Levine
Pickpick

Airships, adventure, clockwork automata, space travel, and a girl who disguises herself as a boy in order to save her brother on Mars. What's not to love? This book felt like Jules Verne in space, and now I want more.

review
vanesdigregorio
post image
Pickpick

I'll be honest - I wasn't excited about this, and I certainly wasn't expecting that I would love it. Was I left wanting? Of course - it's a script & it's Harry Potter, how can I not want more? But even as a script, it felt like Harry Potter. Even though the ol' gang are adults. They're different, but not so much so that I didn't know them. Albus - but mostly Scorpius, I adored him - were surprisingly wonderful. Loved being back in that world!

MrBook Nice pic! 3y
vanesdigregorio @MrBook Thanks! 😊 3y
3 likes2 comments
review
vanesdigregorio
post image
Pickpick

Second books often leave me wanting (and not necessarily in a good way), but this book delivers! The stakes are raised, characters both new and old are a delight, there's crossdressing, and the worldbuilding is fantastic. Schwab's prose is perfect! Like the first book, it's a slower-paced fantasy, but that doesn't mean there aren't some great action scenes. The second half really picks up steam - and that cliffhanger ending! MORE PLEASE!

Merethebookgal Yes, I totally agree! Great 2nd book! 3y
vanesdigregorio @Merethebookgal That cliffhanger though! The wait till book 3 is going to feel like FOREVER! 3y
5 likes2 comments