Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
lowellette

lowellette

Joined May 2016

Your reading specialist: librarian, feminist, pop culture obsessive
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

The mind of Mac Barnett tops chocolate lava cake and that shouldn‘t be possible. He catches me by surprise. He creates delightful moments in his books that expand possibility. His new collaboration with Sarah Jacoby (whose illustrations I hope will invade my dreams) is such a treasure that I don‘t even mind that a librarian is the villain (the librarian did make the wrong call). Please read and enjoy even if you are an adult at heart. #nochill

13 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
Meet Cute | Helena Hunting
post image
Pickpick

A sweet and sexy romance between a former teen idol and a fan girl, except now they are both lawyers. One is trying to keep custody of his sister, the other is trying to get the opportunity to take on more pro bono child custody cases.

review
lowellette
Little Weirds | Jenny Slate
post image
Pickpick

Short essays from the mind of Jenny Slate. Perfect for quirky, sensitive readers. My fav essay was a memo where The Office of Internal Affairs calls her out for not living by the ideas in the London Review of Books article she quotes often to others.

11 likes2 stack adds
blurb
lowellette
post image

Sandhya and I hanging out at Minneapolis‘s Wordplay. She was as delightful as her characters.

review
lowellette
Daisy Jones & The Six | Taylor Jenkins Reid
post image
Pickpick

This was a perfect audiobook—multiple voices, heartbreaking story, twists, well-written. I loved how the multiple viewpoints led to people remembering different things (what color dress someone was wearing) and people experiencing different reactions to the same incident. Judy Greer was in particular a spectacular narrator. ❤️❤️🎸🎤

review
lowellette
Queenie | Candice Carty-Williams
post image
Pickpick

A Londoner has to deal with her past trauma as well as continual microaggressions. Loved the narration on the audiobook.

quote
lowellette
Circe | Madeline Miller
post image

"Beneath the smooth, familiar face of things is another that waits to tear the world in two."
-Circe by Madeline Miller Miller gives a master class in foreshadowing.

quote
lowellette
Naming the Stars: Poems | Joyce Sutphen
post image

I love how she captures how the end of the tragedy creates another feeling of loss.

quote
lowellette
post image

I love how beautifully she explains how complicated we are.

quote
lowellette
post image

I make a short story long so summing up this experience is impressive to me.

quote
lowellette
post image

Grief advice.

quote
lowellette
post image

The Bingo struggle is real.

quote
lowellette
post image

The power of poetry. Just a few words to provoke.

quote
lowellette
Collected Poems | Robert Bly
post image

My library handed out poems for Poem in Your Pocket Day.

quote
lowellette
post image

I saw the play on Saturday. This weekend‘s performances will have a very different flavor.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

This starts out like a standard YA fantasy (with some wild blood magic) but the last 200 pages kick it up with some interesting scenes. Slow pacing at times but with rapid moves as the book closes. The author draws on African myths to create a world of magi with different skills whose power can be taken away.

ambam1987 I‘m excited to listen to Tomi Speak at Teen Lit Con! 6mo
13 likes1 comment
review
lowellette
post image
Mehso-so

Best book of hers I‘ve read. She combines her research from other books to give solid advice, particularly on sensitive leadership situations. However, sometimes she suggests adding a lot of extra work that I don‘t see a lot of businesses having the time for.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Exploring intersectional feminism.

7 likes2 stack adds
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

I love a main character that makes mistakes.

7 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Loved this! A Muslim girl tries to deal with high school post 9/11. So funny and worth it.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

You will not learn about her acting process or much about her roles at all, but you will get gossip, relationship struggles, and sparkly Busy.

Chelsea.Poole This is up next for me 😊 8mo
7 likes1 comment
review
lowellette
On the Come Up | Angie Thomas
post image
Pickpick

Another great read! A teen girl struggles with making decisions when people misinterpret her motivations, many times with serious consequences. It also features fascinating scenes in the mind of a rap battler.A well-written teenage voice!

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
lowellette
Paradise Below Zero | Calvin Rutstrum
post image

His books are armchair camping delights.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Well-written toxic bachelor torture

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Giant Days are the best days. #onenightreads

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Adorable first love story. Perfect for Valentine‘s Day. ❤️❤️❤️

review
lowellette
A Bride's Story | Kaoru Mori
post image
Pickpick

This series is so great. Historical fiction, girls as main characters, set on China‘s Silk Road. This one focuses on the twins‘ schemes to find husbands.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Soccer legend expands her focus from the field to womankind. We were never Red Riding Hood. We were always the wolf.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Mists of Avalon meets Scottish history. Features Merlin‘s sister and captures the horrors of turning a pagan culture into a Christian one.

10 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Love!!! These Korean sea divers are part of a female collective that are continually affected by 20th-century world events. Fascinating historical fiction.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Hilarious! Especially her hockey adventures.

review
lowellette
The Girl He Used to Know | Tracey Garvis Graves
post image
Pickpick

An autistic woman gets a second chance at love with her college boyfriend. Their relationship is not easy. I have not cheered for a couple more since The Notebook.

Reviewsbylola I have this on my GR TBR. I didn‘t realize the MC is autistic. 9mo
lowellette @BookishMarginalia I have. And The Kiss Quotient. Have you read either? 9mo
9 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Fajardo‘s memoir of seeking out the family absent from her childhood memories takes on thoughtful dimensions as she explores what does family mean with her special circumstances. What should she expect? What role does she play in their lives? What do their cultures mean to her? How will she create her family?

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Fajardo‘s memoir of seeking out the family absent from her childhood memories takes on thoughtful dimensions as she explores what does family mean with her special circumstances. What should she expect? What role does she play in their lives? What do their cultures mean to her? How will she create her family?

review
lowellette
The Invited: A Novel | Jennifer McMahon
post image
Pickpick

A ghost story about a couple who doesn‘t realize they are building a haunted house. It‘s a spine-tingler!

14 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
Knights vs. Dinosaurs | Matt Phelan
post image
Mehso-so

King Arthur‘s knights overbrag so Merlin makes them take on dinosaurs. Cool illustrations, but the storyline didn‘t captivate me.

review
lowellette
The Poet X | Elizabeth Acevedo
post image
Pickpick

A novel in verse that will rip your heart in two. A great book for teens who don‘t understand their options.

Chrissyreadit I sat in on the authors session at The National Book Festival.She was an amazing and inspiring speaker. 10mo
lowellette She brings a powerful voice to YA! 10mo
14 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

Perfect for fans of Love, Actually. The audiobook is delightful to listen to as your heart breaks over a perfect couple who can not get together.

review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

One of the best parenting books I have ever read. Great tips for talking through friendship, bullying, and stress issues with girls (and boys).

review
lowellette
The Resolutions | Mia Garcia
post image
Pickpick

4 teens make resolutions, with a twist. Your friends decide your resolutions. Fun, Latinx read!

review
lowellette
Becoming | Michelle Obama
post image
Pickpick

Full of integrity. Michelle has an interesting point of view that feels real and accessible. She‘s worth your time, no matter your political views.

12 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
Beastie Boys Book | Michael Diamond, Adam Horovitz
post image
Pickpick

A treat for the senses! I absolutely adore the format! Tons of photos, stories (most from Ad-Rock), playlists, fashion commentary, video commentary, graphic novel snippets, and more. A reinvention of the music autobiography. Perfect for fans.

review
lowellette
Nine Perfect Strangers | Liane Moriarty
post image
Pickpick

Retreat goers come together to transform their lives. Retreat Director is ready to try out a new program . . . Moriarty is coming up with new ways to thrill readers.

review
lowellette
Mega Princess | Kelly Thompson
post image
Pickpick

Read this last January and forgot to log it. It was quite delightful, especially the sidekick!

review
lowellette
The Lifters | Dave Eggers
post image
Pickpick

A fun adventure about a kid with no friends whose world is collapsing around him, literally. An important story about helping in times of despair.

review
lowellette
Bridge of Clay | Markus Zusak
post image
Bailedbailed

At 100 pages in, I came to the realization that I just wasn‘t interested in this story.

heidisreads That happens sometimes. Also... I spy a Muir Lib barcode! 😝 11mo
lowellette Thank you, Muir Library! 11mo
Andrew65 I‘m at a similar point and struggling! (edited) 10mo
13 likes3 comments
review
lowellette
Good Riddance | Elinor Lipman
post image
Pickpick

A yearbook, a documentarian, a Riverdale actor, a politician, and a recent divorcée create a fun, entertaining read.

10 likes1 stack add
review
lowellette
post image
Pickpick

This guy is more about whimsy than anyone. I wonder how that came out in everyday conversations. Anyway, this book covers the life of a really nice guy. A nice pause in my day.

review
lowellette
Dinner List | Rebecca Serle
post image
Mehso-so

A young woman‘s dream list of 5 people she‘d like to have dinner with comes true. They spend dinner helping her deal with an emotional breakup, with each guest representing a part of her psyche (all are multidimensional characters but they serve a purpose). Audiobook listeners beware: the author reads this. You hear a lot of vocal fry and periods of no emotional connection to the words.

review
lowellette
Last Black Unicorn | Tiffany Haddish
post image
Pickpick

Hilarious and heartbreaking. Haddish covers an abusive relationship, attempted murder by her stepdad, foster care, her brief turn at pimping, as well as the people and opportunities that led her to A-list stardom. Her attitude and viewpoint during these stories is fascinating.

Jess7 Great review! 12mo
8 likes1 stack add1 comment