Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Long Weekend
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
18 posts | 19 read | 15 to read
Fast paced and incredibly compelling . . . this book will not let you put it down. -- SHARI LAPENA In this pulse-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Nanny, a group of women travel to the most remote place in England for a weekend escape, only to discover a startling note that one of their husbands will be killed before they return home--perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley. Three couples Two bodies One secret Dark Fell Barn is a "perfectly isolated" retreat, or so says its website when Jayne books a reservation for her friends. A quiet place, far removed from the rest of the world, is exactly what they need. The women arrive for a girls' night ahead of their husbands. There's ex-Army Jayne, hardened and serious, but also damaged. Ruth, the driven doctor and new mother who is battling demons of her own. Young Emily, just wed and insecure, the newest addition of this tight-knit band. Missing this year is Edie, who was the glue holding them together, until her husband died suddenly. But what they hoped would be a relaxing break soon turns to horror. Upon arrival at Dark Fell Barn, the women find a devastating note claiming one of their husbands will be murdered. There are no phones, no cell service to check on their men. Friendships fracture as the situation spins wildly out of control. Betrayal can come in many forms. This group has kept each other's secrets for far too long.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
StellaDz
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Bailedbailed

Well that‘s a big nope. I got far enough to realize that I really didn‘t like any character. What I got was just a group of whiney, unstable couples. Sure, stick them all together for the weekend and see what happens. 🤦‍♀️ The narrator also decided to do zero voices… which meant the constantly switching POVs were completely indecipherable.

Less than ⭐️

blurb
StellaDz
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

The next audiobook! Only 6 audiobooks (not including my credits for the next two months) left in my library! Can I finish all before the end of the year?! 🤷‍♀️

review
TheLudicReader
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Mehso-so

Just 🫤. Three couples are having a weekend away in a remote AirBnB in England. The wives are arriving first with their husbands coming the next day. When the ladies arrive though there‘s a message from a fourth friend telling them one of their husbands will be killed. Cue shenanigans. The book is long and it all starts to get more and more ridiculous as the plot unravels, which is the same complaint I had with her novel The Nanny.

review
Jemgirl2014
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
Panpan

Wow. Just wow. This is perhaps the worst psychological suspense or domestic thriller or whatever the hell it‘s supposed to be. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this book. The plot is thin, boring, and sadly predictable. I should have just bailed when I had the chance. I‘m just glad it was a library book, Money saved but time wasted. 0 ⭐️

blurb
Jemgirl2014
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

Reading “The Long Weekend “ on this three day weekend. It‘s okay so far. The way the author squashes the three main characters‘ perspectives together on one page is dizzying to my mind. It takes some getting used to. lol

review
janeycanuck
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Pickpick

A little slow to start but good long weekend reading 😉

41 likes1 stack add
review
bookandbedandtea
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Pickpick

Three couples are setting of for their annual holiday when the husbands are all delayed so the wives go for the 1st night alone. When they arrive they find a note, purportedly from the fourth wife in their group whose husband has recently died, saying she is going to kill one of their husbands. Their remote location has no cell service and they are cut off by a storm so panic ensures. Next day one of the men turns up so they all head back to ⬇️

bookandbedandtea ⬆️ figure out what's happening. The other men & the 4th wife aren't answering their phones so tensions are high while secrets, illnesses, & disorders are being revealed. There is an anonymous POV the reader believes to be one character but it soon becomes clear it's someone else. Someone completely psychotic. This kept me glued to the page even as I wondered if it was possible for a group of only 8 people to have so many messed up individuals. 7mo
28 likes1 comment
review
MysticFaerie
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Mehso-so

3.5⭐/5⭐

review
Booktroverted
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Pickpick

Wow this one was a rollercoaster! Lots of twists that keeps you guessing

bookandbedandtea I'm eager to read this but the library says it will be 3 more weeks 😩 7mo
76 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
AmandaBlaze
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Pickpick

Fast-paced, suspenseful read. The narrative style took a little getting used, at least for the ebook. A double space between paragraphs was all that separated the different third and first person narration from the various characters.

blurb
AmandaBlaze
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

1. I‘m about 1/2 way done.
2. I find I read faster in the winter and autumn as I like to read outside in the spring and summer. I get distracted by the wildlife.
3. Birdsong.
#thoughfulthursday @MoonWitch94

MoonWitch94 Yes, unless I‘m on a beach, I do not read as fast in Summer either. Thanks for playing 🌷🌷☺️ 8mo
24 likes1 comment
blurb
AmandaBlaze
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

1, Yes, I‘m doing my first buddy read with @WJCintron at the end of this month. Virtually as most people on here don‘t live close to me.
2. I‘m doing #WyrdandWonder in May, which focuses on the fantasy genre.
3. The suspenseful tagged novel.
#wondrouswednesday @Eggs

Eggs How nice! Thanks for playing 🙌🏻📚👍🏼 8mo
WJCintron 🙌 😃 YES!! 8mo
19 likes2 comments
blurb
AmandaBlaze
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

Tonight's suspenseful read.

review
FelinesAndFelonies
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Mehso-so

If I could pick a book to represent the "meh" sentiment, it would be this one. I had high hopes for it but in the end I was underwhelmed. I didn't feel any connection to the characters or the story line. It isn't the worst thriller that I have ever read but I don't think it will be particularly memorable. ⭐⭐⭐

review
wallacereads
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image
Pickpick

A couples weekend gone horribly wrong. I have read all of Gilly MacMillan‘s books and I think this is the best one yet.

30 likes1 stack add
blurb
nitalibrarian
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

Here's what I'm cataloging and adding to my library's collection this week.

blurb
RamsFan1963
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
post image

The Tritonian Ring (print)
The Dawn of Everything (audio)
The Glass Hotel (audio)

#WeekendReading @Andrew65

review
Mpcacher
The Long Weekend | Gilly Macmillan
Pickpick

This was a fun, entertaining read with the appropriate twists and turns that make a psychological thriller a good read. While the plot was slightly convoluted, I enjoyed it and stayed up late to finish it...which is always a good sign. The premise is three women arrive at a remote location for a getaway and find a note waiting for them claiming one of their husbands will be murdered. This won't make you smarter, but it is enjoyable. 4/5 stars.

4 likes1 stack add