Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry
Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry | Joya Goffney
12 posts | 17 read | 10 to read
Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is an own voices story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It's a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance. Fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before and Kristina Forest's I Wanna Be Where You Are will love the juicy secrets and leap-off-the-page sexual tension. Quinn keeps lists of everything--from the days she's ugly cried, to "Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud" and all the boys she'd like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing . . . Then an anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn't know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett--the last known person to have her journal--in a race against time to track down the blackmailer. Together, they journey through everything Quinn's been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
SanjanaGhosh
post image
Mehso-so

I think this book went a bit overboard with the 'Lists'
Also, genuinely feel there's nothing wrong in being organised.

review
sabrinaaluvssreadingg
Pickpick

Also, read this a while ago. The ending wasn't the best in my opinion. 4 stars.

review
DMC_run8
post image
Pickpick

YA contemporary fiction. Quinn has a lot of secrets in her journal in the form of lists. When her journal goes missing she is blackmailed to begin completing items on some of her lists. Quinn will have to learn to face her fears. 4⭐️ I love YA

6 likes1 stack add
review
kissmehardy
post image
Pickpick

I really liked a lot of the conversations around race and class that were held in this novel, but I wasn't absolutely over the moon about it, and idk why just yet. Quinn was a fantastic character, tho, and I loved Livvy and Imani. #yalit

blurb
Clwojick
post image

Freddy Kruger nails! 🖤

So far this book is really good. I‘m listening to a NetGalley audiobook, so the synthesized narration takes a while to get used to.

ShelleyBooksie You are.so talented! 13mo
Clwojick @ShelleyBooksie Thank you! These are nail decals that I made. I‘m not artistic enough to hand paint them lol 13mo
64 likes2 comments
blurb
Clwojick
post image

Listening to the tagged book while prepping some autumn nails. My house is already decorated for fall, so it‘s won‘t be long until my nails are fall too! Seriously obsessed with these duo chrome colours. #20in4 🖤

Kimberlone Love the colors on these! 13mo
57 likes1 comment
review
BeaG
post image
Panpan

I didn‘t like it. 🤷🏽‍♀️

Reggie Lol 13mo
BeaG @Reggie I don‘t know why. I think it took to long to get to nothing.😂🤣😂😂 13mo
31 likes2 comments
review
suvata
post image
Pickpick

• ModernMrsDarcy.com 2021 Summer Reading Guide #MMDSummerReading

A quick break from all the serious books I‘ve been reading lately. This one is really cute. ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

An overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It‘s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance.

57 likes2 stack adds
review
booksaremyfavorite
post image
Pickpick

So much packed into this book...cyber bullying, racism, friendship, lies, forgiveness, and so much more.

blurb
Missusb
post image
21 likes1 stack add
blurb
Missusb
post image

When you go from nothing to read to this. Plus a number of digital manuscripts. Whew. A busy three weeks ahead. But also yay, a busy three weeks ahead! #tbrpile #junerso2021

review
MaggieCarr
post image
Pickpick

Thank you @HarperTeenCollins for my #ARC

Definetly has Jenny Han's To All The Boys I've Loved Before vibes but has wonderful moments that really got me thinking... the more I read #ownvoices the more I appreciate the diversity I'm exposed to (I'm from a very homogeneous white community). I had never paused to consider that black people may not feel black-enough. Or be uncomfortable in their own skin. This was eye-opening and well done.

32 likes2 stack adds