Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#jpbookreview
review
Jess7
post image
Pickpick

4/5 stars! Highly recommend. I didn‘t know a lot about Ali Wong besides seeing her in Always be my Maybe, which I loved. I watched her two Netflix specials in preparation for this book, Baby Cobra and Hard Knock Wife. I laughed a lot. Some parts of sort of raunchy, but I still really enjoyed it. Even the parts that weren‘t funny were interesting. I even really liked the afterword written by her husband. Audiobook was good too! #jpbookreview

79 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Jess7
The Family Upstairs | Lisa Jewell
post image
Pickpick

4/5 - this was a confusing read for about the first half of the book. There were a lot of characters to follow, but it all came together around the 75 percent mark. Lots of little twists and turns all the way to the final line. Definitely recommend!

#lisajewell #thefamilyupstairs #thriller #suspense #jpbookreview #bookreview #review #thegreeneyedreader

101 likes5 stack adds
review
Jess7
The Night Before | Wendy Walker
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this one. It was suspenseful and I finished it quickly. Some parts weren‘t super believable, but I ultimately enjoyed it. Definitely worth reading! Thanks to @StMartinsPress for gifting me this copy. #jpbookreview #minireview #bookreview #review

review
Jess7
Pickpick

4/5 - I really enjoyed this memoir. She opens up in a way few celebrities really do and it was very entertaining. Definitely recommend. #jpbookreview #bookreview #review

review
Jess7
Layover | David Bell
post image
Panpan

2.5 stars - I wanted to like this one, I really tried, but in the end I just didn‘t. The plot was unbelievable and the main character‘s actions were even more so. Half way through the book I just wanted it to end and when it did I didn‘t feel any more satisfied. Thanks to GetRedPr #partner and the publisher for gifting me this free copy. Unfortunately this just wasn‘t my cup of tea. Full review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3058155984

Bette Oh my gosh I totally agree. I wanted to like it but it just didn't deliver, it was so preposterous. This is the kind of book that makes me sad cuz I could have been reading something good. 😟 1mo
ReadingisMyPassion I didn't care for it either. 1mo
62 likes3 comments
review
Jess7
Little Secrets | Jennifer Hillier
post image
Pickpick

LITTLE SECRETS - 5/5 STARS!!! - I devoured this book in only two short sittings! It‘s super suspenseful and well written. It kept me hanging on to the last page. It begins with a child abduction and spins into a web of lies and so much more. If you enjoyed one of her other books that I loved, Jar or Hearts, this is the book for you! Though I will say this one is slightly less dark than Jar of Hearts, but still ohhhh soo good! Pub date: April 2020!

67 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
Jess7
My Lovely Wife | Samantha Downing
post image
Pickpick

5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ stars!!! Omg, this book you guys is sooo creepy, sooo devious, sooo suspenseful, and ultimately soooooo good! I could not put it down this afternoon. Pub date is tomorrow and trust me if you enjoy creepy, twisty, suspenseful thriller you don‘t want to miss this one.

Thanks to @BerkleyPub #partner for my free review copy. Happy Pub Day (3/26)!

161 likes17 stack adds4 comments
review
Jess7
post image
Pickpick

3.8 stars - Overall — I really enjoyed this one and if you enjoy a slow burn type of thriller this is a good choice for you. Thanks to Park Row Books and Harlequin for this free review copy.

👉🏼Checkout my full review here👈🏼: https://www.instagram.com/p/BvUYKb5HtpE/?utm_source=ig_share_sheet&igshid=19gj53...

#jpbookreview #thegreeneyedreader #beautifulbad #annieward #bookreview #review #2019books

105 likes1 stack add
review
Jess7
Last Woman Standing | Amy Gentry
post image
Mehso-so

3/5 - I finished this book today, but it took me forever to get into it. (Hence the picture from early December when I started reading it.) I loved Gentry‘s first book, but this one didn‘t work as well for me. Parts of it were suspenseful, but a lot of it was drawn out and the ending felt far-fetched. The social commentary in it is important, but for me that wasn‘t enough to make me love it. Ultimately it was just so-so. #jpbookreview #netgalley

Jess7 📚 2/52 | Thanks to the publisher and netgalley for allowing me to read an early electronic review copy of #LastWomanStanding by #AmyGentry in exchange for my honest review. This book published 1/15 and is available wherever books are sold. #thegreeneyedreader (edited) 12mo
Jess7 Also — I think the reason I didn‘t love it was because I didn‘t have any feelings about the characters in this book. I didn‘t love, like, or hate any of them. I didn‘t think they were clever or interesting. For me whenever the plot is a bit slow, I really need the characters to evoke some type of emotion in me— be it hate or love, but frankly I just didn‘t care what happened to any of the people in this book. 12mo
Megabooks Thanks for the honest, good review. I liked her first book, but I think I‘ll just wait on the library for this one. 12mo
TorieStorieS I completely agree- it felt like two books forced together rather awkwardly... and I agree with your assessment of the characters and their likability!!! 12mo
139 likes1 stack add4 comments
review
Jess7
Pickpick

4/5 stars - First book finished in 2019. 1/52 - I liked this book a lot. I finished the audiobook a few weeks ago. It‘s perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell.

#jpbookreview #minireview #review #bookreview #youngadult #ya #simonvsthehomosapiensagenda