Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#coverchanges
blurb
LibrarianRyan
Undead and Unwed | MaryJanice Davidson
post image

All 15 titles from right to left. Okay I made a mistake with one because it‘s a collection of short stories.

Massive cover change when it changed publishers and went from a paperback to a hard cover. It also changed direction of the character to one I hated. I only read two of the newer style books.

#coverchanges. @Birdsong28

Birdsong28 Oh my god! What a big change! That would definitely annoy me 😠📚📖 4mo
limada Wow. I'd say mistake on that cover style change. I would have picked up the first covers; wouldn't have looked twice at the second style. 4mo
Gissy I like more the mass market paperback cover. They are cute! 4mo
61 likes3 comments
blurb
Birdsong28
post image

See how this series changes @LibrarianRyan not just place names as where she 'hearts' but that you see the woman's face and the people are more rounded.

Don't get me wrong I love this author and series but this does annoy me. #coverchanges

LibrarianRyan I see it. 4mo
37 likes1 comment
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

When book 1 arrived at my library I had to read it. That cover was just so gripping. Imagine my surprise when the paperback and book 2 came out. The gave book one a subtitle that became the main title and used a different aspect of the artwork inside. Then book 3 appeared with yet a new cover. My guess is to pull in adult fantasy readers who like LoTR, WoT, etc

Book 1 is a chunkster. But 1/3 of that length is the appendix that 👇🏻

LibrarianRyan You need to read as you go along. It helps explain the world building rather than leave holes. I absolutely loved this dark book. It‘s not scary like the original cover suggests, but a grand adventure for true fantasy lovers. YA. #BBRC
#Coverchanges
(edited) 4mo
Bookjunkie57 I love the “final” covers. Would definitely pick it up to read the back. 4mo
LibrarianRyan @Bookjunkie57 Well let me tell you about them. Its a hard land, not steampunk, but has a bit of steampunk feel, even though most machines are living things, or have living parts. When people kill monsters they tattoo it on their body. This book follows a orphan boy who takes on a dangerous job as a lamp lighter, and learns way more about real monsters then he ever thought possible. 4mo
See All 8 Comments
wanderinglynn I‘d be much more likely to pick up the 3 set than either the original or the second set. Same for the renaming. To me, the original title, combined with the cover art, seems to fall more in the horror category, which I shy away from. 4mo
Bookjunkie57 @LibrarianRyan funny enough my library has the first and second covers but not the third. 4mo
LibrarianRyan @wanderinglynn I was expecting horror when I originally read it. I think the second covers actually go to the series best. It‘s the authors original artwork. (edited) 4mo
LibrarianRyan @Bookjunkie57 that was pretty common. Very few libraries seem to have book 3. 4mo
wanderinglynn You made me curious, so I‘m going to have to check them out now. 4mo
53 likes5 stack adds8 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

Gail Carson Levine wrote the original Disney Fairy book (tagged). It sun off an early chapter book series which was In full color. The original quest for the egg book had samples of the interior pictures on the cover, but the paper back and following two booms had full cover illustrations.

MG
#BBRC
#Coverchanges

Sunraven Ooh, the artwork on the new cover is really pretty. Insta-library-requested that just to look at pretty things ... 😉 4mo
LibrarianRyan @Sunraven I read the original quest for the egg and quite enjoyed it. I have not read the other two. However I have read every book in the chapter book series. They are all really sweet 4mo
Sunraven Looking forward to checking it out! 😁 4mo
43 likes3 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
Ember in the Ashes | Sabaa Tahir
post image

According to her own twitter post, the author asked for this cover change at book three and as the series continues. As an AoC she felt it important that her books represent her in image as well as words. She wanted the diversity in the pages seen on the cover as well.

YA
#BBRC
#Coverchanges

Sweetkokoro Is that larger image the original cover? I have seen the red version with the girl numerous times and it just doesn‘t grab me. That other cover though would have pulled me into checking it out. 4mo
LibrarianRyan @Sweetkokoro Yes the large cover is the original cover. Book two was similar with a blue cover. Books three (the green one on the bottom right) was the first in the new covers, and the rereleased the other books in that style as well. 4mo
Sweetkokoro Dang I wish they kept with the original look. The newer covers just look like so many other YA books on the market so they arent eye catching for me, while the original stood out. (edited) 4mo
See All 6 Comments
LibrarianRyan @Sweetkokoro I agree. But I also see the authors point. The newer covers show the middle eastern or maybe Indian (i can not remember which) ethnicity of the characters. 4mo
Sweetkokoro Yah i can see that too, but it still gets lost in the sea of other covers that have a similar style, regardless of what the people look like. Its doesn‘t stand out so people like me, look it over because its boring and been done before, you know. 4mo
LibrarianRyan @Sweetkokoro Compleatly agree. With middle grade they are trying to hard to make so many books look similar to TLT that it becomes a see of blandness. 4mo
60 likes1 stack add6 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
The Diviners | Libba Bray
post image

This is an obvious post for many YA readers. There are numerous years between books meaning each new edition gets a new cover reimagining.

YA
#BBRC
#Coverchanges

blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

What a high adventure series without a long commitment? Ridley Pearson bring his adult thriller formula to MG books for this duo. The challenge is book 1

#BBRC
#Coverchanges

blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

Mr. Lemoncello gotta giver change at book 4. The new covers are simpler than the original covers.

MG
#BBRC
#Coverchanges

blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

I read and loved this book by the black cover alone. I never bothered reading the dust jacket, and it did NOT have the subtitle Disney after dark in the second printing of book 1 in hardcover the subtitle was added in black under the original title. No idea why the changed the cover. It was a successful book. And I personally hated the covers of book 2 and three. The covers got changed again at book 4. Originally this was 👇🏻

LibrarianRyan A trilogy but so many people were annoyed at the big baddie that three more books were added. And now there is even a spin off series. If you are a fan of Disney land you have to read these books. . #BBRC
#Coverchanges
4mo
mom2bugnbee The copy my kids had is completely different! The top half was the eyes of a villain (Maleficent? Ursula?) & the bottom was drawings of the kids. We don't have the book anymore, or I'd post a picture. 4mo
LibrarianRyan @mom2bugnbee yep. That is the cover change when they brought out books 4-6. It was just supposed to be a trilogy. 4mo
35 likes3 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

I like the second covers better on this series.

MG
#BBRC
#Coverchanges