Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou
The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou | Eleni Kyriacou
5 posts | 6 read | 18 to read
'Tense. Moving. Morally complex. Zina Pavlou is wholly unforgettable.' Rachel Rhys'Hugely powerful... Easily one of the best books you'll read this year.' Emma ChristieTHEY HAVE TOLD SO MANY LIES ABOUT ME.London, 1954. Zina Pavlou, a Cypriot grandmother, waits quietly in the custody of the Metropolitan police. She can't speak their language, but she understands what their wary looks mean: she has been accused of the brutal murder of her daughter-in-law.Eva Georgiou, Greek interpreter for the Met, knows how it feels to be voiceless as an immigrant woman. While she works as Zina's translator, her obsession with the case deepens, and so too does her bond with the accused murderer.Zina can't speak for herself. She can't clear her own name. All she can do is wait for the world to decide...IS SHE A VICTIM? OR IS SHE A KILLER?A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London - that's inspired by a true story - The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou is perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Sara Collins, and Jessie Burton.'A brilliantly crafted story of two women... and an absolute page-turner' Louise Hare'Immersive, gripping, authentic' Erin Kelly'Chilling, gripping' Nikki Smith'Zina and Eva will stay with me a long, long time' Louise Fein'A gripping true-crime drama... Kyriacou's complex, perceptive and moving narrative brings these devastating events vividly to life' Philippa East'Prepare to become obsessed with Zina Pavlou!' Louise Mumford'Storytelling of the highest order... Really powerful' Leonora Nattrass'Eleni Kyriacou is a writer of immense talent... A captivating and important story written by an author at the top of her game' Victoria Dowd'A terrific re-imagining of a historical true crime case... A gripping thriller' Trevor Wood
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Tamra
post image

Heads-up! $1.99 on Kindle in the US. 😁

Based on the blurb and reviews, looks to be a compelling read.

squirrelbrain It‘s a great book! 1mo
Tamra @squirrelbrain I saw you liked it. 😄 1mo
MicheleinPhilly I loved this one too! 1mo
See All 12 Comments
Tamra @squirrelbrain @MicheleinPhilly did you see she has a new novel out? I think that is why this one is on sale. (edited) 1mo
Aimeesue Sounds excellent! Just picked it up! 1mo
Cathythoughts Oh I really enjoyed this one. Great deal for you 👍🏻❤️ 1mo
Cathythoughts A new novel out ? I must investigate immediately ❤️ 1mo
Tamra @Cathythoughts @squirrelbrain @MicheleinPhilly my mistake! So sorry to get your hopes up, I misread the date! 😏 1mo
Cathythoughts Sounds just like something I‘d do 😁 1mo
Tamra @Cathythoughts 😅 I‘m so glad I‘m not alone! I didn‘t see you had already read this one. That‘s funny because I thought you might like it when I read the blurb. 😆 1mo
Tamra @Aimeesue 👏🏾👏🏾 1mo
Cathythoughts I didn‘t put up a review at the time… I have a few reviews I must catch up on 🙈 but you thought right , I liked it 😘 1mo
57 likes12 comments
review
Caroline2
post image
Pickpick

A true crime story of the penultimate woman hanged in Britain in the 1950s. It kept me guessing right up to the end. Fascinating and gripping. Thanks for getting this for me Helen @squirrelbrain

squirrelbrain Glad you loved it too! 1mo
Tamra Thanks for posting - sounds great! 1mo
Breanne1 Just bought this bc of your review. Also it‘s currently $1.99 for those interested. 1mo
89 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
MicheleinPhilly
post image
Pickpick

A true crime fictionalization that rather snuck up on me. I knew nothing about the case itself (and recommend going in blind) but the care with which Kyriacou drew these characters was really something. It‘s a gripping page-turner but it‘s also just a really lovely character study and a damning indictment of the British justice system. 👍🏼

squirrelbrain Such a good book - and definitely don‘t try to read about the real-life case beforehand. 2mo
TrishB I enjoyed this one too 👍🏻 2mo
LeahBergen Stacked! And I know nothing about this case, so 👍 2mo
46 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
TrishB
post image
Pickpick

Put this on my Christmas list after @squirrelbrain review! Really enjoyed it, yes it‘s a crime novel, but there‘s a lot more to the story.
Based on a true story, but I hadn‘t heard of it anyway. But have read up on since finishing.

squirrelbrain Glad you liked it. I didn‘t read about the actual events until after, but they did a huge spoiler on Between the Covers on BBC2! 4mo
TrishB @squirrelbrain glad I didn‘t see any spoilers! 3mo
69 likes4 stack adds2 comments
review
squirrelbrain
post image
Pickpick

I only requested this from #netgalley as it features on the upcoming BBC series of Between The Covers. I thought from the cover that it would be a fairly standard crime novel and wasn‘t overly inspired to read it. (But #listcompletist here! 👋)

Once I started it though, I couldn‘t put it down. Based on a true story (don‘t Google it though…spoilers!) we see Zina, a recent Cypriot immigrant to London who hardly speaks any English, accused of a ⬇️

squirrelbrain ….terrible crime. Eva, also an immigrant Greek speaker, becomes her translator and starts to grow closer to Zina. Both women have traumas in their past which we learn about as we follow the court case right through to its conclusion. Highly recommended. 6mo
squirrelbrain Published in the UK 9th Nov. #unspeakableactsofzinap 6mo
TrishB Looks good 👍🏻 6mo
See All 7 Comments
BarbaraBB Definitely looking good! 6mo
Cathythoughts Sounds good. Stacked 6mo
Caroline2 Looking forward to getting to this one!! 😀 6mo
59 likes4 stack adds7 comments