Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Everything Is Fine: A Memoir
Everything Is Fine: A Memoir | Vince Granata
13 posts | 8 read | 22 to read
In this extraordinarily moving memoir about grief, mental illness, and the bonds of family, a writer delves into the tragedy of his mother's violent death at the hands of his brother who struggled with schizophrenia. Perfect for fans of An Unquiet Mind and The Bright Hour. Vince Granata remembers standing in front of his suburban home in Connecticut the day his mother and father returned from the hospital with his three new siblings in tow. He had just finished scrawling their names in orange chalk on the driveway: Christopher, Timothy, and Elizabeth. Twenty-three years later, Vince was a thousand miles away when he received shocking news that would change his life--his younger brother, Tim, propelled by unchecked schizophrenia, had killed their mother in their childhood home. Not only devastated by the grief of losing his mother, Vince is consumed by the act itself, so incomprehensible that it overshadows every happy memory of life growing up in a seemingly idyllic middle-class family. In an extraordinary feat of willpower, he decides to examine the disease that irrecoverably changed his family's destiny and piece together his brother's story. In this vibrant combination of personal memoir and journalism, Vince begins the painstaking process of recovering the image of his remarkable mother and salvaging the love for his brother as he faces trial for their mother's murder. Written in stark, precise, and beautiful prose, Everything Is Fine is a powerful and reaffirming portrait of loss and forgiveness.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
peacegypsy
post image

This will be a hard read, but I hope it teaches others more about mental illness.

26 likes3 stack adds
review
Amiable
post image
Pickpick

A beautifully written account of a horrible tragedy. In 2014, the author‘s mother was killed by his brother who was struggling with schizophrenia. The memoir delves into grief, mental illness, what it means to be a family and how to process loss and move forward in the aftermath.

review
Chelsea.Poole
post image
Pickpick

Vince Granata is the big brother to triplets. Tragically, one of his younger siblings develops mental illness. Tim goes through bouts of depression, suicidal thoughts, and delusions. Tim lives at home with his parents as a young adult, while his siblings go out into the world. One day, miles away from home Vince receives the most horrific phone call of his life: the news that his mother has been killed by his brother.

EvieBee Okay. What a review! I‘ll have to check it out. 1mo
70 likes3 stack adds1 comment
review
Cinfhen
post image
Pickpick

A profoundly sad memoir, beautifully recalled and shared. Vince Granata tells the story of his younger brother, a triplet, who in the midst of a psychotic episode stabs and kills their beloved mother. It‘s a “hard” book to enjoy and critique as this story is so raw and painful. This was a birthday gift from my wonderful and generous friend @TrishB ♥️♥️♥️ Less informative than Hidden Valley Road but still an important look at schizophrenia.

Suet624 Wow. That‘s intense. 3mo
Cinfhen Yup @Suet624 you can‘t really ever recover from that 😭😢💔 3mo
TrishB I think maybe too sad and real life true! 3mo
Cinfhen Sooooo sad @TrishB to live with that family history is very difficult/ 3mo
79 likes4 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
post image

THANK YOU SO MUCH @TrishB I LOVE LOVE LOVE my birthday gifts 🎁 💕🤩💕🎉 I‘m really glad you made me wait until today to open them❣️ I‘m BEYOND EXCITED for BOTH books and all the lovely extras😘😘🥰

merelybookish Happy Birthday Cindy! I hope you are well feted! 🥳🎁🎂🎈🎉🦄 7mo
Cinfhen Thanks so much @merelybookish the Litsy fairies are on it!!! I‘m feeling very spoilt ☺️ 7mo
JennyM Happy birthday Cindy! Hope you have a lovely day celebrating and being spoilt 😘 7mo
See All 17 Comments
BarbaraBB Lovely gift! 7mo
squirrelbrain Lovely gifts! ❤️ 7mo
TrishB Happy birthday 🎉🎉 🎂 have the best day! And I‘m just so relieved you haven‘t read the books! 7mo
Cinfhen You TOTALLY nailed it @TrishB xxx 7mo
TrishB 😘👍🏻 enjoy! 7mo
britt_brooke So nice! Happy birthday, Cindy! 💚 7mo
Cinfhen Thanks @britt_brooke ☺️Feeling very spoilt today xx 7mo
Centique Happy birthday Cindy!! I am so glad you are being spoilt! I wanted to send you something but I have totally lost faith in the mail system after last time. Maybe I should try shopping online with a shop that‘s local to you - send me an email if you can think of one? 💕💕💕 7mo
Cinfhen Thank you my sweet, Flea!!! Your warm wishes are truly enough xxxx thanks for thinking of me @Centique I agree…we need to just send virtual hugs 🤗🤗🤗 7mo
Bookzombie Happy Belated Birthday, Cindy! 💗🧁 7mo
Cinfhen Thanks so much, Margie 😊Hope all is well with you @Bookzombie ♥️ 7mo
jenniferw88 Hapoy belated birthday! 7mo
Cinfhen Thanks @jenniferw88 I hope your package arrives soon 😿I‘m getting worried it got lost 😞 7mo
jenniferw88 @Cinfhen I'm sure it will - your last package to me took a long time too! 7mo
69 likes1 stack add17 comments
review
guinsgirlreads
post image
Pickpick

This was a phenomenal memoir about the author overcoming his own struggles after his schizophrenic younger brother kills their mother. There is a lot of good information about schizophrenia in it, and there is, most importantly, the point of how people with mental illnesses are failed.

20 likes1 stack add
blurb
guinsgirlreads
post image

Starting this memoir about grief and mental illness.

27 likes1 stack add
review
jdiehr
post image
Pickpick

I sometimes find myself frustrated trying to understand mental illness.

I know it is something that people can't just snap out of, but I didn't understand why and often lacked empathy.

This powerful memoir has helped. It is written by a man whose mother was killed by his schizophrenic brother.

This book is incredibly sad, but also very educational in how it explains mental illness from the perspective of a loving family.

TrishB This sounds really sad 😢 I‘m glad you‘ve also learned a lot. 8mo
jdiehr @TrishB It is sad, but SO well done 8mo
34 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
abookishbutterfly
post image

#Aprilwrapup #monthlywrapup

Everything is Fine ~ 5 stars
Klara and the Sun ~ 4 stars
When You Ask Me Where I‘m Going ~ 3.5 stars
The Barnabus Project ~ 4 stars
The Last Thing to Burn ~ 3 stars
How Beautiful We Were ~ 4 stars
Doggem ~ 3.5 stars
The True Story of Hansel and Gretel ~ 4.5 stars
The Atmospherians ~ 4 stars
The Last House on Needless Street ~ 3 stars
I Feel... Anxious ~ 5 stars

Nouveau Yeah Everything Is Fine is one of those books that will stay with me forever 9mo
abookishbutterfly @Nouveau Definitely. Such a heartbreaking and beautifully written memoir. 9mo
39 likes2 comments
blurb
abookishbutterfly
post image

I know it‘s only April, but I am still going to declare this as the best memoir of the year.

It just came out today!

Check your library, bookstore, or order here while supporting independent bookstores: https://bookshop.org/a/24967/9781982133443

Annie1215 Well you‘ve got my attention! 9mo
Nouveau 💯 agree. Beautiful and moving 9mo
48 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
abookishbutterfly
post image
Pickpick

Although this was one of the most difficult books I‘ve ever read, I could close it and walk away when it was over. It isn‘t my devastating story; the thing I‘m forced to breathe in and live with every day. The Granata family will never be able to choose the same. To read a book like this runs the risk of discomfort, but it also promises to nourish compassion and growth.

Full review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3577639255

46 likes1 stack add
quote
abookishbutterfly

“Schizophrenia contains multitudes, yet we gather so many experiences under this single heading. One day, I believe we‘ll be shocked at how broadly we categorized, how we used a single diagnosis to classify constellations of different types of neurological disease.”

33 likes1 stack add
review
Nouveau
post image
Pickpick

I‘m gonna call it...Best memoir of 2021