Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
All the Murmuring Bones
All the Murmuring Bones | A.G. Slatter
For fans of Naomic Novik and Katharine Arden, a dark gothic fairy tale from award-winning author Angela Slatter. Orphaned as a young child, Mirin O'Malley has been brought up by her grandparents on their isolated, rambling estate Hob's Hallow. Long ago her family prospered due to a deal struck with the mer, the terrifying creatures who live in the depths of the sea: safety for their merchant ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and their fortunes have suffered as a result. When Mirin's grandfather dies, her grandmother puts in train a plans to restore their glory - but at the price of Mirin's freedom. Finding amongst her grandfather's papers evidence that her parents may still be alive, Mirin is determined to escape and discover the truth about her origins. This takes her on a treacherous journey to Blackwater, the estate her parents built when they fled Hob's Hallow, but on arrival Mirin finds the estate in decline and her 'Uncle Edward' in charge: where are her parents, and who is this Edward Elliott really? A story of mystery and magic and the strange creatures that lurk beneath the waves.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
MrsReads1
Pickpick

A dark fairytale about a family sacrificing it's children to the sea in order to hold onto it's power, and about the young woman intent on breaking her family's hold on her future? Yes, please! This book was pure Gothic folklore at it's finest.

blurb
morgankayj
post image

All the Murmuring Bones
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law
Kate Quinn's The Diamond Eye
#weekendreads
@rachelsbrittain

review
CampbellTaraL
post image
Bailedbailed

I feel guilty for not liking this book. Rec'd by authors of other books I really liked (e.g.: Katherine Arden) but I just couldn't get past how contrived the obstacles were, the flakiness of the main character, and I'm not in the mood for the plight of wealthy Victorian era women whose only option is marriage. I think the protagonist was about to escape that fate but it took too long to get there and I lost interest.

review
CaitlinSiem
Mehso-so

This has a severe case of false advertisement. I was promised merfolk and witches and magic. All I got were hints. Such a bummer.

blurb
Cazxxx
post image

Under the duvet trying to keep cosy while listening to this dark gothic fairy tale set in a fantasy world in 19th century Ireland. Much darker than I thought it would be but really enjoying it so far

33 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Conservio
post image

Love this #cover! I‘ve also been jonesing for some #historicalfantasy lately

7 likes1 stack add
quote
Bookish_Gal

He says he loves me.
But I am wary of love.
Says he needs me.
And I am wary of need.
He is hurt when I don‘t reply in kind; I‘ve been finding he‘s easily hurt. But he is gentle so I say to him something I hope he will one day understand.
“I don‘t need you,” I say, “I want you. That should be enough. That should be better because it means I‘ve made a choice.”

review
Bookish_Gal
post image
Mehso-so

This is not the Little Mermaid retelling I was thinking it was. Yes, it‘s a dark telling. This proud vain family got safe ocean travels by sacrificing their third born to the mer. Which Miren quickly learns is not worth it. She is a powerful young woman of quick words that save her life over and over again. The story was very well written, but the darkness of it seemed too much for me at parts. First 1/3 dragged a bit, but the end was wild

blurb
Bookish_Gal
post image

When traveling, always visit the local indie bookstore. You may find quite a recommendation. Even those that you wanted to read but forgot that you wanted.
Love fairytale retellings. This is a sort of mermaid version, where the oven town made a deal with mermaids for safe travels. By giving up one child from each generation. So what happens after a generation is skipped? #indiebookstore

blurb
GreenGrl87
post image

Thanks for the tag @Chelleo #wondrouswednesday

1. Fort Benning, Georgia
2. The incomparably gorgeous state of Washington
3. A sister and brother both a decade + younger than me
4. I can‘t definitively say (maybe The Little Red Hen?) but, I do vividly remember crying in elementary school because I wanted to check out Owl Babies in the library but another kid grabbed it first.

Chelleo Awww...that kid sucks! 😂😆 j/k 1y
GreenGrl87 @Chelleo simply the worst! LOL 1y
Eggs 💕Owl Babies💕. Thanks for playing 👏🏻📚 1y
See All 6 Comments
DaveGreen7777 Thank you for the tag! 😊 1y
mandarchy Washington rocks! 1y
GreenGrl87 @mandarchy it really does!! 🤩 1y
17 likes6 comments
blurb
LazyOwl
post image

Thanks for the tag @Enchanted_Bibliophile

I like to switch between indoors and outdoors. One of my favourites in summer time is to read at the beach though. We have such great beaches where I live 🇦🇺

As usual I'm doing Book Spin Bingo. I also have an IRL book club reading Jessica by Bryce Courtney.

I tag @Arvena @BookwormM @Chelsea.Poole @Kimberlone @bibliobliss @CaitZ if you feel like playing.

@MoonWitch94 #ThoughtfulThursday

Chelsea.Poole Thanks for the tag! I‘ve never heard of this book — heading to check it out 😊 2y
MoonWitch94 Thanks for playing 🐣😊📚💐🌸 2y
Enchanted_Bibliophile I also love reading on the beach 🏖 There's something about the sound of the waves ... 2y
LazyOwl @Enchanted_Bibliophile it's so relaxing 😎 we had good weather today, so I went and did just that today 🏖📚 2y
35 likes4 comments
blurb
LazyOwl
post image

#FebruaryWrapUp

My favourite was the tagged book.

1 DNF - The Host. I think I wasn't in the right head space for this one.

Great reading month as I really enjoyed most of my reads.

39 likes1 stack add
review
LazyOwl
post image
Pickpick

I just loved this mythical dark story.

The beginning of the book didn't grab me right away, but I found that the story has a certain cadence and rhythm to it that just lulls you into the story and then before you know it you are lost within the pages and you can't put it down.

There are stories within stories in this clever and dark mystery within a dark fairy tale type setting. Although it is definitely not your average fairy tale.

LazyOwl I found this story extremely satisfying and I could almost re-read it immediately upon finishing.

Definitely a 5 star read and my favourite book so far of this year.
2y
LazyOwl This was an ARC I read for Netgalley and will be published on 9 March. 2y
33 likes2 comments