Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Gretel and the Dark
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
6 posts | 8 read | 13 to read
Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope.For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth.Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance.Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed . . .'A powerful, terrifying story. It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages. Heartbreaking and heart-racing.' The Times'Dark and intriguing . . . a highly clever, original book' Daily MailEliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
daretoreadeverything
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
post image
Bailedbailed

Life is too short to read books this bad.

Since my review is too long for this app you just get this: F*ck No and I'm contemplating just throwing this book away because I never want to see it again in my life.

Bailed at 140/358 pages and I should have done it waaaay sooner.

blurb
Bree.Hill
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
post image

Browsing my shelves looking at books I'm really getting antsy to read.

Anything you're excited about?

5 likes1 stack add
blurb
Seshat
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
post image

This is in my physical tbr pile. I am going to read it soon. I don't have a lot of books with animals on the cover but there you go. #funfridayphoto

blurb
BostonBookAddict
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
post image

Got a delivery from Better World Books!! I love this site! Environmentally friendly and saving books from the landfill. So cheap as well!! 9 books for under $35!! I really need to start reading more. My book buying has drastically out paced my book buying. :-(

MrBook OH wow! Why have I not heard of this place, it sounds incredible! 3y
9 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Eatingbooksforbreakfast
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
post image
Pickpick

This was an amazing bit of writing. The savagery of war mixed with fairy tales and all the horrors that go along with both. Dark, shocking, heart wrenching, this book stayed with me for a long, long time. If you get a chance to read this then please do! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

6 likes3 stack adds
review
GoBookYourself1
Gretel and the Dark | Eliza Granville
Pickpick

One of my top reads of last year. Review on my book blog