Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Mozart in the Jungle
Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music | Blair Tindall
4 posts | 4 read
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
cobwebmoth
post image

Thanks for the tag @Chrissyreadit ! I didn't sign up for this swap, but I'm happy to play along.😊
1. Chips and salsa, or vegan chocolate.
2. My moon necklace from NOLA.
3. I like lots of things. I'll always love Psych and Buffy. Right now I'm enjoying Mozart in the Jungle.
4. Clue
5. 🖤💜
6. Coffee, tea, Bubly
7. Driving through Mississippi with @TK421
8. Whoever wants to share.

Chrissyreadit Thanks for playing!!! 2w
SamHeartCoffee Oooohhh, moon necklace! Sounds so pretty! 2w
51 likes2 comments
review
Julz422
Panpan

I wanted to like this as I love the Amazon tv series. The book jumps around between thoughts of the author's many (I'm not judging, but many) sexual encounters to history of the arts programs jumping from the 30s to 50s to 80s and back again. I couldn't empathize with author even though I have studied classical music and enjoy a good romantic dalliance...It was disjointed and disappointing to say the least.

blurb
Julz422
post image

A peaceful Thursday night with a guilty pleasure 😍📚📚

blurb
Mplslizzie
post image

LOVE the Amazon series and am excited to read the original!