Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Forest Queen
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
15 posts | 11 read | 28 to read
From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on Robin Hood in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.
LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Pickpick

A gender swap Robin Hood retelling. It dealt with some darker themes than I was expecting from a YA novel. Lots of strong female characters. I liked this one. 🏹 #FairytaleReadingChallenge @Charityann

73 likes6 stack adds
review
hissingpotatoes
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Pickpick

4/5⭐ Robin Hood is one of my fav stories (who doesn't like defying corrupt authorities & defending freedom?), & this retelling does it justice while also standing solidly on its own. I was fully invested in how the characters gradually learned to love & trust each other. The birth scene is one of the best examples of friendship & support I've ever read. This book goes to some dark places, which makes the happier times that much more satisfying.

wanderinglynn Great review!👍🏻 4y
20 likes1 stack add2 comments
quote
hissingpotatoes
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

...if someone doesn't care whether you live or die, then living itself is rebellion.

quote
hissingpotatoes
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

“We're not soldiers,” I said. “We're just trying to keep everyone alive, and fed, and free.”

Ghazia laughed. “What is that if not rebellion, when those who rule you want you hungry and indentured?”

quote
hissingpotatoes
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

[…]what was most important was asking her what she wanted, rather than telling her I felt I knew it.

review
Nitpickyabouttrains
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Mehso-so

A gender swapped retelling of Robin Hood. The world building was a little thin and the passage of time made the story seem a little missing?

review
introvertedbooks
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Mehso-so

This book was okay. Not the greatest retelling of Robin Hood ever told. There was some gender swapping that I felt didn't always work. Some characters were reimagined. Idk. I kept waiting for the story to dive into stealing from the rich to help the poor and that felt like a subplot. It mainly felt like it was about falling in love. Plus there was weird incest vibes. This one just didn't do it for me and makes me sad bcuz I was so excited for it.

CouronneDhiver That‘s a shame .. the cover is great! 4y
15 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
IheartYA
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Mehso-so

Nothing special, really. I liked the beginning but then it dragged. I'm having that issue a lot lately.

blurb
IheartYA
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

Swimming in sunshine on the first page? Yes, please!

blurb
Marla
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

I rarely get printed books from the library anymore because I have so many piled up but forgot this one was live in the queue. I‘m looking forward to reading this book. I love retelling of old stories.

59 likes2 stack adds
review
TorieStorieS
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Panpan

The premise of this- a Robin Hood retelling featuring a female cast- certainly sounded promising! Unfortunately that‘s really all it is... it never felt fresh to me and instead reminded me more of the movie remakes that are doing the same things... I guess I just prefer new and original bad-ass women rather than redrawn copies based on men...

review
WeeziesBooks
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Pickpick

Wow, this was a showstopper! I‘m a sucker for gender-flipped retellings and this one was a spectacular female Robin Hood one. Filled with a lot of hard themes, I devoured this in one sitting. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

19 likes2 stack adds
review
rachelsbrittain
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image
Mehso-so

A gender bent Robin Hood retelling that fell kind of short of my expectation. The first half was slow, and while things picked up in the second half I think I really just wanted more from this book. It was enjoyable enough, and I appreciated the nods to the original myth... but I thought it had a lot of potential to be something even better.

RaimeyGallant Nice review! 4y
33 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

I am so glad they changed this cover. Original galleys had a cover that was reminiscent of The Hazel Wood. I like this much better. I really I want to read the book under this cover. Plus female Robin Hood. I'm in.

#coverlove #YAedition

August 7

39 likes4 stack adds
blurb
rachelsbrittain
The Forest Queen | Betsy Cornwell
post image

What a day for book mail!

(If almost makes up for the fact that I only got 2 hours of sleep last night.)