Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Miss Ellicott's School for the Magically Minded
Miss Ellicott's School for the Magically Minded | Sage Blackwood
18 posts | 11 read | 21 to read
From the author of the acclaimed Jinx trilogy comes a spellbinding fantasy, perfect for fans of The School for Good and Evil, about a young heroine fighting to save a world that would dare to tame her. Chantel would much rather focus on her magic than on curtsying, which is why she often finds herself in trouble at Miss Ellicotts School for Magical Maidens. But when Miss Ellicott mysteriously disappears along with all the other sorceresses in the city, Chantels behavior becomes the least of her problems. Without any magic protecting the city, it is up to Chantel and her friends to save the Kingdom. On a dangerous mission, Chantel will discover a cross-wielding boy, a dragon, and a new, fiery magic that burns inside herbut can she find the sorceresses and transform Lightning Pass into the city it was meant to be?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
persephone1408
post image

#curiouscovers
@Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks
@Eggs
Day 28: Mountains
I almost forgot! Lol 🗻

Eggs Great cover!!💙🏔❤️ 1y
14 likes1 comment
blurb
TheSpineView
post image
Klou Love the look of this one! Great pick! 2y
TheSpineView @Klou Thanks! Cute story. My grandkids liked it. 2y
55 likes3 comments
blurb
ravenlee
post image

I‘m still thinking about this one, so I‘ll hold off on a rating.

+ some diversity (just MC, and mostly it‘s subtle), good dragon, girls saving the world, making tough decisions for the good of the many
- little explanation for the political situation, didn‘t really understand the sorceresses and their stance, think the title doesn‘t quite match the story

Overall this was a quick, interesting read, but not sure how to rate it.

quote
ravenlee
post image

So far I like Chantel, and can totally identify with her. I have a Look, too, and I sooooo badly want to say things.

review
Nafiza
post image
Pickpick

This started off slow, gained steam, and ended up rocking my midde grade loving heart.

5 stars.

#middlegrade

17 likes1 stack add
review
amma-keep-reading
Pickpick

I really enjoyed the message in the book about openness and the value of going outside your comfort zone.

review
Nebklvr
post image
Mehso-so

A cute but incomplete feeling story.

quote
Nebklvr
post image

blurb
bookelf221
post image

Woot, we have moved, and are mostly unpacked where we are currently staying. Time to see if this brain can finally focus on reading.

blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
post image

I think this was the book I went on book depository to buy... before falling down a list of recommendations 🤔

Set in a school that teaches deportment and magic ☺️ sign me up!

59 likes5 stack adds
review
Amie
post image
Pickpick

Fantastic! Chantel, like all the girls at Miss Ellicott's school, is expected to be meek and polite but decides that fighting against the selfish King and the corrupt patriarchs is more important than deportment. The writing is witty and clever.

blurb
Amie
post image

I dozed off while reading and woke up to find the cat using my arm as a pillow, which was cute until she gave me a disgruntled look for disturbing her sleep to take a picture. She got over it, though, and settled into a more comfortable napping position. 😴

Sace What a doll! 😻 5y
DebinHawaii Adorable!! 🐱❤️ 5y
20 likes2 comments
blurb
Amie
post image

Hanging out with the cat, reading this delightful book 📕😺

17 likes1 stack add
quote
Amie
post image

...once you're up on a pedestal, you can't take a step in any direction without falling.

quote
Amie
post image

Chantel did not like to deport ... Sometimes she couldn't help giving people a Look. Because sometimes, people deserved it. 😀

10 likes1 stack add
review
meichner87
post image
Pickpick

A lovely middle grade fantasy, about friendship, finding your power, and dragons. (I am pro-🐉) #middlegrade #fantasy #dragons

5 likes1 stack add
review
brandymuses
post image
Pickpick

Magic. A dragon. And tween girls sticking it to the patriarchy. Does it get any better?

meichner87 Ah, I forgot to email the HC lady! 6y
brandymuses I can send this to you if you want. 6y
brandymuses @meichner87 Just realized I didn't tag you in above so you probably didn't see it. 6y
meichner87 @brandymuses No worries. I might try emailing her first to see. 6y
7 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
KassKho
post image

Sometimes the drawings on the cover draw you in! Looking forward to digging into this one. Hopefully this work day ends soon 😴😴😴