Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Real Artists Have Day Jobs
Real Artists Have Day Jobs: (And Other Awesome Things They Don't Teach You in School) | Sara Benincasa
For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilariousyet heartfeltguide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous!While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wrackingdating, job-hunting, money-managingthe most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share.Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adultespecially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Saras warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older whos still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesnt have all of lifes answers, this indispensable book has more than its share!Essays include: How to Read a Book Real Artists Have Day Jobs The Power of Being a Dork Put Your Clutter in Purgatory Ask for Exactly What You Want Elect Your Own Executive BoardEqual parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
SkeletonKey
post image

Yep.

#essays

hermyknee I loved Agorafabulous - I‘m interested to hear your thoughts on this one! 9mo
SkeletonKey @hermyknee - I‘ll try to remember to review it! I want to check out Agorafabulous too. 9mo
hermyknee @SkeletonKey it‘s great on audio! 9mo
49 likes1 stack add3 comments
quote
brownekr
post image

This is something I've been felt a lot over the past couple years. A few things I appreciate about this presentation:

1. It follows an essay about mental health that describes times when just surviving was hard work

2. "Doing the thing" is an opportunity to do research, put in work, and do the thing RIGHT, not waltz in and half-ass it

3. "You must tell people exactly what you want from them if you have any hope that they will give it to you."

review
echristopherclark
Mehso-so

I didn't hate the book by any stretch, but I was left with the feeling that a little Sara goes a long way. And I was disappointed that so little of the book had to do with the title "Real Artists Have Day Jobs." Had I read the structure of the title/subtitle more carefully, I would've understood that this was a collection of essays, only one of which was really going to be about that topic.

tinaisreading I thought the title was misleading as well 3y
2 likes1 comment
blurb
echristopherclark
post image

After spending the evening with my pal Zeke Russell's chapbooks last night, it's on to this one tonight.

1 like1 stack add
blurb
StephAuteri
post image

I'm starting to feel as if this book is what I needed Big Magic to be.

11 likes2 stack adds
blurb
StephAuteri
post image

The perfect night to sit and read in Bryant Park.

blurb
StephAuteri
post image

Up next...

blurb
tcut16
post image

I can't find any books on my actual shelves that have text only covers, so throwback to a book I loved reading a few months ago. #booktober

9 likes1 stack add
blurb
Karen.reads
post image

I'm a writer and a wannabe novelist, but my day job is in marketing. These are books suggested by or given to me by my boss. I have 3 other people on my content team. When you're often overloaded and stressed out, it's easy to forget about coaching and mentoring, so that's something our management team is currently focusing on. I'm grateful to work for an organization that values development and culture! #workbooks #septphotochallenge

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
love_everylittlething
post image

Recent used book haul--loving Real Artists Have Day Jobs! Can't wait to start the other two. 📚📖👍🏽

blurb
aLmYbNeNr
post image

Day 1 of 31: My August TBR. These are all #library #books that I need to read. I have no illusions about getting to them all this month and, well, this isn't even all of them. At least they're free!
---
#trybeforeyoubuy #lilbookishaugust #tbr #augusttbr #bookstagram #bookobsessed #bookaddict #bookworm #adultlit #yalit #mglit #nonfiction #graphicnovel #ireadya

Maike Just...wow 😅 3y
Blair_Reads So many great ones in that stack! 3y
See All 8 Comments
Zelma That is a serious library haul! 😂 3y
MrBook Wow! That is so great! One book at a time, you can do it! I think this calls for a special hashtag: #ROOTINGFORaLmYbNeNr 3y
MrBook Does that work? 😊 3y
aLmYbNeNr Haha! Thanks all! This is what happens when you work in a library and the checkout limit is 100 items. 3y
SealedWithInk Good luck with reading all your books. At least you have plenty of choice :P 3y
24 likes1 stack add8 comments
blurb
kaitkingly
post image

So far, this book is worth it just for those paragraphs that stick, the ones that you can chew on during the day until you're back to reading it again. Not every chapter is a winner, but it's easy enough to skim those chapters.

MrBook Ooh, here you go @BookBabe 😊👍🏻! 3y
6 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Jana
Pickpick

I want to pick this book 800 times. It's funny, real, honest and packed with self-help information that anyone of any age can use and she gives it in such a noncondescending way that you feel empowered after you read it. Sara says that she loves Amy Poehler; this book reminds me of Yes Please. Personal stories intertwined with life lessons and almost no ego or braggadocio. I'm almost out of characters so to sum up, fucking read this book.

blurb
Jana
post image

Barkley thinks everyone should read this book. (He's right, too).

8 likes1 stack add
blurb
RachelWeber
post image

One for the "smart books by smart ladies" shelf. This is a chick I could totally go for drinks with.

14 likes2 stack adds
blurb
BookishFeminist
post image

Exciting Friday night over here, folks. Ice cream & a book of essays. Maybe, just maybe, I might add some Netflix to this mix, but let's not get too crazy. 🍧 #ReadWomen

Notafraidofwords Interested to see what you think of this one. I might have to order it because I keep hearing great things! 4y
LA_Mead It's really funny! The essays are short and witty. 4y
BookishFeminist @Notafraidofwords it's wonderful so far! It kind of reminds me of a really laid back, informal Cheryl Strayed. Funny, too! 4y
BookishFeminist @LA_Mead Yes! That's a wonderful description of it. Love it so far! 4y
91 likes13 stack adds4 comments
quote
BookishFeminist
post image

Taken from her essay titled "How to Read a Book"--this is a powerful description of how books & reading can comfort & empower you, particularly as therapy when recuperating from debilitating mental illness. (For background, Benincasa has Panic Disorder, and from first hand experience, it sucks.) #ReadWomen #BookQuotes

MMFinck Very powerful. Thanks for sharing. 4y
RiotMom Love her writing! 4y
BookishFeminist @MMF It is--you're welcome. Her whole book is full of these powerful tidbits. 👍🏼 4y
See All 6 Comments
BookishFeminist @RiotMom I do too! I wasn't sure what to expect but it's wonderful so far. 4y
Pandyfish I want to hang this quote on my wall, so I can look at it when I'm in a bad mood and smile! 4y
BookishFeminist @Pandyfish That's a wonderful idea! I'm starting a notebook with quotes so can I go back and find them. Some would make great wallhangings!! 4y
73 likes5 stack adds6 comments
blurb
Devyn
post image

Little library haul: Between You and Me and Real Artists Have Day Jobs. Which should I read first?

5 likes1 stack add
review
LizLazzara
Pickpick

Infinitely quotable. Filled with wisdom. I'm going to go forth and happily take all of Sara's advice.

echristopherclark I just ordered my copy the other day. I'm psyched to hear this was a good read. 4y
4 likes1 stack add1 comment
quote
LizLazzara

You have to love yourself for what you are: a work in progress.

quote
LizLazzara

I'll likely fall on my ass and start laughing at myself, because sometimes life is hilarious even when it hurts.

quote
LizLazzara

I hope you treat yourself like the treasure you are and take good care of your emotional needs as well as your physical desires.

2 likes1 stack add
quote
LizLazzara

Because you deserve all the money, all the orgasms, and all the fries.

quote
JessReads
post image

I didn't love every essay in this collection, but there were definitely moments like this one! Sara Benincasa is spot on about rainbows 😊🌈

17 likes2 stack adds1 comment
quote
LizLazzara

Everything is not alright, and that's alright.

blurb
SarahEvonne
post image

This book package was just the nicest thing to find in my mailbox today! I can't wait to read Rob Spillman and Sara Benincasa's latest for some writerly inspiration.

Briaabello This looks interesting !!! 4y
LA_Mead I loved "Real Artists Have Day Jobs." It's the perfect book of pep talks and other things. 4y
144 likes95 stack adds2 comments
quote
JessReads
post image

Yessssss!

12 likes1 stack add
quote
shutupsmalls
post image

I hope you ask for exactly what you want, whether in the boardroom or the bedroom or in the line at McDonald's. Because you deserve all the money, all the orgasms, and all the fries.

1 like1 stack add
blurb
JessReads
post image

Just what I need for a rainy day when I'm stuck behind the register!

review
angel
post image
Pickpick

At times too real for comfort, Sara Benincasa's essays are powerful reminders that it's okay to make mistakes and to not be perfect in your 20s or any other time in your life. I want to gift this to all of my friends, the highest complement I can give.

9 likes2 stack adds
blurb
rebeccaschinsky
post image

Look, I can get down with a book that has bourbon and iced tea in the opening pages.

61 likes9 stack adds