Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent
The Prime Minister's Secret Agent | Susan Elia MacNeal
9 posts | 21 read | 9 to read
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow-including one of Maggie's dearest friends-Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms. What she finds points to a series of poisonings that may expose shocking government secrets and put countless British lives at stake. But it's the fight brewing in the Pacific that will forever change the course of the war-and indelibly shape Maggie's fate. Praise for The Prime Minister's Secret Agent '[A] stellar series . . . [Susan Elia] MacNeal has written an impeccably researched, wonderfully engaging story.' Minneapolis Star Tribune 'A treat for WWII buffs and mystery lovers alike.' Booklist '[MacNeal] seamlessly mixes fact and fiction.' Publishers Weekly 'Splendid . . . riveting . . . The research is complete and fascinating. . . . The scenes are so detailed that readers will feel as if they are next to the characters and listening to them speaking.' RT Book Reviews (Top Pick) 'Fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd will feast on this riveting series chronicling Britain's own 'Greatest Generation.' MacNeal's research and gift for dialogue shine through on every page, transporting the reader to Churchill's inner circle. The Prime Minister's Secret Agent is both top-drawer historical fiction and mystery in its finest hour.' Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Booknerd2
post image
Pickpick

This one seemed much darker than the others. I‘m so enjoying Maggie‘s story and looking forward to continuing the series. 💜💜💜

review
Skeebies05
post image
Mehso-so

This one was strangely plotted. All the mystery is solved fairly early in the book. But it does end on yet another cliffhanger. My least favorite so far but On to the next one!

review
ReadingMeagan
post image
Mehso-so

This book was quite different from the others in the series. Maggie is dealing with the aftermath of what happened in Berlin and has a lot of PTSD.

I found the concept of a spy training school in Scotland to be pretty cool, if I ever have a chance to visit I would love to check it out.

26 likes1 stack add
review
PurpleyPumpkin
Prime Minister's Secret Agent | Susan Elia MacNeal
post image
Pickpick

In this fourth instalment in the Maggie Hope series, the focus wasn‘t just on Miss Hope. Rather, there were three distinct plots that developed independently. They didn‘t end up intersecting, but they were, if only peripherally, related. This was a departure from the previous books, but I quite enjoyed each story. Many questions were answered and situations were resolved, but there‘s still much to carry on with in the next novel. 3/5⭐️

64 likes2 stack adds
review
Jennivardier
Prime Minister's Secret Agent | Susan Elia MacNeal
post image
Pickpick

This one is a little different from the previous books, but it's still awesome. Maggie Hope takes some time to process some of the more horrible aspects of the war, so it's a little more introspective, but excellently done!

blurb
katycronk
post image

Readathon is tough but this retreat will not deter Sonny from getting cuddles he deserves 😹

#24in48 #Readathon #CheckIn #Cats #SonnyBunny #KittenLitten

review
Verity
Prime Minister's Secret Agent | Susan Elia MacNeal
post image
Panpan

Brilliantly dreadful and incredibly cathartic to read. I worked off pounds of anger on the errors and could've written a paper on them. I look forward to reading the next one.

blurb
Verity
Prime Minister's Secret Agent | Susan Elia MacNeal
post image

I am reading this right now because I'm on nightshifts and they make me angry and there's is nothing so cathartic as working through your rage by channeling it via the errors in a book. And this is full of them. I could write an essay. I mean the previous books in this series have had problems, inaccuracies and mistakes, but this is next level. It's doing me so much good!

17 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
laurabradburywriter
post image
Bailedbailed

I found the first two books in this serious (or three...can't remember) pleasant reads enhanced by a compelling heroine. This one feels completely different - unrelentingly dark and blah. The story feels bogged down like a soaking pair of shoes. I gave up a little more than half way through.