Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Lost Girls
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
7 posts | 3 read | 2 to read
A girl with an impossible life. A lapsed demon hunter. A secret that could destroy them both... Around the world young women are being hunted - can Rose MacLeod work out why before it's too late? An Edinburgh-set, dark and twisty supernatural thriller, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman. 'A thrilling tale that compelled me throughout.' LisaReadsBoo
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
quote
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image

"Books were often powerful. People assumed this was because of the words inside, but that wasn't quite correct. People held books for long periods of time, they concentrated on them, they communed. They worshipped. That was what gave books - some books - power. The hush in a library was reverential for good reason."
❤?❤?❤

review
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image
Pickpick

A strange and marvellous supernatural mystery. I don't know exactly how to describe it, but it was as strange as it was enchanting. The relationship between Rose and Mal seemed a bit weird and unnecessary, but other than that it was just brilliant. The ending for me was weird and wonderful and not at all what I expected.

#TBRChallenge #LeastRated

61 likes1 stack add
blurb
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image

Getting my bags packed ready for a week in Prague 😁 turns out the deal I booked through work included a carry on bag and a checked bag, both up to 23kg so I don't have to limit my books 😅

I've already started the top 3 so they probably wont last me long, and I think I've read Foretold by Thunder once before but I can't remember now ☺️

Roll on tomorrow morning 🤩 Prague here I come!

JennyM Yey for lots of baggage allowance and books, and yey for Prague! Have fun 😊 6mo
Freespirit Have a great time 👍🏼 6mo
JenReadsAlot I loved Prague! Enjoy! 6mo
See All 6 Comments
Palimpsest Sounds fantastic! That book, Gothic Tales, looks like something I would like. Enjoy your time in Prague. 6mo
Moony Have a good flight and wonderful vacation. 6mo
94 likes6 comments
blurb
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image

📚 tagged, The Clockwork Angel (every time I pick it up I get called into work, so I've been avoiding it 😅), Station Eleven, Information Doesn't Want to be Free, and Children of the Deterrent
🍁Maple all the way!
📖 He felt himself fall and welcomed it, opening his arms and diving into the cool darkness, desperate to get away from the burning pain.

@rachelsbrittain #WeekendReads

Bookworm04 Butterfly lion - Michael Morpurgo , maple syrup , last sentence read - Dearest Millie,I am old enough now to join up, so I shall. I have had all I can take of fences and walls and bells #weekendreads (edited) 6mo
MartinaLove Which book is that last sentence from? 6mo
TCLinrow @MartinaLove the tagged book, The Lost Girls 😊 6mo
60 likes3 comments
blurb
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image

Holy heck, I am loving this book so much! It's been a wild adventure so far and my head is spinning just to try and keep up 🤩
Now I just need to remember to stop leaving it in my locker at work after my shift 😣
Oh well 😅
#TBRChallenge #LeastRated

62 likes1 stack add
blurb
TCLinrow
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
post image

Part 2
First things first: I LOVED the dinosaur wrapping paper! 🦕🦖

And so many amazing books!!! I don't even know where to start! 🤩 These should keep me going a while 😂

Also that mug! Instant favourite 😍 Looking forward to reading you're short story in the morning 😊 Marmalade has been trying to steal the bookmark, we both love it ☺ and who doesn't love cake? 😅

Thank you so much for spoiling me @shanaqui #SFFS ❤🧡💛

shanaqui Glad you like it all! If you don't mind, I'd like to share the story I wrote online -- it's silly, but I have a friend or two who would like to see it. If you do mind, though, just let me know and it'll stay exclusively for you! 😁 10mo
shanaqui Oh, btw -- the mug is specifically extra big to be good for the mug cake. We've had our best successes in big mugs like that... though even the failures have been tasty! 10mo
TCLinrow @shanaqui of course you can share it 😊 I love that I have the original copy 😁 and I might just have to play around with mug cakes tomorrow now 10mo
Avanders Wow! 🧬🦄♥️🐉👏🏽 10mo
89 likes4 comments
review
shanaqui
The Lost Girls | Sarah Painter
Mehso-so

ARC received from the author -- beautifully packaged, too!

Not really sure what I think of this, in the end. Mal and his life struck me as very much Sam Winchester (Supernatural), from being a hunter to his relationship with his dad to his trip down a morally dubious path after his loss of his older brother to something they hunted. And Rose's ending was... in the end, really unsatisfying for me? Not that I bought into the romance, either.

shanaqui I might still change my mind and rate this higher when I write my full review. It definitely kept me intrigued, and I read it in two sittings... 11mo
greenreads Helpful and honest thoughts! I'll give this one a try. I'm intrigued by unsatisfactory ending for one character and a character's likeness to Sam. Maybe the aim is a book series? Or not? ☺️ 11mo
shanaqui @grayidlings The author said not, and the ending kind of rules it out! 11mo
greenreads Oh, that's interesting! And great too. I'll look forward to this book. Thank you! 11mo
10 likes4 comments