Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
No. 23 Burlington Square
No. 23 Burlington Square: The BRAND NEW beautifully heart-warming, charming historical book club read from Jenni Keer for 2023 | Jenni Keer
6 posts | 5 read | 3 to read
London, 1927: One house. Three lives. A decision that will change everything. A powerful, unique timeslip story, perfect for fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, The Miniaturist, and Lucinda Riley. On the morning of Friday 5th February, 1927, Miss Agnes Humphries the landlady of the attractive, if-slightly-shabby, white-fronted townhouse at Number 23 Burlington Square has a decision to make. The rooms of the second floor lie empty, since poor Mr Blandfords unfortunate demise, God rest his soul. And Agnes must make up her mind as to who will be her new lodger... Will it be her spirited, young niece Clara, who drifts through the glamorous world of Londons Bright Young Things? Or Stephen, the sensible, church-going, respectable banker who seems just be too good to be true? Or the timid war widow named Mercy, who is clearly running from something or someone...? Agnes must choose between them. But what will her decision lead to? One of the choices could result in scandal, one in devastation, and one could even lead to happiness. If only she gets it right... As all three lodgers enter Number 23, in alternate timelines, relationships are formed and destroyed, feathers are ruffled, and secrets are exposed. Three different choices. Three very different paths. And Agnes is to discover that nobody including herself is quite who they seem...
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Daily
Pickpick

The audiobook version of this book not only does justice to Tang's beautifully evocative narrative, but also demonstrates the power of storytelling. Narrated by Imogen Church, this audiobook would be an enjoyable experience for readers who enjoy a mix of nostalgia, mystery and heartfelt exploration. ...
Full Review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/6615845715

blurb
xicanti
post image

There was another big thunderstorm here last night, and I‘m looking after a wee schnauzer who‘s extremely nervous of them. His thunder shirt helped a lot, but didn‘t calm him down enough that he could sleep. The only way I could soothe him was to stick him on my lap with the white noise machine going, which meant I didn‘t get much sleep but I did finish this paper puzzle and read a huge chunk of the tagged book. It‘s really enjoyable so far.

humouress He looks petrified 😉 1mo
26 likes1 comment
review
Lynnsoprano
post image
Pickpick

An interesting and worthwhile, if less than satisfying, read. A woman in 1920s London has to choose between three people who want to rent rooms in her house. Three sections explore the possibilities of each being chosen, and although the ending makes clear who is chosen, I couldn‘t help but feel that a lot had been left out. Interesting characters, lots of questions about the choices we make in life. Ultimately glad I read this book

Texreader Beautiful hibiscus! 3mo
Crazeedi So beautiful! 3mo
57 likes2 comments
blurb
Lynnsoprano
post image

I have been indulging in Kindle book buying way too often for my own good lately. Bookbub is dangerous 😂 This caught my eye last week, so I thought I‘d give it a try.

dabbe $1.99 here, $1.99 there, $1.99 for a book everywhere! 🤩😃🤗 4mo
Lynnsoprano @dabbe And then Amazon gives me credit on digital purchases when I defer delivery 🤣 4mo
dabbe @Lynnsoprano I need to do that more often! 🤩😃😘 4mo
Lynnsoprano @dabbe a $2.25 credit covers a $1.99 book 😉 4mo
42 likes4 comments
review
julesG
post image
Pickpick

London, the late 1920s.

Agnes has rooms to let and three possible lodgers to choose from. How will life at No 23 change when she decides to give the rooms to her niece Clara? Or to the banker Mr Thompson? Or the young widow Mrs Mayweather?

Each possibility is explored. Each unveils some of the secrets of the new lodger as well as the secrets of the people already living in the house. Which timeline might have the best outcome for all? ⬇️

julesG Soft pick, because it dragged on a bit in the middle. Also, some of the repetitive use of possibly contemporary language got on my nerves ("old girl" or "darling") and some characters just weren't my cup of tea. 8mo
Andrew65 Excellent 👏👏👏 8mo
47 likes3 comments
review
Preciouz29
Pickpick

This was such an interesting and unexpected read. I was intrigued by the description, but was completely not expecting how things turn out. Not to give any spoilers, but the story had some very surprise endings that were in the positive. More importantly, I could feel for all the characters. I wasn‘t sure whether to pity or despise everyone as you learned more about them. Good read!