Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Radcliffe Ladies' Reading Club
The Radcliffe Ladies' Reading Club: A Novel | Julia Bryan Thomas
3 posts | 4 read | 2 to read
For readers of Martha Hall Kelly and Beatriz Williams, "a story of female freedom and constraints that doesn't shy away from the traumaand joythat faced U.S. women in the 1950s." (Kirkus) Literature has the power to speak to each of us uniquely but also to draw us together. Massachusetts, 1954. With bags packed alongside her heavy heart, Alice Campbell escaped halfway across the country and found herself in front of a derelict building tucked among the cobblestone streets of Cambridge. She turns it into the enchanting bookshop of her dreams, knowing firsthand the power of books to comfort the brokenhearted. The Cambridge Bookshop soon becomes a haven for Tess, Caroline, Evie, and Merritt, who are all navigating the struggles of being newly independent college women in a world that seems to want to keep them in the kitchen. But when a member of the group finds herself shattered, everything they know about themselves will be called into question. From the author of For Those Who Are Lost comes an extraordinary love letter to books and friendship, a story that is at once heart-wrenching, strengthening, and inspiring.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Lynnsoprano
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this thoroughly, although it‘s in several ways a flawed story. The characters have many contradictions, and often act or react differently from what I expected. The character I found most intriguing was never fully fleshed out, and the book ended with me still wanting to know more about her. Still, it‘s an interesting story, and, growing up in the 50s/60s, I related to the attitudes and the beginnings of rebellion here.

review
Eggs
post image
Bailedbailed

I bailed. I just didn‘t care about the characters, or the books or the discussion questions. Life is too short…

#Pantine2023 @Clwojick

Crazeedi Dang! I just saw this somewhere and was hoping it was good, but I trust your judgment 8mo
Eggs Do try it though. Others have loved it. It might just be me ❤️ @Crazeedi 8mo
63 likes2 comments
review
Aims42
post image
Pickpick

Themes: Women‘s roles in 1950‘s, College Freshmen, Friendship

In the first few chapters I was getting major “Mona Lisa Smiles” movie vibes, but as the book went along it found its own path and WOW! This is ultimately a book about friendship, finding your path and the power of books. I‘d highly suggest checking out TWs before diving in, but I thought the author did a nice job addressing the issues her characters faced. A five star read ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

RebelReader I read this as an ARC and really enjoyed it. 8mo
45 likes1 stack add1 comment