Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Seeing Ghosts
Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir | Kat Chow
6 posts | 4 read | 1 reading | 4 to read
For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family. Kat Chow has always been unusually fixated on death. She worried constantly about her parents dying---especially her mother. A vivacious and mischievous woman, Kat's mother made a morbid joke that would haunt her for years to come: when she died, she'd like to be stuffed and displayed in Kat's future apartment in order to always watch over her. After her mother dies unexpectedly from cancer, Kat, her sisters, and their father are plunged into a debilitating, lonely grief. With a distinct voice that is wry and heartfelt, Kat weaves together a story of the fallout of grief that follows her extended family as they emigrate from China and Hong Kong to Cuba and America. Seeing Ghosts asks what it means to reclaim and tell your familys story: Is writing an exorcism or is it its own form of preservation? The result is an extraordinary new contribution to the literature of the American family, and a provocative and transformative meditation on who we become facing loss.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
quote
kspenmoll
post image

The author is speaking of her mother‘s death. This memoir is stunning in its beauty, & its exploration of grief & memory. #literatibookclub #wildreads #cherylstrayed #memoir

blurb
kspenmoll
post image

Finished Her Hidden Genius & started Seeing Ghosts today.

Crazeedi I loved the Benedict book! 2w
kspenmoll @Crazeedi I was enthralled! I no no knowledge of her whatsoever, so of course I had to find out more about her. (edited) 2w
47 likes2 comments
quote
kspenmoll
post image

#katechow #greentrees #hope #dontgiveup
From Seeing Ghosts, a memoir by Kate Chow
#thinkpositivebepositive

Eggs Beautiful 🌳 1mo
39 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
alysonimagines
post image

Alongside Crying in H Mart, I‘ve anticipated this new release all year, and I am so grateful Kat Chow had the courage to tell her own story of losing and grieving her mother. I appreciate Chow‘s vulnerability in sharing her family‘s struggles to talk about their grief, to honor her mother in the ways she would have wanted, and to invoke her mother‘s unique sense of humor when they needed to find light in dark places.🔸#novemberreads2021

blurb
bio_chem06
post image

Seems like a pretty slow book month for October but I‘m sure some randos will find their way onto my list….

review
Megabooks
post image
Pickpick

Kat suddenly lost her mother at 14 and has an awkward relationship with her father. This is the story of her, her sisters, and their father moving forward from that loss. There are also the stories of her grandparents deaths and her family‘s immigration story. Her father‘s father was a coolie sent to Cuba to work sugarcane fields. I had never thought about Chinese laborers being brought to Cuba. ⬇️

Megabooks ⬆️ while I am glad that I‘m having such a joyful time in my life, perhaps I wasn‘t in the best headspace to read a memoir about grief. Still, this is incredibly well written and heartfelt. (edited) 11mo
Cinfhen Was this an audio?? Should I add it to my list?? 11mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen yes, and I enjoyed the narration. It‘s a solid pick, but I‘d call it a #BorrowNotBuy. 11mo
See All 6 Comments
Cinfhen Got it! 11mo
Cinfhen Thanks 😊 will attempt another email this morning xx 11mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen yayay!! Can‘t wait!! I‘m going to try to go back to sleep now. 🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻 11mo
85 likes2 stack adds6 comments