Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Precious You
Precious You | Helen Monks Takhar
4 posts | 3 read | 1 reading | 2 to read
An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller--for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You. Trusting you was my first mistake. To Katherine, twenty-four-year-old Lily Lunt is a typical "snowflake." It seems like the privileged, politically correct millennial will do whatever she can to make it big as a writer, including leveraging her family's connections. To Lily, Katherine Ross, a career woman in her early forties, is a holdover from another era: clueless, old-fashioned, and perfectly happy to build her success on the backs of her unpaid interns. When Lily is hired as the new intern at the magazine where Katherine is editor in chief, her arrival threatens the very foundation of the self-serving little world that Katherine has built. She finds herself obsessively drawn to Lily, who seems to be a cruel reminder of the beauty and potential she once had--things Lily uses against Katherine as she slowly begins to undermine her, sabotaging her work and turning the magazine's new publisher against her. Is Katherine being paranoid? Or is Lily seeking to systematically destroy her life? As Katherine tries to fight back, a toxic generational divide turns explosive and long-buried secrets are exposed--with deadly consequences for both. . . . Gripping and provocative, Precious You delivers an unsettling, provocative take on the contemporary workplace, turning the professional roles women play on their heads in a razor-sharp, revenge-driven thriller for our age.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
VRM1975
That Woman | Helen Monks Takhar
Mehso-so

.

review
Mitch
Precious You | Helen Monks Takhar
post image
Mehso-so

Super well written, gripping debut thriller novel. I liked the representation of people over 40 on the page, the generational clashes added a very thoughtful dimension to the book. This is a story of ambition and jealousy where everyone is at one time the villain! There were moments to admire - the small details of life, but no-one to like. It slipped into a few moments of stereotype but overall a refreshing thriller where men don't rule.

54 likes1 stack add
blurb
Mitch
Precious You | Helen Monks Takhar
post image

I‘m using the pressure of it being bookclub in a few days to try getting into audio! Extra pressure - the book it set in our community and the author is a friend of a bookclub person! Hope it‘s ok! 🤞🏼

squirrelbrain Bit too much pressure there... 🤔 - hope it‘s a good one! 2y
Mitch @squirrelbrain I know! And it‘s already something I wouldn‘t have picked up! But that‘s the point of bookclub I keep reminding myself! 2y
Sace Oh my that is a lot of pressure! I admire your resolve! 2y
Mitch @Sace 🤞🏼 2y
62 likes4 comments
quote
BittersweetBooks
Precious You | Helen Monks Takhar
post image

Perhaps her cruelty was actually love🍷📄🖤

14 likes1 stack add