Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A School for Unusual Girls
A School for Unusual Girls: A Stranje House Novel | Kathleen Baldwin
16 posts | 18 read | 30 to read
A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot calls this romantic Regency adventure "completely original and totally engrossing." It's 1814. Napoleon is exiled on Elba. Europe is in shambles. Britain is at war on four fronts. And Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, has become one of Regency England's dark little secrets. The daughters of the beau monde who don't fit high society's constrictive mold are banished to Stranje House to be reformed into marriageable young ladies. Or so their parents think. In truth, Headmistress Emma Stranje, the original unusual girl, has plans for the young ladies-plans that entangle the girls in the dangerous world of spies, diplomacy, and war. After accidentally setting her father's stables on fire while performing a scientific experiment, Miss Georgiana Fitzwilliam is sent to Stranje House. But Georgie has no intention of being turned into a simpering, pudding-headed, marriageable miss. She plans to escape as soon as possible-until she meets Lord Sebastian Wyatt. Thrust together in a desperate mission to invent a new invisible ink for the English war effort, Georgie and Sebastian must find a way to work together without losing their heads-or their hearts.... "Enticing from the first sentence." -New York Times Book Review A School for Unusual Girls is a great next read for fans of Gail Carriger's Finishing School series and Robin LaFevers' His Fair Assassin series.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
quote
SiameseCatsRead
post image

One--Stranje House was no ordinary finishing school.
Two--nor was it the cruel reformatory gossip purported.
Three--Miss Strange was up to.something and we girls were to be part of it.

#quote

This for sure sums up the first 170 pages for me. Full of confusion and guesses. I'm liking the book so far!

blurb
SiameseCatsRead
post image

Here's a quick #bookspin update. I finished another book (which I couldn't stand), and now I am halfway through a great book, only to realize it's not on my bingo chart! 🤦‍♀️🤷‍♀️

@TheAromaofBooks

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! Looking great!! 3mo
TheAromaofBooks Hey, side note, did your username used to be something else? Just want to keep me tagging list accurate!!! 😁 3mo
SiameseCatsRead @TheAromaofBooks lol yup. Kelly_anne. Sorry for the confusion! :) 3mo
TheAromaofBooks No worries!! I recognized your bingo board, but couldn't remember your old name!! 😂 3mo
10 likes4 comments
review
Kamisha
post image
Pickpick

This was such a fun read! Historical romance and mystery for the YA audience. Stranje House is a finishing school unlike any other Georgiana Fitzwilliam has ever heard of. Full of unusual girls and even more unusual teachings. And with her knack for inventions and experiments, Georgie might just fit in.

#SetinSchool #Booked2018

25 likes1 stack add
quote
Sharpeipup
post image

"Why must people always assume we moderns know more than any of the previous cultures? It simply isn't true, evidence proves otherwise. "

19 likes1 stack add
blurb
tracy_anne8
post image
robinb This sounds good! 5y
tracy_anne8 @robinb I loved this book! I need to get the 2nd book! 5y
16 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
TracyReadsBooks
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this book. When I picked it up, based on a recommendation from I don't remember where, I didn't really know what to expect. Pleasantly surprised to find this a fun romp through the tumultuous lives of a group of extraordinary (read eccentric) girls shunned by their families. Georgiana is sent to a reform school after burning down the stables trying to make invisible ink. There she finds new friends, a new purpose, & acceptance.

1 stack add
quote
TracyReadsBooks
post image

"It's quite possible I may have died. I'm not certain. It's all rather hazy."

blurb
TracyReadsBooks
post image

With vacation over, it's time to dive into the TBR pile and I'm starting with a book for which I've read a number of good reviews.

review
Laalaleighh
post image
Pickpick

Such a fun book. Alternative historical fiction in a world where the Napoleonic wars ended *slightly* differently and the fate of entire countries rests on the shoulders of girls whose families had tired of their refusal to engage in lady like pursuits (our protagonist is banished for accidentally exploding a science experiment) to a school meant to make them meek, marriageable society women that instead trains them to be spies. First in a series!

ChasingOm I'm a sucker for these kinds of books, lol. (edited) 5y
Laalaleighh @ChasingOm you should definitely read it! Apparently the series just gets better as it goes! 5y
50 likes8 stack adds2 comments
blurb
Laalaleighh
post image

#birthdayread ✨ My boyfriend randomly picked this one out for me a few weeks ago and I have no clue what it's about but he almost always picks things that I love so I'm excited!! I'm thinking I'm going to have to start a new GR shelf for books he randomly brings home for me #boyfriendpicks

MeganAnn You have the best boyfriend!! This looks interesting. I want him to pick books for me too! 😂 (edited) 6y
LeslieO Happy birthday! 6y
BookBabe That's a great idea! I don't know if I can backtrack and add the hundreds of books @MrBook has surprised me with over the years 😂 6y
See All 6 Comments
Laalaleighh @MeganAnn haha maybe I should start a book club 😂 haha I am lucky. He definitely spoils me. 6y
Laalaleighh @LeslieO thank you so much! 6y
Laalaleighh @bookbabe you can make it an ongoing project! 6y
38 likes2 stack adds6 comments
blurb
MABMEDIA
post image

Just gulped my way trough this delicious book and bought the next in the series immediately. Love!

review
Bookishaf
Pickpick

A quick & fun YA read! Georgiana had been sent to the Stranje House, a reform school, after an accident in her makeshift lab brings great embarrassment to her family. She discovers the school is not what she thought & finds herself helping in the effort to prevent Napoleon from regaining power.

23 likes3 stack adds
review
lilredhen
Mehso-so

All in all, not a bad read. Not my favorite for that period, but I would read it again. For me it started a bit slow but picked up pace quite nicely.

blurb
hufflepuff_librarian
post image

Current book club read. Really enjoying it so far!

2 likes2 stack adds