Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Wonder of Lost Causes
The Wonder of Lost Causes: A Novel | Nick Trout
5 posts | 3 read | 6 to read
In this heartwarming story, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dogs Way Home, a single mom learns that her chronically ill son can communicate with a very special dogand the lessons this dog teaches can shape the future and transform their lives. And what Whistler inspires in Kate and Jasper may be his most important lesson of all. Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kates always told him he couldnt get a dog, Its a tough call, but shes a single mom taking care of a kid who has to fight for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough without adding a mutt to the mix. Worse still, as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, Kates life is wall-to-wall mutts in constant need of forever homes. Kate must live with the fact that every abandoned dog is on a two-week deadline to find a humanand the scarred, mistreated wreck that turns up doesnt stand a chance. Named Whistler, hes too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous, almost magical connection with Jasper. The dog never makes a sound, let alone a bark, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways, forging an indelible bond with the boy. The clocks ticking, the dogs future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen themfor a reason. And what Whistler inspires in Kate and Jasper may be his most important lesson of all.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
BookNAround
post image
Pickpick

This was a sweet book about life, love, and a rescue dog. It‘s a little predictable but a nice read for dog lovers. Full review at https://booknaround.blogspot.com/2019/04/review-wonder-of-lost-causes-by-nick.ht...

51 likes1 stack add
review
Soubhiville
post image
Pickpick

Kate is a veterinarian in an animal shelter, her son Jasper is an eleven year old with Cystic Fibrosis. Jasper falls hard for an old beat up stray dog with a mysterious past, and Kate has to decide whether their family can handle the addition of a dog with the turmoil of being a single parent with a very sickly child.
This was a quick, enjoyable if somewhat predictable read. I received a copy from the publisher through LibraryThing‘s ERP.

69 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
hes7
post image

#BookMail

“In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog‘s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person‘s lost cause can be another‘s greatest gift . . .”

blurb
BookNAround
post image

A busy day yesterday (Independent bookstore day, a pediatric cancer fundraiser—we won an electric guitar, prom for my youngest, ironing the oldest‘s college graduation gown, and catering a post prom breakfast for son and friends until 2 am) means a sleepy reading day today. I have 2 books I need to finish by Tuesday but I might be too tired. Book club book might have to wait!

TrishB Busy time! 6mo
CrowCAH Lots going on, but it all sounds rewarding! 6mo
erzascarletbookgasm Wow super busy weekend! Hope you get some rest now 6mo
68 likes3 comments
blurb
Soubhiville
post image

I just received my next ARC for LibraryThing‘s Early Reviewers program! Thank you LibraryThing and @WilliamMorrowBooks !

Soubhiville @Butterflyamore this made me think of your post earlier! 6mo
Butterflyamore Oh! That looks like a great book! I have no idea what it is about but whatever. 😂 6mo
Avanders Hiya lady — did your #travelingbook package arrive yet? I know there‘s been some... mercury spill impacting things, so just checking in ☺️ 6mo
Soubhiville Haha, I just posted about it! Thank you for everything! You‘re so sweet! 6mo
74 likes1 stack add4 comments