Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Bastille Spy
The Bastille Spy: For fans of C.J. Sansom and S.G. MacLean, a thrilling mystery set during the early days of the French Revolution | C. S. Quinn
11 posts | 5 read | 2 to read
From the bestselling e-book sensation of The Thief Taker series comes a thrilling and sumptuous novel set during the early days of the French Revolution. England's best spy. France's deadliest prison. Paris, 1789. English spy Attica Morgan's success freeing kidnapped Britons has earned her acclaim with an underground network. But it has also led to attention of dangerously powerful men. So when she's given a new assignment in Paris, a city with revolution in the air, her instinct is to run. Because in Paris, nothing is what it seems. Skirmishes in the city are rife and English visitors are viewed with suspicion. Attica is charged with investigating the murder of a rebel in the morgue of the Bastille, that notorious prison of no return. A murder her backers are convinced is part of a much more treacherous plot. With France is on the cusp of a bloody revolution, Attica soon realizes her mission is a great deal deadlier than she bargained for. A mythic treasure has vanished, a strange man named Robespierre wants her dead, and on the city streets, all hell is about to break loose...
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
TheMushroomForest
Pickpick

If you are looking for a thrilling adventure novel, you could do much worse than The Bastille Spy. It's a thrill ride from start to finish, with bad-ass girl power, and charming pirate and revolutionary heroism. Every chapter is fun and engaging, and I have a sneaking suspicion many of us will read it through the night just to find out what happens next.

blurb
squirrelbrain
post image

Didn‘t love this one, but it did include more than one #swordfight
#theswordfight
#soaringscores

Cinfhen Looks like there was definitely a sword fight or two 😜 2mo
CrowCAH The cover has some sword fighting action depicted! ⚔️ 2mo
51 likes2 comments
blurb
squirrelbrain
post image

I haven‘t read this one yet - it‘s an ARC from #readersfirst that I haven‘t yet got round to....

However, given that it‘s set during the French Revolution, then #ipredictariot!

#ayupaugust

*The Kaiser Chiefs were formed in Leeds in the year 2000*

TrishB And their name is a footie link 😁 (edited) 4mo
Cinfhen We have a Kaiser Chiefs jersey from my daughter‘s travel to SA @TrishB 😁 4mo
TrishB @Cinfhen the Leeds United captain at the time had previously played for KC which is where they then got the name from 👍🏻😁 4mo
See All 6 Comments
Cinfhen Know it all 😘😘😘 @TrishB 4mo
Birdsong28 Glad you got a copy too! Did you see my review? I put the review on Goodreads and the author replied!!! 📚📖 4mo
squirrelbrain Ooh, an author replying to you - how exciting! It‘s not my usual read, but I picked it as a ‘free‘ one with my points for precisely that reason. I‘ll let you know what I think... 4mo
70 likes6 comments
review
VanessaCW
Pickpick

A fun and entertaining read, a real rollercoaster of a ride. It gathers pace and never lets go until the end. I loved the mix of fact and fiction. There‘s a great sense of time and place and ‘The Terror‘ is vividly described. It‘s very well written with some humour thrown in, easy to read and kept me captivated from the the first page. There is more than a hint of James Bond in this story, it‘s action packed and full of ‘Q‘ worthy gadgets. 5⭐️

blurb
Birdsong28
post image

Look who replied to my review on Goodreads!!!

Glad she took it well, it wasn't a bad review but it wasn't a rave review either, if you want to see what I wrote check out my review on Goodreads or here. 📚📖

Cathythoughts Nice one 👍🏻♥️ 4mo
39 likes1 comment
blurb
Birdsong28
post image

I am using the tagged book for my #52booksin52weeks challenge. As I visited Paris in February.

@Schnoebs

Schnoebs How did you like the trip??? I‘ve only been to Mexico and obviously the US so I don‘t have as many options for that prompt as I‘d like lol 5mo
Birdsong28 @Schnoebs I actually went to Disneyland Paris for a week but we went one day into Paris on a day trip which in the morning we went to the to The Louvre which was wonderful and then the afternoon went on a boat trip. I could have spent the whole day in the Louvre and still only covered 10% of it as it is so big! I want to go back just to visit the Louvre properly! Your places are just as good! 😘📚📖 5mo
33 likes2 comments
review
Birdsong28
post image
Pickpick

Good. Even though it took awhile to get going, once it did the story was fast paced and you can tell the story was researched well. Thank you #ReadersFirst for the free copy.

#Corvus
#AtlanticBooks

blurb
Birdsong28
post image

Have won on #Readersfirst. Thank you to everyone who wished me good luck. 📚📖

Cathythoughts 👍🏻🎉 5mo
TrishB Cool 👍🏻 5mo
Andrew65 👏🍾🥂 5mo
RachelO Congratulations! This one looks great! 5mo
50 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
Birdsong28
post image

Have just entered to win this on #Readersfirst Wish me luck 🍀🤞📚📖

TrishB Good luck 🤞🏻 5mo
Birdsong28 @TrishB Thank you 😘📚📖 5mo
BooknerdsLife Good luck to you!!! 💚🤞🏼🍀🍀 5mo
Birdsong28 @BooknerdsLife Thank you 😘📚📖 5mo
46 likes1 stack add4 comments
review
Clare_Riley
post image
Pickpick

I read this through Jellybooks, so it‘s not actually released until August. It‘s a cracker! A rip-roaring adventure story, with a strong, intelligent female lead, who can teach the men a thing or two! Not bad for a woman in the 1700‘s!

blurb
Clare_Riley
post image

So I‘m still up way past my bedtime, waiting for my husband to get home with my son - they‘re in Accident and Emergency, waiting to see a doctor who will look at the X-ray and tell us whether he has broken something in his arm. They‘ve been 2 hours and will probably be longer. So I‘m reading this off Jellybooks to try and take my mind off the wait. It‘s not really working, but it‘s a good book so far!

readingjedi Hope your boy is ok. 9mo
Eyelit 💚 9mo
Clare_Riley @readingjedi thank you - it was a badly sprained wrist, so no break fortunately. They didn‘t get home until 4am, so my son gets a day off school, and me and my husband get to go to work on a couple of hours sleep 😴 9mo
14 likes3 comments